We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great day trip while visiting Melbourne!”

Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$157.73*
and up
Yarra Valley Food and Wine Day Trip from Melbourne Including Lunch at Yering...
Ranked #1 of 260 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vinetrekker offers daily winery tours of the Yarra Valley, Mornington Peninsula and Macedon Ranges wine regions surrounding Melbourne. A Vinetrekker journey is a well rounded exploration of the region we visit, providing fine food and wine at a leisurely pace. We offer public and private tours, full day and overnight, so a tailored itinerary can be provided just for you.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a great day trip while visiting Melbourne!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just spent Sunday with Paul from Vinetrekkers visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Can most definitely recommend this day tour. The wineries we visited were smaller, family run places offering some spectacular wines from the region. My friend and I did the Yarra Valley tour a couple of years ago and I would say the Mornington Peninsula was right up there. The lunch at Salix Restaurant was first class and that view looking across the vineyard was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the day. Paul is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable about the wines of the region and gave us a great insight to the people and families behind the wineries. We also visited Mornington Peninsula Chocolates and Red Hill Cheesery - both excellent venues with a great range of produce. Thanks for making this trip a memorable one Paul, hope to see you again next time we visit Melbourne. Doreen

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doreen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinetrekker, Owner at Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks Doreen for reviewing your tour to the Mornington Peninsula so positively and I'm thrilled to hear it was everything you expected it to be. As a region, it doesn't enjoy the same profile as the Yarra Valley and people are often surprised at the quality of food and wine they encounter. Our tour highlights the diversity of product and it's impressive that you rate it as good as the Yarra Valley. I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable tour when you're next in Melbourne. Thanks again and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    46
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mornington Peninsula Food & Wine”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

On Sunday we did a food and wine tour to the Mornington Peninsula with the very knowledgeable Paul. We were picked up on time at our city accommodation along with other visitors on the tour (a nice samll group) and enjoyed good conversation during the drive to the peninsula. We visited Tanglewood Estate and Willow Creek wines, before enjoying a gorgeous and generous size lunch in Salix Restaurant. We then visited our third winery of the day, Balnarring Vineyard. We made purchases at all three wineries, although there was no pressure to do so at any stage.

The food delights of the day were to Mornington Peninsula Chocolates and Red Hill Cheesery. We were given generous tastings at both places and it was mouth watering. Again no pressure to purchase, but how could we not!!!

The pace for the day was terrific. Not too slow, nor were we rushed at any time. Three wineries was plenty to visit, to be able to enjoy the scenery, learn a little about wine making, and taking the time to enjoy the tastings. Thank you Paul. Hayley & Simon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HailsFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinetrekker, Owner at Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks Hayley & Simon for the review and delighted you enjoyed the pace and flow of the day together with the quality and quantity of food and wine. We're very happy with the structure of the tour to the Mornington Peninsula and the support from the various suppliers. Thanks again for the booking and I trust you're already enjoying some of the wines you purchased. Would be happy to show you the Yarra Valley on your next trip to Melbourne. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Yarra valley”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were fortunate to have had had a wonderful day trip with Steve to the Yarra Valley for some winetastings at selected venues and he was even able to get us in to swap around a venue for us on the day.
Had a great lunch at Yering Station and learnt a lot about the wineries and the area. My husband ,myself and 25 year old son took the tour and we all really enjoyed the day. The van was clean,comfortable and airconditioned. Beautiful area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent tour to the Yarra Valley and thrilled to hear that the three of you all had a terrific day. It's hard to beat when you have beautiful scenery, superb wines and stunning food together with a passionate guide in Stephen. Where possible we try and accommodate a change to the day's itinerary and I'm pleased to hear this was managed on your tour. Your booking was greatly appreciated and I trust you get back here again and we can show off another wonderful food and wine region close to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classy wine tour not for the bogans”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My partner and I booked on the Mornington Peninsula tour as a referral from a friend.
The tour was fantastic and definitely met expectations. Stephen was an excellent, very knowledgeable and personable guide for the day. We visited 4 wineries and at least 7-10 tastings in each place. There was no ridiculous pressure to buy wine, so everyone could buy what they wanted without being hassled. The lunch was amazing, pretty much fine dining with a choice of main including salad, fries and glass of wine. We also stopped to view the beautiful bay and also a chocolate factory tasting. All in all a lovely day out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2TravellingAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent tour to the Mornington Peninsula and delighted you had such a terrific day. It's always gratifying to hear that expectations were met and exceeded and I'm glad that was the case with your tour. It's a beautiful region that has something for everyone and having a guide as passionate as Stephen to look after you can only enhance the experience. Thanks again for the business and if you're back this way we'd be pleased to show you the beautiful Yarra Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
2 reviews
“Terrific, informative, well-managed tour”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I took Vinetrekker's combination Yarra Valley "wildlife sancturary / wine tasting" tour. My morning was spent with a guide in the wildlife sanctuary. We joined the wine-tour around lunch time and spent the afternoon as part of that tour. Both halves the trip were perfectly managed, thoroughly informative, and enjoyable. If you've come to Australia to see it's wildlife and enjoy the country's cuisine and wine, this is the tour to take and the company to take it with. The Healesville Sanctuary is remarkable for it's concentration of unique Australian flora and fauna - kangaroos, wallabys, platypuses, dingoes - they're all there in what is best described as a petting zoo setting - without the petting, of course. It's not a zoo; it is a sanctuary. I'm just saying it's not an open savannah. That fact that it is not a "wild" setting is what allows for the great variety of animals, birds, snakes, plants, trees etc. to see in the 30-acre park. The wine part of the tour was also expertly handled and informative. Paul Robinson, the company's director, is super responsible and easy to reach. While I forget the name of the person who drove and was in charge of our small van, he was as knowledgeable as you could want and kept up a constantly informative talk about all aspects of the landscape around us, Australian wildlife, and wine. An excellent day; and an excellent tour company.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks Stephen for reviewing your recent tour to the Healesville Sanctuary and Yarra Valley and absolutely delighted to hear how successful it was. It's a terrific region that offers wonderful diversity and the combination of wildlife and wine holds strong appeal for international visitors. Pleased to hear you appreciated the contribution from Garth, a very professional guide who's very fond of the Yarra Valley. It was a pleasure dealing with you and your early booking was appreciated. All the best and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vinetrekker Wine and Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing