We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new addition to Melbourne's accomodation market”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great new addition to Melbourne's accomodation market”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in a Studio Executive apartment. Room was spacious enough and decor is ultra-modern as one would expect from a new property. Kitchenette is compact and well supplied with cooking utensils . Super-comfy kingsize bed. We found the staff to be obliging and friendly - a phonecall requesting extra coffee and sugar was attended to in minutes! Property does not have restaurant or bar facilities, but there are lots of choices just a few steps from hotel entrance.
Will make this our number one choice for our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpal0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    863
    192
    52
    22
See reviews for
411
746
120
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights for a getaway with my husband. This hotel is brand new and very clean with a minimalist decor. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon at 3pm and were checked in promptly by a trainee member of staff. In addition to our room rate, we were told that the hotel would place a $100 hold on our credit card for incidental charges, with this being released at the end of our stay should we not have incurred anything additional. The check-in took about 5 minutes.

Things we liked:

- Location, Location! If you're going to Melbourne to shop and dine, then this hotel is placed very well. There is a tram stop directly outside the entrance to the hotel and you just need to walk 2 blocks to catch the trams to Chapel St and The Queen Victoria Markets. Shopping precincts such as De Graves St, Melbourne Central, GPO, Flinders Lane, and Little Collins St are all within a walkable distance.

- There are plenty of food choices around the hotel. Turn right outside the entrance and 20 steps away is The Urban Deli which does great Breakfast and Coffee (Mon-Fri). Loads of fast food joints within reach like Nando's, Hungry Jacks, Pie Face etc. We love Asian food and were spoiled for choice as Chinatown is one street over.

- The pool and gym are nice. As with a new hotel, the cardio machines are brand new and have their own TV screens. There is also a dry sauna.

- We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was very spacious, with loads of storage. There was a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, pots, and appropriate utensils. The bed was really comfortable.

- The lifts are fast and frequent.

- The maintenance and housekeeping staff are pleasant and will return a greeting.

Things that could be improved upon:

- With the exception of Simon and another lady whose name escapes me, the front-of-house staff rarely cracked a smile when we walked through the lobby each day.

- If you don't like noise, there is construction going on next door which could be heard loud and clear from our room on the 15th floor. There is also a nightclub which can be heard on Saturday nights.

- There was only a 2-seater with a big sag in the middle in our lounge. Another chair to sit in would be good.

- The room is not serviced every day.

- Charges are applicable for Wi Fi and Wired internet. We used Wired and it cost $80 for a week roughly. I usually forgive a great deal from hotels but this is one of my pet hates, getting gouged to use the internet in your room. There are however, 3 Macs and a printer which you can use in the lobby free of charge if you wish.

Conclusion:

We had a nice break at this hotel because it was right in the middle of where we wanted to be in the city. The room decor is nothing to write home about but it's all functional. With the exception of the internet charge, it ended up being a good choice for us because of the room rate, location, and food options nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darlingharbourgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Fairly new hotel so I would expect the advertised photos to looks similar to the real thing, but they were exactly the same! Very impressed. Large, very clean rooms, good kitchen facilities with all new and decent cookware etc. Bed was very comfortable. Views were great.
We booked our stay online. Check in was easy, although a tad lengthy. Service was wonderful; they were more than happy to answer any questions and help as much as they could.
Tram stop right out front; and obviously very close to shopping, restaurants etc. Internet area in lobby.

Only negative things I have;
- one of our rooms had a pair of underwear on the top shelf of a kitchen cupboard. We asked for it to be removed and freshened up - they offered to move us into another toom exactly the same, but we were happy to just have it cleaned. So really, turned out positive anyway.
- being on Bourke Street can be very busy, but you dont hear any traffic or night life in your room
- bathroom sink was not actually "in" the bathroom... Door to bathroom closes off the toilet and shower but not the sink area. Shower was HUGE!! :o)

We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csr_shuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for a girlie weekend, the location was excellent for shopping and to attend stage shows, went to Hairspray and it was fantastic, it was located just a short walk away as was Myer and DJ's, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 24th floor which had views out to the bay, the rooms were very clean, maybe a bit on the small side but we only used it as a base to drop off purchases. Plenty of eating places nearby and a great bakery across the road, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The new accommodation was well appointed, good curtains for the weary tranveller, quite with comfortable bedding.

Front counter staff is a bit hit and miss, some not as helpful as others, need to work on the welcoming and information re the facilities. Once approached they were very helpful, however could do better.

The entry would benefit with assistance from the curb to the front desk, no door staff to assist and none offered. Does make it difficult with luggage.

All in all would stay again when in Melbourne, would be hard to beat for price and accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy204051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2010

After looking at many many many reviews of Melbourne CBD hotels, I booked the Citadines Melbourne on Bourke because I recognised the name as I had stayed in a Citadines in France and found it fantastic.

I was not disapointed with this new hotel, the location is fantastic, just a short walk to ChinaTown, the Greek Precinct, Bourke St Mall, and even Lygon St if your willing to stretch your legs.

The lobby area is new and clean, with a great colour scheme. The check in was quick and easy and I was pleased that my online booking was confirmed.

The Studio executive room is exactly as it appears on the website, the hotel room was very clean & well spaced out.
The fact that the basin was on the outside of the bathroom worked well for me as I was travelling with my sister in law and the fact that one person was in the bathroom didnt affect the other being able to use the basin.

The pool & gym area were great, perfect for a workout after a long day shopping, or in our case eating at all the great restaurants in Melbourne.

Would definitely recomend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Melbourne CBD. Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I recently stayed at Citidines on Bourke Street and found the room very comfortable with the best bed I have ever slept in. The staff were very helpful and pleasant which made the stay even more enjoyable. The hotel is in a great location close to Chinatown and other great resturants, no need for taxis it close enough to walk to where ever you want to go.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4,411 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing