We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Dolce Freddo

Il Dolce Freddo
Ranked #8 of 83 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GREAT ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I always have this ice cream whenever Im in Melbourne! The most disappointing thing about il dolce freddo is that it's not open for winter (from July to end August)! All flavours are very delicious and they offer tasters as well, so dont be afraid to ask for some. Portions are rather generous as well. Parking in the area is a little tough especially at night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    27
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pistachio, tiramaisu, pandan coconut, cookie, lime, lychee, chocolate, salted caramel and many more!
If you've never had gelato, you MUST try it, more soft and creamy than ice-cream, I think it's made from milk and not cream- anyway, $5 for a double scoop/two-flavour cup was quite good I thought. Open from 12:30 til late (10:30 or something) on a weekday. Now I just want to go back! :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dull, tasteless and over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Talk about ill founded awards....between us we had six flavours and it was really hard to distinguish the different between flavours.....we consider ourselves gelato connoiseurs....having eaten gelato around the globe including Italy, New York, Middle East and downtown Sydney....Leichhardt, Haberfield and Five dock. Give this one a miss and do yourself a favzour and head up the road a block or so to an Argentinian gelato maker...JAUJA. Fantastic clean tasty yummy, delicious grlato. No flavourings, gelatine etc. The BEST.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TrishFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
378 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place certainly lives up to it´s good ratings. Delicious gelato.. I picked chocolate and nutella, and have absolutely no regrets!

Nice located in Little Italy in Lygon Street.
Will come back here for sure!

PS: Only cash!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FyFazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was excellent 10 years ago...it's still as good now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I first tried the gelato here 10 years ago. It's even better than anything I've had in Italy and elsewhere. I finally had the opportunity to revisit this place in June 2013. Still as good as ever. Had the following flavours - Roche, Pistachio, Hazelnut, Pandan & Coconut - all fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esoeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Dolce Freddo also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing