We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and modern”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Citadiens on Bourke for the second time for the Melbourne Marathon Festival. Just like last year, the hotel staff where friendly and helpful, the location wonderful and the rooms clean and modern. The only negative that I can comment on is that they charge 25 a night to pull the two twin beds apart (that they use as a double bed ) so you can sleep in seperate beds. I cant see how they can justify this substancial charge? It would have cost my mum and I $75 in total just to move some beds apart so we didnt have to slep next to eachother

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Brooke T,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to share your insights below. We are delighted that our staff, location and accommodation perfectly suited your needs, which we will be happy to share with our team.

The standard bedding configuration in our rooms is a king bed, hence the surcharge is incurred in converting this to a twin. However, your feedback regarding this matter has has been shared with our senior management team for review.

Once again, thank you for staying at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    863
    192
    52
    22
See reviews for
411
746
120
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly. Room is clean and comfortable but the free internet access is unstable. Not accessible at certain hours of the day. Hotel management should improve or upgrade on that. Otherwise, I'm happy with my stay at this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy171072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ivy171072,

It is lovely to hear from you, it is great to read you found our Front Office Team friendly during your stay, we apologise you had issues connecting to our complimentary Wi-Fi. If you choose to stay with us again, you will be pleased to know as of Monday we have upgraded our Wi-Fi system.

We certainly do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, reception staff were very polite on check in. Rooms were clean and very spacious which was great as we had a porta cot in our room for our 3 month old. Bed was extremely comfortable which is always a plus. The hotel is centrally located right in the middle of Melbourne. Tram stop right out and only a 10 minute walk to Fed square/Flinders Street Station. There is plenty of shops right at the door step or with in walking distance. If there was one downside it would be the shower and shower head, just when you thought the water was fine it would go either boiling hot or really cold.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartment, fully kitchen, lounge, bedromm and a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azznjo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear azznjo6,

It’s great to hear from you, we are pleased to read your family had a lovely stay with us. If you don’t mind providing your room number to our Assistant Residence Manager Bryan Loh, we will make sure we look into your shower concerns bryan.loh@the-ascott.com.

Do let us know next time you are staying with us, if there is anything we can do to make sure your stay is more comfortable, as we would have loved the opportunity to address the water temperature at the start of your visit to ensure you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to hearing from you.


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Citadines on Bourke was the perfect stay for our 15th wedding anniversary.
Right in the heart of the city with trams at the front door, we couldnt have asked for a better location.
Very professional and friendly staff and the room was great.
We were delighted with an early book in as our room was available.
Only con I could possibly think of was the elevators took some working out.
Awesome, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Philip V,

Happy anniversary! We are so happy you choose to stay with Citadines for your special occasion, please accept our heartfelt congratulations.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Reception staff were extremely polite and helpful, when we arrived at 8am after flying in from the UK our rooms were ready for us already which was a great help.

Hotel itself is modern and clean. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel or a 10 minute walk to Flinders Street station, but it's within easy walking distance of most of the city centre including all the restaurants on the Southbank and tourist spots like the Eureka Skydeck, the Rod Laver arena and the MCC stadium.

There are also a couple of Starbucks within 5 minutes of the hotel and lots of 7 Eleven convenience stores!

Definitely a good base to explore the city and surrounding area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chumps77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Chumps77,

Lovely to hear from you. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and that we were able to facilitate an early check-in for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are next in Melbourne. We hope you had a safe flight home.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A modern furnished hotel, centrally located near restaurants, shopping & entertainment the trams run right past the front door & taxis are available too, the staff were always polite & friendly with great views of the city from the upper floors, the only minor complaint was the buffet breakfast with only a few choices & they were quite ordinary, we had breakfast included with our accomodation package but it costs $25 per person otherwise a better variety could be bought nearby at one of the many cafes for about half the price... would probably stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Vpmuscat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent enjoyable stay at Citadines and experiences with breakfast at Heirloom Restaurant, I am sorry to read Heirloom did not meet your expectations, I will certainly pass on your comments to the Residence Manager at Citadines to address with the restaurant to see where we could make improvements.

If you do choose to stay with us again, we look forward to seeing you then.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for the long weekend and loved it. Great location amd very close to the mall.
Loved how it was an apartment hotel so we had a kitchenette to make quick and simple meals. So breakfast every morning was nice and cheap.

Took a while to connect to the free wifi but once connected it was fine.

We stayed in room 1516 which was good for us as it is towards the end of the building facing a quiet street and only had one room next to it. It meant we could sleep very easily at night.
The room was spacious enough (studio deluxe) and very clean. The shower was nice and big too.

Downside was that we asked for a king and got a queen bed. May have been because of our request for a quiet room?

The gym wasn't huge but had brand new equipment and was just fine for a short break.

Staff at the desk where very friendly and professional and the reception area had separate break out areas which meant it didn't feel crowded.

Considering the price this was a great find and will recommend it to others. There were older looking 3 star hotels that cost the same or more than Citadines so it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor that does not face Bourke St
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AussieLondon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear AussieLondon362,

Thank you for your review, we loved reading it. It is great to know that you enjoyed all our Apart’hotel has to offer. When next you stay with us make sure you let our friendly reception staff know if you don’t have the bedding options you requested, as we would be more than happy to facilitate the change if we have availability.

You may also be pleased to know the award-winning Citadines is 4.5 star AAA accredited.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4,412 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing