We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service compensated for otherwise ordinary”
Review of Movida Aqui

Movida Aqui
Ranked #54 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: There are already two branches listed on TA, but this is the third restaurant opened in November 2009.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,220 reviews
2,909 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,860 helpful votes
“Quality service compensated for otherwise ordinary”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It lacks the emotional intensity of Hosier Lane, perhaps more of a barn atmosphere , but it probably suits larger groups better. Lots of noise and people obviously enjoying it.
The food is not the best you will ever have but it is more an event than a food experience.
Melanie was absolutely wonderful; it had been a long business day and just needed to click off and relax. She did all the hard work; looked after the food choices with a good array of diverse dishes and some wonderful wines - she was friendly, personable, efficient and knew her food and wine - a true professional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    213
    62
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sensational !!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great food-- interesting combos of flavours----- I was a little worried about menu initially, talked with a really helpful waitress who sorted out all our concerns and advised about what to have. Seafood stew, has the most intense and beautiful flavours Loved it......do yourself a favour and just go there !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigmcgrath66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Poor cousin to the other Movidas”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is nothing on Movida or Movida next door (both just up from Flinders Street Station). The sardines come in tins which are opened, put on a plate and brought to your table! The other tapas options were reasonable, but this place doesnt have any of the pezzaz of its cousins in the other part of town. The ambience is funky, but I demand top notch food in a place like this and it was sadly lacking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripotetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Variable Quality”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Much lauded, but I thought some of the food missed the mark. In particular the paella was incredibly salty and had a funny taste, the tomato sorbet was ambitious but really not very nice. Some highlights included the beef and something with brussels sprouts.

Staff were great, though. I'd say give it a go and you might well get luckier than I did.

In addition they have a very nice mobile website, but there is no map or directions on there! Bit of a fail...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudzenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Super yummy food!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked a table for 4 and we all really enjoyed our time at Movida Aqui.

The menu is not really extensive - I am a bit of a picky eater so I was a bit limited to what i could choose I wish there were more steak / chicken options as its heavily seafood influenced.

Our SENSATIONAL waitress really did a remarkable job putting up with me and helped guide me to a few yummy items on the menu. My friends are not picky eaters at all and loved everything they ordered. Most people would die and go to heaven here for the quality of food, flavours and exceptional service on offer. It was a very relaxed environment.

While I probably wouldn't go back as there wasn't enough for me to choose from on the menu, I would recommend it to everyone for the top quality service, environment and flavoursome food. I noted that on our table and neighbouring tables that not a morsel of food was left on any plate. That speaks for itself.

You could dine here solo, with a lively group, for business or for a date. Book at least a month in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julesandheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Aqui also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Aqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing