We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at the Citadines for 9 days during which I attended the Ring Cycle. Front of house were great, very helpful. Housekeeping especially so with a lot of consideration given to my disability factors. The laundry was on my floor and it operated efficiently with large machines which worked well and were easy to operate.

My studio was relatively spacious and well fitted. Kitchen was great with all necessary equipment, Great shower with very easy access. The bed was very comfortable and the premises were quiet at night with no noise from other guests.

I joined friends for one meal at the adjacent restaurant and it was most enjoyable.

Generally I would stay there again for the convenience and the staff. The hotel is good, the people make it better.

The only complaint is that seating is very low and this is not helpful for disabled guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doneworkingAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear doneworkingAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, our central location and convenient range of guest facilities our apartments offer. We do hope you had an enjoyable time seeing the Ring Cycle at The Arts Centre, we hear it was a wonderful production.

It is also pleasing to read our Guest Service Team were helpful and attentive to all of your needs.

From all the team at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a very good hotel
Clean
Excellent gym
Great pool
Fantastic location
The rooms however seem boxy and not really impressed wit the bed
it is a good hotel but missing something - feels a bit cookie cutter
Staff were good, indeed, everything was very good but not excellent
Room design is the main issue - too square

Room Tip: For sure, ask for a room with a view. High floor is very important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear mystical18,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Citadines. It is great to read that that you enjoyed our central location on Bourke Street and the convenient range of guest facilities our Apart’ hotel affords, including our pool and gymnasium.

Do let us know next time you are staying with us, as we can request a room type which may be more to your liking in regards to the apartment configuration.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was a very nice experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was great and had a great view and the location is perfect. All the nice food places and waling distance to some really good sights and sounds of melbourne.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponwude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Ponwude,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you found the location of our Apart’ hotel perfect for getting around Melbourne and were impressed with our friendly and helpful Guest Services Team. We hope you got to experience all Melbourne has to offer whilst sightseeing!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for a four night stay on our first visit to Melbourne.

The hotel is clean and rooms are modernly decorated. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities in the room. We knew there would be kitchen facilities but these were very good. We could make breakfast on some days which was great to save money.

Not knowing Melbourne before our trip we were happy to see this hotel is right on the main shopping drag and so close to lots of great restaurants and bars and cultural precincts (eg China town, the Greek precinct). A short walk to Flinders St station as well; there was also tram services across the road which took us easily to places like the museum and casino. The hotel was a great base!

Only issue would have been we are quite tall and requested a King bed as this was an option when we booked on Expedia, but when we arrived the bed was a Queen. Not too much drama but it would have been nice if this request could have been accommodated.

Used the gym and pool once when we were there and they were also good.

We were expecting an extremely basic apartment hotel when we arrived and were pleased to find that this place surpassed that expectation and delivered good value in a handy location.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, General Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Nicmm

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am glad that you found the Citadines as a good base with which to experience Melbourne. I am sorry to hear we did not provide the correct bed type you requested and will pass this feedback to my team.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Melbourne.

Regards
Peter G
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Right from arrival time, and check in, this was an extremely pleasant experience. The staff were professional, welcoming and very friendly. The room was excellent, and the location was perfect. Very close to all the action and excitement of all that Melbourne has to offer. An easy stroll to the rail connections, with a tram stop right outside the door. Right across from Chinatown. Brilliant, and a place I would highly recommend. Free internet as well!! Great staff; full marks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, General Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Steve

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

I am really pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will pass back your comments about the team, they will be pleased to know they assisted in making your stay a great one.

Regards
Peter G
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We are staying here at the moment. We chose this because of the location and the fact it had high speed broadband . The location is good but the board band stinks. I never get more than 200kbps. We had to go and sit in Starbucks to download or FT. I am happy to pay for faster speeds but its not an option . If you need fast broadband access free or otherwise - don't stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, General Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Jason

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke with our TripAdvisor community.

We are sorry that the complimentary WiFi service was not to your expectations. We have actually just upgraded our system with new access points and much larger bandwidth with many positive comments, so am disappointed you experienced problems during your stay.

Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent any future occurrence.

Kind Regards
Bryan L
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Really loved staying here.. No problems at all. Highly recommend. Great location. Nice spacious room, modern. Stayed here one over a year go and can still remember how good it was. The decor is very nice. There is lots too do in Melbourne, taking the tram is fun, the queen Victoria markets are nice, degraves street, Collins street, queen street. Great shopping and coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, General Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Lisa T

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay in Melbourne with Citadines!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Melbourne.

Regards
Peter G
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,604 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,573 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $120 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing