We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great location, desk staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean, a good size and had lovely decor and appliances. The room had everything I needed, and was very comfortable for a 3 night stay, and would suit longer stays. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DonnaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    870
    193
    52
    22
See reviews for
424
755
121
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A great brand new hotel/service apartment with lack of signage, staffs hospitality and NO parking available.
We stayed here for 4 days, 3 nights and we finally ended up with high parking fees.

The hotel itself is great and clean. We like the facilities and how well the room is organize and equiped. There is a small kitchen completed with the utensils (although we don't use it).
The room is consider big for both of us and we like the comfort of our bed and the couch that provided in the "living room"

THe drawbacks:
- When we first arrived and check in, they don't have our booking confirmation in their system. We were already quite tired after long drive and really need to rest.
It took them a while to attend to our booking reservation and we had to show them that we have the print out with us and we have prepaid.
After we shown it to the reception, she insisted to check again in their system and also their record (with no result) and they finally give us the room number and the key after couple of phone calls they made and checking here and there with the other staffs and finally apologize for their system error (which she mentioned it happens sometime)

- NOPARKING as they advertised, a bit misleading.... We read that they provided parking for $30 per day (quite expensive but fine), but every time you asked them, always the same answers as "Sorry, our parking spaces are full and booked out already". They mentioned that we can come back again the next day to check parking availability, but always the same answers, which forced us to park in the secure parking next door (mind you it's $4/hour on the weekend or $18/hour on weekdays).
When we asked how to book the parking space, only short answer "We can't book it for you, try your luck the next day. We only have limited parking"

- Regarding the parking, the staffs are not helpfull to give you suggestion where the best place to park without burning your pocket and within distance, but they only gave you the sort of look of "I don't care, that's not my problem" which we found very annoying.

- Minor thing as well, the basin outside the bathroom is a little bit inconvinience for us, but maybe that is just people's preferences.

Afterall, We enjoyed our stay here in this hotel although really really annoyed with the parking issues and just tried to avoid making enquiries to the staffs then you'll be fine.
Importantly, maybe leave your car at home so you won't be concerning and kept calculating how much parking you have to pay everytime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

As mentioned by previous reviews, this is a new hotel, so the rooms are still in good condition. Only issue with the room was that there's a construction site below our rooms, and it seems the construction work starts before 8am. There's also a crane, and the crane operator has a nice view of my room!
Regarding the service, I won't say it's bad, just slightly below average. The staff don't seem too friendly when I approached them for directions. They didn't have a city map the first time I asked for one, but 2 days later, they still didn't replenish the map.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Spent a weekend here recently. Excellently located on Bourke St very close to Swanston. Extrmely clean hotel - clearly very new. Rooms were of a high standard with a smart little kitchenette and great shower! Only criticisms were the inefficiency of both check in and check out and the non-fuunctioning safe deposit in our room. I also overheard more than one group being told their room was not yet ready, at 2pm on a Saturday, which seems a little suboptimal. Overall great value and I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment this was very comfortable. My great concern for the apartments would be in summer the air conditioning does not go into the separate bedroom and at night the room got quite hot and it was September and we are from Queensland!!!! The bed was comfortable which was a queen, the lounge was a two seater and very basic no other lounge chair provided. It is all new and clean and handy location to shops, restaurants etc. The restaurant next door was very good went to China Town two nights the first night cost $100.00 and it was very ordinary the 2nd time we went we went to Westlake Restaurant around the same cost but it was far nicer - two people. The best value was Lygon Street we went to the same Restaurant twice Littly Lygon lovely food and great value drinks and breads free just paid for the meals around $30.00 each, taxi fare around $8.00 each way. Staff on reception were outstanding and extremely helpful, value for money, we will stay again but definately not in the Summer months. Vicki & Peter

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Mick_Geraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Massive room with full kitchen and bathroom. Everything sparkling clean and new, and no noise whatsoever. While the bed wasn't quite a king, it was very comfortable, and I had an excellent stay. Will definitely come back here next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I spent one night at the Citadines Melbourne earlier this week. This is my second Citadines experience having stayed at one of their Apart'Hotels in Paris a few years ago.

The room design is smart and incorporates everything you need from a self-contained apartment without losing the sophisticated look & feel of a modern hotel.

The check-in staff was courteous and helpful. The room service staff was less communicative, perhaps because they're international students who are doing this as a part-time job and did not have a formal hospitality training. Anyway, my stay was very pleasant and the fact the hotel is one street away from Chinatown, you're spoiled with an endless selection of food. On this note, I strongly recommend trying China Red on the ground level of 206 Bourke Street (Turn left coming out of the hotel and walk 200m and cross the street when you see JB HiFi).

The gym room on Level 1, next to a double lane lap pool and sauna room, is well equipped and modern. Each cardio machine has its own TV screen. It was great to be able to work out at 9pm at night as it's open from 6am to 10pm.

In the morning, if you're not having breakfast at the hotel, go check out one of the many cafés offering a variety of delicious fresh food and coffee. Turn right as you come out of the hotel and walk past the parking entrance, go up the steps on your right as you see Australia Post and browse all the cafés before making up your mind.

Internet access is not free unfortunately. It's $6 or $9 per hour but $15 for 24 hours. They have 4 or 5 iMacs in the lobby if you don't have your own laptop to use in your room.

Apart from Chinatown, there are a few theatres and cinema complex nearby.

All in all, it's very well located. Just don't be too intimidated by the entrance when you first go in. It wasn't obvious whether you were entering a multi-tenants complex or the lobby of a hotel.

I just had one silly incident I just have to share. Upon checking out, a male staff told me there would be a 1% surcharge on the $15 internet fee as I was using my credit card. He manually added $1.5 as the 1% surcharge. I kindly pointed out to him if he was sure that it was 1% and not 10% that he added. I had to insist a couple of times before he realised 1% of $15 is actually $0.15. A futile exercise for what it's worth but I just had to make a point so he remembers to use a calculator in the future and not waste someone else's time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
4,530 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing