We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum but confusing”
Review of Movida Aqui

Movida Aqui
Ranked #54 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: There are already two branches listed on TA, but this is the third restaurant opened in November 2009.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yum but confusing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Casual but yummy food for friends and loved ones!

Its quite busy and loud but the staff are lovely and attentive!

Order tapas and try a little bit of everything and definately save room for dessert!!

If you don't like tapas or noisy venues then this is not the place for u

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicknMish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    211
    62
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hola! Movida!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having been to the Hosier lane counterpart previously, I had high hopes for this one. It is just as good and has a different, perhaps more contemporary atmosphere.

The tapas were lovely. The scallop and mushroom tortillas were great. The calamari sandwich was very mayonnaisey and delicious. My favourite was the quail and the beef cheek. The beef cheek had an amazing mash potato and parsnip celeriac and it was amazing.

The Pisco Sour cocktail was lovely and intense, had to have another.

Only criticism which is why I'm rating it a 4, is the churros dessert- the chocolate sauce was very claggy and didn't taste very nice. It wasn't sweet enough, in fact was quite plain.
We complained to the waiter and he actually took it off the bill. That was nice and they were very professional about it.

Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“you never know your luck”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we happened across Movida Aqui following another engagement and 'tried our luck' for seats without a reservation. It was clearly our night as we were able to be seated at the bar immediately.
Having eaten at 'Movida next door' previously the menu presentation , blackboard offerings etc were all familiar. On Friday night the place was packed and buzzing and the staff were managing well. There were hints of slowness due to the crowd but nothing that would warrant complaint.
We loved the atmosphere, decor and found the staff helpful and professional. everything we ordered was as described, nicely presented and enjoyed.
This was a great option for a really great dinner in not too much time. I highly recommend the apple and quince trifle for dessert - sublime.
In comparison to other places we've eaten recently I found the pricing here a trifle high for both food and wine, however it is some time since I've eaten in CBD Melbourne and I may not be comparing apples so to speak.
We'd return enthusiastically.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, food a little disappointing.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked for early Friday evening before a football game, it was very busy and it took a while for our drinks to arrive, however, the service was very prompt with the food. We found the food rather disappointing after hearing so much about the restaurant it was rather like any other average tapas restaurant, was just expecting more with the flavours and originality. A good experience though and overall we enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“terrific meal, wonderful atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

outstanding spanish themed food - great wine. fabulous atmosphere ( but not the place to go for a quiet conversation - it's pleasantly noisy). We thought the food was great value - some complaints in on line sites about serving size and cost but we were delighted with it. really knowledgeable staff who encourage you not to over-order and who know their way around the very comprehensive wine list. We'll go back with friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grantandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Aqui also viewed

 

Been to Movida Aqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing