We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just spent 3 days at the Citadines and have to say was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is comfortable with computers and a coffee machine plus comfy chairs and television screens. Staff are very pleasant and professionally trained. The apartments are clean, tidy and well equipped. The bed was so comfy and the pillows were nice and soft which is a bonus compared to some hotels I've stayed in. The kitchenette had all that was necessary and we made our own breakfast. There is a lovely restaurant on site and was quite busy at all times plus the bar was inviting. On site pool, gym and car parking (extra cost) makes this centrally located establishment a worthy place to consider staying in. We were very happy.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are an advantage in a city to avoid the traffic noise in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello FrankChris545

I am delighted to read that we managed to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. We certainly take pride in the service and facilities that we offer. We would like to thank you for choosing Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    783
    178
    46
    20
See reviews for
342
657
100
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It's functional rather than aesthetic but rooms are well designed, beds comfy, everything works. It's all still quite new looking, so happy to forgive slightly cheap overall feel. Handy location. Much better value than others in same price category. Guys on front desk lovely but overworked. No express checkout available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audbod18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Audbod18

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines and taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad that you consider us to be value for money and in a great location. You are right in that our apartments are designed with functionality in mind - being an Apart’hotel we offer the flexibility of an apartment-style configuration with the services of a hotel. This enables you to create your own personal space when you’re away from home. You'll be pleased to know that Express Checkout will be one of several initiatives which will be implemented over the coming months.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel more frequently to Melbourne now and stay here as it is close to work.
Becoming a familiar stay now, staff are attentive at checkin, happy to store bags at checkout.
I love the Japanese restaurant onsite, always save room for the souffle at dinner.
Eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice is my breakfast staple - better value for me than buffet.
Rooms are fine, some furniture a bit dated however very reasonably priced.
My only gripe is the soap/wash on tap - no separate shampoo & conditioner, I take my own in little travel bottles now so that is covered.
Onsite gym is fine for a general workout.

Room Tip: probably the higher the better so avoid street noise in the early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi ralphman

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne again on your latest business trip. I am glad to hear that you have been well looked after by Guest Service and that we’re conveniently located near your work premises. We like our guests to feel as much at home as possible, so it’s nice to read that you have been made to feel welcome and comfortable.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us again and we’ll look forward to having you back here soon (Heirloom’s soufflé is certainly delicious!).

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in September in room 0903, a 1 bedroom apartment.

The location was very central and just about a 5 min walk to the main shopping area. The facade was impressive and the lobby nicely appointed.

Check in was without fuss and our reservation (request for a tub and a cot) was met without issue.

Upon checking in, I did notice that the electric kettle had some oxidation at the bottom. Since we were using it primarily for our 3 month old's items, I called housekeeping if they could arrange for a switch. This was done promptly and without fuss by a very earnest staff member.

Similarly, the cot requested had been set up but I found that the padding was slightly hard (without mattress) and asked if they could arrange something for our baby. Again, this was met by the earnest staff member who came back almost immediately with several blankets and bedsheets and fashioned a mattress for our baby. All this took about 15 minutes to resolve without fuss.

The room itself was on the small side (note, compared to other apartments we stayed at elsewhere in Australia, but not Melbourne) but well appointed and had everything we needed. It was also clean and well kept. The housekeeping did a good job and would run the dishwasher daily (there was no powder for the dishwasher, but there was hand dishwashing liquid provided).

I would say I found the carpet a bit on the rough side (think office carpet) and had fluff balls, but I guess this was due to general wear and tear. The bathroom was nice and spacious but the bathtub had a strange glass swinging half door that was quite cumbersome and I would have much preferred a simple shower curtain.

I found the mattress slightly on the soft side, but that is a matter of personal preference.

One thing was that the laundry cost was quite high (our room did not come with a washer and dryer). Each load cost AUD$10 ($4 for washer and dryer each, and $2 for detergent). I hand washed our baby's things in the end.

Overall, I would return to stay at Citadines simply for its excellent location and the amenities. We did not try out the pool but it looked nice and cosy.

Room Tip: You can request for a high floor or a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieadriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello auntieadriene

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read that your requests were promptly attended to by Housekeeping and our Guest Service Team. Our apartments are indeed well-appointed and have many of the modern conveniences one usually expects at home. Before you return next time, you may like to know that we are currently completing scheduled maintenance on the property in order to address any small imperfections.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This year we went more upscale into a one bedroom apartment, worth every cent plus a bonus deal for 3 nights. Looked over the city from the 16th floor, apartment was perfect in all respects.
The location is one of the main reasons we went back, it's in a neat part of the CBD but everything is walking distance. Good eateries abound, one block down and you're in the Bourke St mall (good for the girls) and a nice stroll to the river and south bank.
Staff are superb, greet you every time with a smile and a welcome, thanks again Citadines!

Room Tip: The higher you go the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello MF100

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s great to read that you took up the current ‘Stay 3 Pay 2’ bonus deal by staying in one of our well-appointed one bedroom apartments, it’s also nice to read that your experience was even better for you second time around. We thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time this week and found the hotel to be excellent on many fronts. The reception and greeting was warm and efficient and the rooms quite spacious and well appointed. It's the perfect business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Stormboy59

Thank you for your recent review, it sounds like you had a very pleasant and productive stay. We are glad you got to experience why our property is held in such high regard by guests who are in town on business and we hope to assist you again next time you are here for work. We look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at the Citadines on Bourke. Chosen due to its proximity to an event we were attending in nearby Collins street, this property was very central to great entertainment, shopping and eateries.

Check in staff were very welcoming and professional and we were pleased to be offered a complimentary upgrade to an executive studio on the 22nd floor. The room was well equipped and had everything you could need for a stay, including cooking facilities. The views through the floor to ceiling windows extended across the Melbourne CBD all the way to the bay.

Although I had read a few negative comments on Tripadvisor about the king beds being twin beds which were joined, we didn't find this an issue at all and found the bed to be very comfortable. We awoke after a great nights' sleep to see four hot air balloons making their way across the city - just beautiful.

While we didn't make use of the pool, sauna and gym area this area was well equipped and kept clean. In fact I was impressed with the cleanliness throught the whole hotel.

The only very small issue we (and others) had during our stay was that the room cards in the lifts were difficult to scan. This led to a few people travelling further than they wished to while trying to get the reader to allow them access to the floor they were staying on. This small issue did lead to some funny conversations with other guests though.

In all we were very happy with our choice and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Blackwater165

Thank you for your recent review. I’m delighted to read that you made the most of our prime location in the CBD and that we were conveniently located close to the event you were in town to attend. The views from the 22nd floor are indeed superb and it’s fantastic that you got to see the hot air balloons floating over the city! With regards to the difficulties you encountered using the room card to access the lifts, you’ll be pleased to know that we will soon be switching to a proximity system which will be much simpler to use. I’m glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Citadines and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.

Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing