We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our weekend away in Melbourne!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed here with our 2 boys for 2 nights to catch the Wallabies and catch up with friends. The location is fantastic - trams at your doorstep, walking distance to the mall and so many shops , cafes and restuarants nearby.

Check in was smooth and our 2br apartment had everything we needed ( Kids beds needed to be remade as singles, but this was done immediately). The decor is funky and being brand new - everything is so clean. We thought the beds were really comfy (great reading lights attached beside the bed) and the new sheets were yummy. Plenty of storage space, fully equipped kitchen(Fisher and Paykel fridge and dish drawer) and flat screen TV with cable but no ipod dock. Wired internet in the room but there was a charge I think. Toiletries were limited to shampoo, soap and shower gel, but the bathrooms are groovy.

The pool, gym and sauna are great, we made good use of them.

We would definitely stay here again. The teething problems will sort themselves out - my bedside light needed a new globe - they ran out of globes as so many didn't work, but this is really minor compared to the value, location and cleanliness of the aparthotel. We prefer an apartment to a hotel so this is perfect for us - if you need hotel services, you would be better staying at a hotel. The pictures are a accurate reflection of what to expect.

We had a couple of great meals - Pellegrinis is just up the road and Chilli Cafe on Exhibition St. So many funky spots around this area, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Haggis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,187 - 2,193 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

Hotel is nice and new, Location is pretty good, close to Bourke street mall and easy walk to anywhere in CBD, and MCG. A good restaurant right next door.
Tram directly out front of building takes you down to Docklands and Etihad stadium. Had a problem first night with A/C, however the staff could not have been better, helped us change rooms and came with us to check that other rooms A/C was working.

Would recommend for a trip to footy, shopping etc

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is a new hotel and has its problems. The staff are not yet up to speed in terms of guest relations and its rooms are very empty and sterile. I have stayed at the Citadines in Tokyo and that was a fantastic hotel. While this place looks very similar it has a long way to go to meet the grade as a great place to stay. For example the toiletries (soap etc) in the room were practically non-existent, not even a box of tissues. However, it is worth noting how clean the rooms were, which is great.

Also I had an "Executive Room" costing extra which I think is a bit of a scam as there didnt appear to be any difference from their Standard rooms. The price was ok for Melbourne city, but I paid less in Tokyo. This would probably be a good place for a longer visit as the rooms come with a small kitchen and it could potentially be a great place if the management sorted out the staff glitches and unnecessary penny pinching.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My teenage daughter and I stayed here on a short shopping/cultural trip to Melbourne. The staff were friendly and welcoming and housekeeping were very obliging. The new and well furnished rooms were good and had everything we required. The only thing I did not really like was that the washbasin was not in the bathroom but in the living area so no privacy if one was sharing with a non family member. The beds were not that comfy either or, not as supremely comfy as I have experienced in other similar hotels. The new sheets were a bit scratchy and I am sure they will improve after a few more washes but a higher quality thread count would have been better. The gym, swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus and impressively kitted out. The location is one of its best features as in a good spot at the Paris end of Bourke Street close to good restaurants and theatres and, within a comfortable walking distance of all city attractions.
If they stick to their opening good value for money prices, I would definitely choose to stay there on all my frequent, subsequent trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanchaiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

During my 5 days in the hotel (11-16th July) I experienced almost no problems. Rooms are well equipped, comfortable, and most of the time quiet (in the first day three different staff members knocked on my door...once to check the TV, then the safe...kept waking me up). The hotel is very clean.
I also very much enjoyed the pool and gym. Location is perfect.

The only complaint I have is regarding the very strickt check out time. I asked to check out at 1pm and they gave me really hard time. I thought that after 5 nights there they would be a bit more generous...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Excellent location, very comfortable room with kitchenette, large bathroom, sofa, flat screen tv and stereo. The property is located across the road from a nightclub, so late in the evening on the weekend there can be some noise. My only negative is that I took the time to contact the hotel about requiring twin beds several days before our arrival and was assured by return email that everything would be in place. Upon checking in at around 5pm the room hadn't been organised and house-keeping had to come and pull everything apart to create the twin beds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

A sudden three day stay in Melbourne had me searching for a central, spacious hotel or apartment under $200 per night. Not many of those! I kept coming across the Citadines, but could not find it on Trip Advisor to verify the general opinion of it. Once I realised it was brand new, I decided to give it a try and it was absolutely the right choice.

Clean, bright, good views ( i was on the 15th floor and not blocked by any adjoining buildings). Nice feather doonas and soft pillows. There are flat screen TVs and a sofa and writing desk - quite spacious - and this was a twin room.

They have a full mini kitchen - complete withe dishwasher draw.

There are no baths that like to relax in one, but a very large shower (for two?).

those going for a twin should be aware that they are very narrow single beds - not standard. so if you are very tall or like lots of space you will be quite uncomfortable.

Also note - The walls are not as soundproof as they could have been. The hallways echo into the rooms at night if you are a light/sensitive sleeper.

It is in a FANTASTIC location. two blocks down and you are in the major shopping outdoor Mall. The tram is outside the door. You are two blocks parallel to Collins St and only one to China Town.

They have chosen not to have Food and Beverage and just focus on the rooms. There are so many choices all around the area that this was no issue for me, but to be taken into account if you are planning on room service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capturedmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,235 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $122 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing