We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a few minor problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location but a few minor problems”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed three nights in a deluxe studio apartment.

The location of the hotel was convenient, close to shops, restaurants and public transport. The wifi was fast and hotel staff were friendly and helped us organise our SkyBus transfer. There were however a few minor problems with the room. More attention could be paid to cleaning as when we arrived there was some hair stuck to one of the pillows on the bed and the carpet had a few stains. The king size bed was two singles pushed together and while the mattresses were soft, lying in the middle where the two edges of the beds met was uncomfortable. It could be a problem if you are staying with a partner like I was. The beds may as well have been separated because we both found ourselves sleeping on our own side of the bed. The toilet paper fixture in the bathroom was loose and the shower head was not a rainfall one as described on the website. My tub of Ben & Jerry's melted and went to waste due to the freezer compartment in the fridge not being cold enough. We also received two calls from another room in the hotel because the number they dialled rang our room instead of reception. We ended up unplugging the phone for the rest of our stay to avoid having to answer more of the same calls.

Apart from these details, I enjoyed my stay at the Citadines. I would most likely stay here again if the problems I experienced were to be addressed, due to the price and convenient location of the apart'hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Erika S,

Greetings from Citadines Melbourne!

Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that our central location, free and fast wi-fi, and friendly Guest Service team enhanced your visit.

Your other comments have been shared with our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams for their investigation and resolution, and we appreciate your feedback, as this is the basis on which we improve.

We hope to welcome you back to Citadines on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    882
    194
    52
    23
See reviews for
428
765
123
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of Melbourne, and we found it an easy walk to most inner city locations of interest. It is just across the road from Chinatown and the Bourke Street shopping area is only two blocks away. The staff were, without exception, friendly and extra helpful and the room was faultless - one of best places we have stayed at. The hotel has great facilities, with a very good lap pool and well equipped gym. We will definitely be back to Melbourne and this hotel will be the first we check for availability.

Room Tip: We had an executive one bedroom suite on the 20th floor. Great view and self contained with great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Kelvin L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Citidines on Bourke Melbourne.

We are delighted to read that you found our Apart’ hotel one of the best places you have stayed at along your travels and felt our facilities were perfect for your needs. I will be sure to pass your encouraging comments to our Guest Service Team that you found their service helpful and friendly, they will be pleased to know they contributed to your enjoyable stay.

If you are ever visiting Melbourne again, we hope you will come back and visit us again too.

Warm regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where to next?
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for five days during a business trip to Melbourne. The location is very good, right in Central Melbourne. There are a huge number of restaurants and cafés nearby. The rooms are like small apartments, and are well appointed. There is also room service. Overall this place gives a very good impression. I would come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Back_to_Sandringham,

Thank you for taking time to provide Citadines with a review of your recent stay, it is a pleasure to read that you found our central location perfect for your needs and appreciated the space an apartment affords especially when travelling on business. We hope you had a productive and enjoyable business trip!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights. On the whole a good stay especially because of the location. Front desk staff very friendly. Room was very spacious with lots of light. Very good facilities which included Restaurants and shops nearby. In the room- a very clean shower area, extra toweling and
bedding.
Moans-Second single bed had the double duvet folded over which made it very hot to sleep in. The coffee table had a loose top and the house cleaning was not consistent. Need to pay more attention to carpet cleaning.

Otherwise, very quiet on the 16 th floor and would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

One of the most spacious and well-appointed apartments we have stayed in in Melbourne. We booked a triple room, which comprised 2 adjoining apartments (so actually 2 kitchens and bathrooms). The two apartment doors opened to the central corridor but a third door could be shut to provide private access. With a wedge (which was supplied upon request) and a booklet as doorstops this worked well for ease of movement between the rooms.
The beds were very comfortable, and the sitting areas (sofa, desk, chairs) were all comfortable and both stylish and functional (not something that can be taken for granted with a lot of hotel furniture in my experience).
The kitchens appeared well equipped however we did not do any cooking, so didn't actually use anything more than some cups/glasses. Disappointing that there was not plunger or pod machine for coffee given they were more or less full kitchens. Just tea bags and instant coffee (really??) and a $3 pod machine in the lobby - that was missing cups and/or milk on a couple of the occasions I went to use it.

Staff on front desk were great - really good attitude and genuine spirit of service - made us feel really welcome and seemed happy to help when needed.
Located in a really convenient position - easy walk down Bourke St to the main shopping areas, and a tram at the door, hard to fault the location. Would definitely stay here next time we're in Melbourne.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Pudens,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed the spaciousness and flexibility of our adjoining apartment rooms. I know our Guest Service Team will also be so happy to hear that you felt at home during your stay, as they take great pride in making sure our guests have a most memorable stay.

Though it is too late for your current stay which we apologise for we do have plungers available on request at Reception which we hope you can enjoy if you choose to stay Citadines again.

Warm regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location within walking distance to mall & China town. Great room, modern, with all kitchen amenities. Spacious for family of 4 although 2 children shared sofa bed. Staff very friendly and professional. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Louise D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.
It is wonderful to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and found our Apart’hotel spacious and central to the city.

We do hope to see you again next time you are visiting Melbourne!

Warm regards,

Shannon R

Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location of this "apart-hotel" to the Bourke Street Shopping Mall is first class.
The staff are courteous and very helpful. When we inquired about a "steak restaurant" for an evening meal we were recommended "RARE" in McGrath' Lane off Little Collins Street. What a great meal and service. Upon our return the staff member inquired if we enjoyed our meal and was really pleased that her recommendation had met with our approval.

The hotel has very clean and comfortable accommodation.

Obviously the higher the floors the better the view. The view from Level 25 is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear BJR001,

Thank you for taking the time to provide Citadines on Bourke Melbourne feedback on your stay.

We are so pleased to read that you loved the view from your room and central location of our Apart’hotel. I will be sure to pass your positive comments to our Guest Service Team that you found their service both friendly and attentive. RARE is indeed delicious!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,417 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing