We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for sharing and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed at the Citadine Apartments with 2 friends. Having 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms was perfect. The apartment was really clean and comfortable. Having a kitchen was really convenient, not that we used it much (too many great places to eat in this city). The staff were great and very responsive to any requests we had. The location is perfect, it is only a couple of blocks to Bourke Street Mall and Chinatown. There is a tram stop right outside, but if you don't want to venture out of the city, it is so close to everything you can easily walk. A lot of the amazing bars and alley way cafes are also within walking distance. We chose this location, as we were going to a show at Her Majesty's Theatre, which is just around the corner. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiJay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear LiJay73,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay at Citadines on Bourke with our Trip Advisor community. We are so pleased that our close proximity to Her Majesties Theatre and spacious apartment-style accommodation perfectly suited you your time in Melbourne. We are also happy to read that your stay in town was made greater by the Citadines Guest Services Team.

Thank you LiJay73, we hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Rooms are clean modern and big. Close to everything . Lots of places to eat and drink close by. Tram stop right out the front . Will be staying here again next time we are in Melbourne. Staff are friendly. Good gym and lap pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudyA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear JudyA99,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay at our centrally located Apart’hotel, and were impressed with the services and facilities available to our guests; including the fitness centre and indoor heated pool.

If you are ever in Melbourne again, we hope you choose Citadines. We look forward to seeing you again then.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Ill stay here again for sure.
I had a nice room with a view. Stylish decor and everything was modern and clean.
The bed was really comfortable and room air-con was controllable and comfortable.
Staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Ange G,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne experience with us. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay; from our modern and well-equipped apartments to our friendly Guest Service Team.

Thank you again Ange G, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I love the fact that the rooms ( I have stayed here many times ) have full kitchen facilities and I don't always have to resort to going out for meals when I'm very tired. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated, very clean but unfortunately given its location, the view from the window is probably of the apartment building next door. The location of the hotel is perfect, only 2 blocks from the Bourke St Mall and a block from Chinatown. Staff are always friendly at check- in and happy to offer help when requested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the lifts as the 'ding' can be a bit annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Textbooks,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your experiences with our TripAdvisor community. We feel honoured that Citadines on Bourke Melbourne is your accommodation of choice when travelling to Melbourne. It is wonderful to know that you continually enjoy the design and layout of our apartments, especially the convenience of having a fully-equipped kitchen. We agree it is always nice to take the time and relax at the end of a busy day with a meal cooked in the comfort of your own room!

Next time you stay with us, please let our Reservations Team know you are after an executive room or above, this will guarantee you a view on your next visit and elevate your concerns of looking out onto surrounding buildings.

Thank you Textbooks, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have now stayed here twice, once for business and once for personal. Both times I arrived and had the wrong room booked, the check in was very slow and difficult and was treated badly by staff at the hotel. I paid $285 for a corner 1 bedroom executive room and had a small little room, no view. The phone that we had in the room did not work therefore we could not contact reception or room service, even though there was no indication for what number to call for reception anyway, when I took the phone to reception they replaced the batteries and handed it back saying 'it needs to be charged for 6 hours'. The microwave in the room did not work either, I went down to reception and was told by the same woman "you are only here for one night, unfortunately we can't do anything but you shouldn't need to use it anyway". I shouted my mum the night away for her birthday and she had several bags as she had come from work, she was not offered help to take her bags to her room and we were left to struggle to the room ourselves. We were out for most of the day, but when we returned we were interrupted 3 times by cleaning staff asking if we were checking out! Check out was very slow, we left our bags at the hotel and when we returned to get them it took them 15 minutes to find our bags! I could to believe the lack of service and was incredibly disappointed for the amount of money paid! Would not recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Guest Service Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Maddy W,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and for sharing your feedback. We are truly sorry that your stay with us was not everything it should have been.

The incidences you describe from your recent visit were most disturbing to us here and not at all representative of the high standards of service we strive to achieve and maintain. You were not afforded the care and attention our guests deserve, and usually receive. I am grateful that you have given us the opportunity to address these issues with you personally prior to your post and that you have been willing and gracious enough to accept our apologies.

Thank you again Maddy W, it’s through feedback like yours that we can continue to improve the service and facilities we provide all guests.

Kind regards,

Mark Hibberd
Guest Service Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location, easy access by public transport, pleasant efficient staff and very well designed rooms. Surprisingly quiet for such a central location. The rooms are very modern, light and bright. Parking is available too. Only minor criticism was a soft mattress and pillow but this is a personal like/dislike.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperM504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear JasperM504,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time at our Apart’hotel and were pleased with the design of our apartments, central location and helpful Guest Service Team.

If you are ever visiting Melbourne again, we look forward to seeing you then!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We (two couples) stayed here for two nights in studio rooms so we could go to two footy games, one Friday 20th June and then Saturday 21st, checking out on the Sunday.

Our flight to Melbourne got us into town around midday and one room was ready, while the other one was not. All good, checkin is 2pm, so we were glad to have a room to put our luggage in while we went to lunch (see my other review on a brilliant lunch place about 1.5 blocks away)

The check in was very comprehensive with the fellow going over everything and giving us plenty of advice on the hotel. While we were at lunch the hotel called to let us know that the other room was ready (a nice touch!) so we could check in for the second room.

The rooms were both quite liveable (I think our studio was slightly larger than our friends') with a full kitchenette (double hob as well as microwave) with enough utensils and cookware/crockery to make meals, and the bonus of a dishwasher. No washing machine in either studio however on level 10 we had a paid laundry available (didn't use but saw the signs). The shower in our room (didn't see the other room) was almost 3 times the size of ours at home! Plenty of strong hot water at any time of the day too (we had showers in the early to mid-morning and at night after a very cold footy game). Some Fox channels on TV and a stereo with dock (only suits iPhone 4 and earlier - couldn't connect our iPhone 5, including by USB). Lighting was good, and glad to see the hotel uses warm white bulbs for those which aren't halogen - and a really nice lighting feature of the strip lighting up the wall/bed head unit above our bed.

The only drawback for us was that the bed was way too soft (we like a firm bed) as were the pillows. This may suit others, but we found we kept waking up as a result. No noise (double glazed window over the Bourke Street view) whatsoever. We were only metres from the lifts but did not have any noise. The curtains are something else - we need to get some of these at home - it was pitch black when they were closed!

There is a Nespresso commercial (paid) machine in the foyer which worked on the first day and made sensational coffee for $2, however it was out of order the next day unfortunately. No big issue though - the place in the building next door (walk out the front door, turn right and walk up one cafe) had a toast and coffee deal for $6. The Japanese restaurant in the front of the hotel does breakfast but a bit more expensive.

Check out was a breeze, and overall I cannot fault the staff in any respect - in fact I can't speak highly enough. Very happy with our decision to stay here and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Studio looking over Bourke, and ask for one of the larger rooms. Both rooms were facing Bourke but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear vicbrett,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community, it sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful weekend filled with football! We are very pleased everyone enjoyed their time at our Apart’hotel, and you were impressed with our clean and modern apartments. We agree there is nothing better than a hot shower after a cold winter’s day at the football!

It is also great our Guest Service Team was able to attend to all of your needs during your stay, as they take great pride in making sure all our guests have an enjoyable time.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,236 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $120 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing