We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect for our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the Chinese New Year period. The location is very central to shopping areas, transport and lots of great restaurants.

This is a hotel/apartment style of accommodation, so there are kitchen facilities in the room. We were on the 24th floor in a two bedroom executive apartment, which had two well appointed bathrooms. For our party of four adults, there was plenty of space and no fighting for the bathroom! There were plenty of towels and the bed linens were very nice. The hotel was very clean and our apartment was well maintained. The view from the 24th floor was fabulous and we enjoyed watching fireworks on the final night of our stay. The only issue that we had related to our King Bed, which comprised of two single divans bound together - the mattresses on either side were soft, with a very firm strip down the centre of the bed. I would suggest to the management that a decent quality pillow top overlay needs to be added to this bedding configuration.

Overall, the staff were all helpful, knowledgable, friendly and courteous, and it was nice to see them working as a team in the lobby. When we checked in, Sangoresh (?spelling) was very efficient, and provided very clear instructions about how to access the free WiFi. The WiFi was generally of a decent bandwidth, but was occasionally patchy on the Saturday night (not that surfing the Internet was a priority, we had places to be!)

We also had dinner at the Heirloom restaurant on the ground floor. The Miso Braised Beef on Truffle Mashed Potato was delicious.

Thank you to the team at Citadines on Bourke. We will return on our next visit to Melbourne.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank SSQuMnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear SSQuMnx,

Happy Chinese New Year!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Citadines. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay, from your apartment, to our location and helpful Guest Service Team.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with them, that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

We also appreciate your timely feedback on our beds, as we are reviewing mattress overlays to enhance the comfort of our king-split beds.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Melbourne.


Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,169)
There are newer reviews for Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed three nights for work. The location is perfect right in the middle of the CBD. Everything is on your doorstep, shops, cafes etc etc. The fitness centre and indoor lap pool is great and better than most hotel fitness centres. The rooms are clean, efficient and have full height glazing so very light. TV and stereo provided. Downside, not washing facilities so cant wash clothes, but apart from that all great. The staff are good and friendly and the restaurant on the ground floor is exceptional for breakfast or dinner

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denirokeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear denirokeane,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is very pleasing that you enjoyed your stay and our fitness centre, we feel honoured you think it is better than most hotels.

I will pass on your delight to Heirloom Restaurant on getting to experience their breakfasts and dinners, we agree they are truly delicious.

You may be interested to know if you choose to return to Citadines that token-operated launderettes are available for the convenience of our guests.

Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived early on Christmas Day after an overnight flight from Singapore and we were able to check-in straightaway. The apartment was quiet, spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, including a small dishwasher. The bed was extremely comfortable and the walk-in shower very good. The staff were very efficient and friendly and always welcomed you with a smile. The hotel is central for all areas, there is a tram stop just across the road. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smart-clarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Smart-clarkes,

Thank you for taking time to provide insights on your stay to our TripAdvisor community, I am pleased that we were able to facilitate an early check-in for you, especially since you arrived early on Christmas Day. I hope you had a lovely time celebrating it in Melbourne and with us.

It is so encouraging that our accommodation and facilities were perfect for your needs, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed in a large, specious room on 5th floor. Heard no noise and bed was very comfy.

Room included a sofa and a basic kitchen but no detergent/cloths or tea towels to clean our cups.

We were only there 1 night and our room didn't have much of a view but this didn't bother us as the room was quiet.

Great location. Very close to centre of town, and less than 10min walk to Fed. Square.

Good stay, little pricier that some places but would recommend and I would stay again if I got a deal.

Room Tip: as for a room high up or in the middle of the building
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear NicD8,

We appreciate you providing us feedback on your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It's great to read you enjoyed our spacious apartments and location.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience, as detergent, a scourer and a tea towel are provided in all apartments (in the under-sink cupboard). I have shared your comments with the Housekeeping Team for their investigation and to rectify immediately.

Thank you again NicD8, we hope you travelled safely home.


Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My experience at the Citadines on Bourke was ok. There was nothing spectacular about the stay neither was there anything particularly memorable. Don't get me wrong, the location was good, rooms were of a good size, linen was fresh and clean, and you could find whatever you needed in the room. We moved pretty much all around Melbourne CBD on foot from the hotel. The hotel and its staff was just lacking that little umph. There were 2 small annoyances, one being that the shower gel in our room was not topped up on the day we arrived and the safe in our room was not working. The hotel did however respond quickly to fix those issues. The studio apartment was very convenient as I was travelling with my toddler. There was also a laundry room on our floor which was very useful. It however costs AUD 10 to do a cycle of laundry and drying, but I guess you pay for the convenience. Overall it met our needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear allyphant,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. Whilst we are pleased to read you enjoyed our central location and the space our apartment affords, we share your disappointment that your overall stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies, it is through feedback such as yours that allows our Guest Service and Housekeeping teams to work together to improve our guest experiences. We will also make sure to keep your feedback in mind on the cost of the laundry facilities, when making any future updates to this service.

We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I arrived on Christmas day and needed a hotel, so I checked in here -- it was a great choice. The hotel was very modern, and well placed on their business district/shopping area. The room was very clean, and very well layed out and had a kitchen.

When I say "kitchen" I mean a full on kitchen including a small dishwasher. I didn't really cook, but the fridge was put to good use, and I appreciated having the option.

The staff was friendly, and there was iMac's with free internet in the lobby (which was a nice change, as other hotels only give you an hour or have really crappy computers).

I stayed in a few different hotel's after this on my trip, and the Citidanes was by-far my favorite to date.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Dave M,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable first visit to our Apart’hotel, and were impressed with the services and facilities available to guests, including the complimentary business centre. We hope you were also able to experience Melbourne’s Christmas sights while in town.

If you are ever visiting Melbourne again, we look forward to seeing you then.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,544 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,882 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,284 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $127 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing