We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on Lygon Street”
Review of IL Dolce Freddo

IL Dolce Freddo
Ranked #11 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best on Lygon Street”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I went to the University of Melbourne, so I frequented Lygon St a lot as an undergraduate. As a result, I have tried every gelateria along the strip several times, and this is my absolute favourite.
Lots of flavours available for you to mix and match, from delicious creamy options to the lighter, fruity choices.
The servings are generous, and the staff are happy to let you try a few flavours as you perfect the perfect flavour combo.
Buy yourself a cup (or cone), then wander into the neighbouring park to enjoy it as the hubbub of Lygon St rolls past. It's the perfect way to end an evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    29
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Soul food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a must have for anyone who visits Lygon street. Ice cream so smooth and creamy with many choices. There is even durian flavor if you dare try. All in all a delightful gastronomical experience. I just love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is a big call but being no spring chicken and having tried lots of ice cream, I have today this is the best I have tried. Luckily I don't live nearby, it is too addictive

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GREAT ice cream!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I always have this ice cream whenever Im in Melbourne! The most disappointing thing about il dolce freddo is that it's not open for winter (from July to end August)! All flavours are very delicious and they offer tasters as well, so dont be afraid to ask for some. Portions are rather generous as well. Parking in the area is a little tough especially at night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must return!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pistachio, tiramaisu, pandan coconut, cookie, lime, lychee, chocolate, salted caramel and many more!
If you've never had gelato, you MUST try it, more soft and creamy than ice-cream, I think it's made from milk and not cream- anyway, $5 for a double scoop/two-flavour cup was quite good I thought. Open from 12:30 til late (10:30 or something) on a weekday. Now I just want to go back! :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Dolce Freddo also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to IL Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing