We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of IL Dolce Freddo

IL Dolce Freddo
Ranked #11 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place certainly lives up to it´s good ratings. Delicious gelato.. I picked chocolate and nutella, and have absolutely no regrets!

Nice located in Little Italy in Lygon Street.
Will come back here for sure!

PS: Only cash!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FyFazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    29
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was excellent 10 years ago...it's still as good now!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I first tried the gelato here 10 years ago. It's even better than anything I've had in Italy and elsewhere. I finally had the opportunity to revisit this place in June 2013. Still as good as ever. Had the following flavours - Roche, Pistachio, Hazelnut, Pandan & Coconut - all fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esoeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can always judge a gelato place by its pistachio flavour”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I asked to try their pistachio gelato as I have heard from an expert once that this is the best way to judge a good gelato place. And sure as heck it was amazing!!!!

Also their snickers gelato is divine. If I could have more than 2 scoops in my waffle cone I would so do it :-) the staff are nice and polite.

Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“More please!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience what real ice cream tastes like, then this is the place. Do yourself a Flavour and just try it... As good as the best I've had in Sicily, the home of ice cream!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank applesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“going back for more”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

it was the BEST gelato i had in a long while, they had some new flavors that we tried and were amazing, also the basic flavors were great, very nice seating outside on a quit street .
the gelato was fruity, flavorsome and came with a waffle, the lady serving the Gelato was very nice and patient as we took our time choosing and mixing flavoring, Absolutely going back when we visit Melbourne.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliss A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Dolce Freddo also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to IL Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing