We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

In Melbourne for the Australian Open tennis and spent two nights at the Citadines on Burke with teenage kids. Hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance to the tennis at Melbourne Park. rooms are modern, clean and spacious. We were unable to get a two room apartment as they were booked out, but reception staff were very helpful and had two rooms next to one another. This is my second stay at Citadines on Burke and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Orla P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed our central location and the spaciousness and flexibility of our apartments.

I’m sorry to read that we were not able to accommodate your request for a two bedroom apartment. Our Guests Services Team will be pleased to know you were impressed with their friendly and helpful service by providing an alternative apartment option to overcome this inconvenience.

Thank you Orla P, we hope to welcome you back to Citadines again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed 2 nights including NY eve in an executive studio apartment. Room was comfortably appointed with a great view from 25 floor over the city skyline with glimpses of Botanical garden. This proved a bonus as we were able to watch NY eve fireworks from the comfort of our room. Highly recommend this establishment which offers excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Worth booking executive apartment for access to high floors with city skyline outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabethperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear elisabethperth,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. We are so pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, what a great way to bring in the New Year with front row seats of the fireworks in the comfort of your own apartment.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon and happy new year!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I arrived Citadines on Bourke on Sunday evening 19/1/2014. Check in was easy and quick. I was given a password for wifi but was not told how to get to the password page to log on to internet. The hotel wifi signal was easily picked up but I spent a fair bit of time trying to get internet access before I went down to reception at 11.45pm for help. There are steps to take to get to the password page. I reckon the hotel should help guests log on or give printed instructions during check in to avoid confusion. As I went back up the lifts alone at midnight to level 25, a group of 4 men and 2 women got into the lift with me. They were stinking of alcohol. I started to feel anxious. Suddenly receptionist Dammika entered the lift. I felt relieved to have burly Dammika in the lift. The group was in high spirits but subdued when Dammika entered the lift. They got off at level 10. Dammika followed them out. I felt that he went into the lift to make sure I was safe. Very kind. Thank you!!! If that is a hotel practice then well done!!!
The next morning we had breakfast in the apartment. I sat down on the dining chair and immediately toppled backwards and hit the top of my head hard against the kitchen cabinet. I was dazed for awhile on the floor. My panicked elderly 85+ yrs old parents had to help me get up. I checked the dining chair. Unlike the other chairs its iron legs were bent instead of straight and the backrest slanting backwards instead of straight. That was why it lost balance. I reported to reception and they sent a man up who confirmed the chair was defective and replaced it with a better chair. My head was sore for a couple of hours and my nose bridge, cheekbones and temples felt jarred so I took panadol. Luckily my elderly parents did not sit on that chair! Could have been worse! No one from the hotel acknowledged or apologised for the mishap caused by their faulty furniture though! I doubt it was ever reported through to management. The in room safe worked initially but within 24 hours of check in the maintenance man had to be called to replace the batteries in the safe locking mechanism.
Aside from that there is no cutting board in the kitchen, no bowls for salad, not much kitchen utensils and no oven. So I could not fulfil my desire to get some fresh seafood from Queen Victoria Market to baked or grill in the oven. To be pedantic, the sponge scrubber could be cut in half. It is too big and stiff to use properly. The cups are so narrow one could not get the sponge in it to do a proper cleaning job. A brush would have been useful. The hand towel holder and bath/shower soap rack are in very impractical positions. The TV in the lounge could be bigger. Overall Citadines frontdesk is friendly and helpful, the place is clean, modern and very conveniently located round the corner from Chinatown.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Ceekaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Ceekaycee,

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for your feedback.

I am most concerned to hear of the incident which occured in your apartment, and would be most grateful if you would contact me at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com with the details of your booking, and so that I may discuss this matter with you.

Thank you in anticipation.

Regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first week of the Australian Open. Overall very good value.

On the positive side - room was spacious, clean and had a kitchenette. Hotel has laundry machines and a restaurant as well. Location is excellent with great restaurants nearby and a short walk to Rod Laver. (Recommend you visit Siglo restaurant when staying here - is about 2 blocks away).

The negatives were poor water pressure in showers and a very hard bed (actually half of our queen bed was medium hardness, the other half was extremely hard).

But for the money during the open, a very good value (the price rise the hotels implement during the open is pretty breathtaking).

We noticed that many airlines appear to use this hotel for their flight crews as well.

We will likely stay here again for future opens. While not a 5 star hotel, it is very affordable and during the open, we don't really stay in our hotel room all that much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Richard C,

Thank you for taking time to share a review of your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke during the Australian Open. We are so pleased that you loved our location and appreciated the space an apartment affords you. We also appreciate your feedback in regards to the water pressure and have requested our Engineering Team to take a look into this.

Siglo cocktail bar is a great recommendation for our Trip Advisor community and the perfect place to capture Melbourne’s nightlife!

Thanks Richard C, we hope to see you again next time you visit Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Was here in January 2014 on business, stayed in 2Bed2Bath apartment on 25th floor

Pluses:
- Speedy check-in, although this may be due to the corporate group booking
- Really spacious apartment in the heart of Melbourne
- Awesome location on Bourke Street
- Good view from 25th floor
- Fast lifts!
- Daily copies of The Australian and AFR at the lobby.

Minuses:
- Fairly basic for the price
- Sleep quality was kind of disappointing, bed seemed unbalanced.. slightly inclined but soon got used to it.

Definitely would be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jer859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear jer859,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed our central location and benefited from the comfort and convenience our two bedroom apartments provide. The view of the city from the 25th floor is quite spectacular!

I am disappointed to read though that you did not have a good nights sleep, if you don’t mind providing the room number you were in, we would like to look into the status for the bed in question, please email our Assistant Residence Manager at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com .

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the standard of accommodation, service and convenience of the place very much. After a full day out it was great to return to the comfort of the hotel and enjoy a swim in the pool. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Barry R,

Thank you for providing Citadines on Bourke Melbourne feedback of your recent visit. It is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and were able to make the most of our central location and our convenient range of guest facilities, including our pool.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Many thanks,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Located directly across Chinatown and a few minutes walk to Bourke street mall and nearby sights and convenience stores making it a very convenient central location. The rooms are of reasonable size and modern and clean. Same with the kitchen and bathroom.

The staff at reception are polite and professional. We got there a few hours early but we got early check-in. Price is reasonable and internet (wifi or cable) is free! But they did charge $30 a night for parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear blazing_aces,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you found the location of our Apart’ hotel perfect for getting around Melbourne and were impressed with our friendly and helpful Guest Services Team. The complimentary WIFI is indeed an excellent bonus!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,235 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,622 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $122 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing