We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location next to Convention Centre and Casino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Ranked #17 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location next to Convention Centre and Casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

If your looking for somewhere close to Casino or the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention centre this is it. The rooms are comfortable not a little worn. We got a deal on Wotif for a studio room which could really be classed as a one bedroom. The only critism would be the smell of food cooking from the actual residents of the floors is quite strong!
Apart from that....all good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    78
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
46
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was a 4 day stay, for 4 , a couple & 2 single ladies. We had booked the 2 Bed/Bath but was given an upgrade to the 3 Bed/2 Bath. The apartment was great, spacious, clean, modern comfortable with great views. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. It is in a great spot, close to the casino, tram stop across the road, short walk to Flinders Street and Southwalk and a grocery shop/bottleshop next door The staff were very friendly & helpful, no trouble holding our luggage until late in the afternoon, even phoned a cab for us. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I had a short break in Melbourne, staying at the Vue Grande Apartments which are part of the short stay group. The apartment was clean, spacious and tidy, the bed was really comfortable, which I find is often what makes or breaks a holdiay. It is really central and in easy walking distance to the city and art precinct. My only gripe is that the apartment is not double glazed and as a result a little bit of road noise is heard, but nothing to keep us awake. All up, a really good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a 4 day girl's trip to Melbourne to see a football game. The apartments are very spacious, we had a 2 bed 2 bath apartment, with a roomy kitchen, meals and TV room. It was 3 minutes walk to the casino, and a tram outside the door to go either into town or to St Kilda. The rooms were all very clean and the apartment block was quiet. I would definitely stay there again and reasonably priced as well. there is a gym and an enclosed pool, we used the pool even though it was very cold outside the pool area was lovely and warm.

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for a room that faces the city, other than that we found it a good place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed in a 3 bedroom deluxe apt for a bucks weekend , great location across the road from the casino and centrally located , awesome heated swimming pool on a rooftop . A big downside was the gym , there was absolutley no dumbells just machines in a very very small room - no towels or water very disappointing !!!

The room itself had great views and each room has its own private quarters , a nice bathroom and walk in wardrobe great for the women , security gurads are stationed downstairs and the room has all the comforts of a nice hotel overall

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Embrace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights in 63 Whiteman St. This is just the perfect place to stay if you are attending a conference. I went to Melbourne 4 days before my conference so I can explore and this was also a good place to stay as tram stop is very close (doorstep!). DFO is also a walking distance and tea house spa sauna is just across the street plus IGA store below...

As for my experience, it wasn't really perfect. First, I was given a one bedroom in 15th floor. the room was a little bit crappy. Carpets look tired and kitchen was overcrowded with the 4 sitter table. Room layout was poor. Plus there was an extra chair in the lounge are which was covering the TV! However, bathroom was really new. Refurbished perhaps. Spacious.

I requested to change my room as it was very noise in there. Construction of the new apartment beside it and freeway was just--grrr,, They have accommodated my request so I was transferred to 25th floor. Carpets are more clean and new I think. The same room layout as it was fully booked (acc to receptionist). Kitchen has 2 seater dining which is better so as not to look overcrowded. I was alone so I really don't need 4. Everything went well. However, windows (big, ceiling to floor) was not really covered with proper blinds and curtains. Perhaps it would be more comfortable for guests to have a better curtains that block the morning sun. Please change your blinds and add some curtains. Thanks.

Security is excellent. Cleaning and filling up supplies is done only every week. Cleaning should be every 2-3 days.

Room Tip: Suite A and B probably have better room layout than C and D( corner suites). I'm not pretty sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

The apartments at 63 Whiteman Street (corner Clarendon) are in a brilliant location. Opposite the Crown Complex, Southbank restaurant precinct and only a short tram ride away from the city. We booked 2 apartments through a Wotif Mystery Deal and were very happy with everything. There is a very roomy open plan kitchen/dining/living area with comfortable couches and flat screen tv. Everything was in brand new condition and the apartment was spotlessly clean. The main bedroom was a great size with QS bed, walk through robe and ensuite. The second bedroom was smaller with 2 singles and a large built in robe. The main bathroom was a good size too.

We caught the tram into the city and also to Hi-Sense Arena with the tram stop being just outside the door. There is an IGA supermarket right next door which was very handy for small purchases.

The only negative comment is that it was a bit noisy on the Saturday night but it was the night of the Logies so there were heaps of people around. I didn't notice it so much on the Sunday night. It wouldn't put me off staying there again though.

Overall we loved the apartments and would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Address: 63 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe category 4.5 star apartments are in a 35 level landmark residential tower with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms configurations, many with spectacular views. Features include floor-to ceiling windows in living areas and most bedrooms, comfortable combined lounge & dining area, fully equipped kitchen with composite stone benchtops, laundry with washing machine and separate dryer, 32" LCD TV (with Foxtel), DVD player, stereo and heating / air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing