We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #27 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location for a Melbourne shopping trip. Bourke Street Mall just a short 5 minute walk away and public transport right on your doorstep.
Apartments are clean, functional with a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, hotplate, dishwasher, cutlery etc) and free, reliable wifi.
Shower stall tends to get a musty smell if you leave the door close once you have showered, so when you leave the apartment leave the door open for a clean smell on returning.
Housekeeping do a quick tidy up, empty bins, make beds and replace towels - rather than a clean. Used supplies are not replaced and the carpet is not vacuumed. Not a big deal if staying for a couple of days; however, would be an issue if staying longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeeaddict17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Coffeeaddict17,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It's great to read you enjoyed our spacious apartments, complimentary Wi-Fi and found our central location perfect for your shopping holiday.

We are sorry to read however that your bathroom amenities had not been refreshed, we will be sure to follow this up with our Housekeeping department and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If you choose to stay with us at Citadines again, please do let our friendly Guest Service Team know if there is anything we can assist with whilst you are staying with us, as we are only too happy to help.

Thank you Coffeeaddict17, we hope to see you again soon at Citadines.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was booked for me by my company, I was very impressed with the apartment style accommodation. Excellent as I was here for a week of business. Great layout and amenities. No restaurant but plenty in surrounding areas.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Janice D,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is very pleasing to read that you had comfortable stay and enjoyed the layout and amenities provided in our apartments whilst travelling on business. We are sorry to read however you missed out on dining at Heirloom Restaurant and Bar located on the ground floor of our Apart’hotel, hopefully next time you are in town on business you may get the time to try their modern take on Japanese cuisine!

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, very clean and spacious with a good view of the city. The two small reading lights on the headboard are good. The two twin beds are a bit smallish but comfy and bedding is stark white crispy clean.

It is right in the heart of Melbourne's CBD, close to Parliament House, and is an easy access to major shopping like all the famous brands you can think of. Walk 7-8 minutes and you reach big department stores like Target; David Jones ; Myer and their newest mall --- The Emporium that opened on 16th April. H & M just newly opened and there's forever a long long queue snaking outside the store, even on a pouring day. China Town is just 3 minutes walk away. Trams,bus stops and train stations are all there. Taxis are forever there right in front of the hotel. Free tourist tram rides are like those hop on hop off buses, and are forever very crowded, but when they are free you don't complain.

Our room is on 22/F and comes with a fully equipped kitchenette including a flameless cooker hob and hood, convection microwave oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are 2 big bathroom towels, 1 medium sized and 1 small sized towel, which I think they should provide 2 of each when they know there're two staying in the room. They have limited toiletries and bottles are small. Ironing board + iron and a safe provided. Broadband internet access is very efficient and WiFi is free. The home entertainment system includes cable TV, DVD, CD and iPod player. There is a coin-fed launderette right across our room.

Everyone at the front desk is efficient; nice and friendly. Tanya especially stands out to be very pleasant; sweet ; helpful and affable who provides clear and succinct info to help us navigate around the city with minimal fuss. She also suggested a full day Yarra Valley wine tasting cum Puffing Billy excursion which was good, relaxing and interesting.

The shower cubible ( no tub ) however has much room for improvement. Water pressure from shower is not the strongest and the hand basin drainage is slow if you want to drain a full basin. Only one very small shower caddy so we had to put bigger bottles / stuff on the floor. They could do with a few more hooks in th shower area for your clothes. No bathrobes. They should have a bin and a hand basin next to the toilet,instead of having people take the rubbish out to throw and wash the hands outside in the open area. Definitely NOT hygenic enough. The shower door also didn't close properly on the 1st night and water leaked out so the entire stone floor was all wet. Told Tanya the next day and the handyman Chris attempted to fix it but only a little better thereafter.

Since we didn't use the kitchenette apart from the kettle, we will probably opt for another hotel next time in order to put the money to better use. Only provided bags of black tea, no other tea choices like Earl Grey or Green Tea that are so common in hotel rooms these days. They didn't replace our used glasses / tea cups after cleaning our room.

This hotel is very clean and close to everything a tourist needs. Everything provided is very basic / functional and that's about it. I would say it is generally good but don't expect something more than 4 star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G1G1MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

First couple of times my partner and i stayed in Melbourne we have booked citadines on bourke. Great clean rooms. Check in a breeze and location is great. Close to main malls and Chinatown. Room sizes are nice and spacious and the amenities are clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faiiint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear faiiint,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, thank you for choosing to stay with again!
It is wonderful to read that you and your partner enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from our speedy check-in process to our spacious and clean apartments.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in this hotel very recently with my wife and some friends. Hotel was very clean and spacious. The location was central to everything and the perfect location for a weekend away in Melbourne. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the small kitchenette and washing facilities meant a longer stay would be possible and cost effective.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend away and found our central location perfect for your plans in the city. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy to know you found their service both friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to Citadines again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Melbourne as a family and our choice of accommodation was definately a true winner on so many levels. The apartment we booked was a 1 bedroom apartment and from the moment we checked we were so impressed. The concierge and reception staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was outstanding, spacious and super clean. The room design allowed us to feel at home and not on top of one another (like when you stay in a hotel room) especially when there is a 4 year old to consider. The location was excellent with a tram stop right out the very front of the hotel which made accessing the City and surrounding areas an absolute breeze. We would definately stay at the Citadines on Bourke again, it was the best family holiday ever!

Room Tip: Nothing really to add other than try for a room from level 5 upwards, at least that way you get a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Kristen K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is great to read that you and your family experienced a wonderful trip to Melbourne. We are pleased our one-bedroom apartment provided a comfortable and spacious setting for you all to enjoy.

Our Guest Service Team will be delighted to know you felt at home during your stay; and that they assisted in making your first family holiday a memorable one.

Thank you Kristen K, from all the team at Citadines we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent four nights in a very comfortable 1 bedroom apartment which had plenty of room for three of us. The room was very clean and the kitchen was equipped with all the basics. The beds were comfortable - even the rollaway- and it was also extremely quiet. The only draw back to the room was that there wasn't much natural light as we were at the side of the building so you needed the lights on when you were there. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating and they seemed to genuinely want to help. Great central location and easy access to trams, also within walking distance of many of Melbourne's great attractions. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Booper97,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay in our spacious one-bedroom apartment and found our central location perfect for getting around the city. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy you were pleased with their friendly and helpful service.

Next time you are visiting you may like to try one of our Executive apartments; which are located on a higher level and offer unobstructed views of the city.

Thank you Booper97, from all the team at Citadines we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,620 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
826 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,232 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $123 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing