We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$109
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$177
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$162
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$251
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,394 results
Traveler rating
1,119
984
213
54
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
984
213
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopgreat locationexecutive studioapartment hoteldavid jonesserviced apartmenthigh floorfree wificentral locationbrick wallsmall kitchenwould definitely stay here againone bedroom apartmentliving areastayed for nightsstaff at receptionfree tram
Filter
Updating list...
1,660 - 1,665 of 2,394 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel more frequently to Melbourne now and stay here as it is close to work.
Becoming a familiar stay now, staff are attentive at checkin, happy to store bags at checkout.
I love the Japanese restaurant onsite, always save room for the souffle at dinner.
Eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice is my breakfast staple - better value for me than buffet.
Rooms are fine, some furniture a bit dated however very reasonably priced.
My only gripe is the soap/wash on tap - no separate shampoo & conditioner, I take my own in little travel bottles now so that is covered.
Onsite gym is fine for a general workout.

Room Tip: probably the higher the better so avoid street noise in the early morning
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi ralphman

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne again on your latest business trip. I am glad to hear that you have been well looked after by Guest Service and that we’re conveniently located near your work premises. We like our guests to feel as much at home as possible, so it’s nice to read that you have been made to feel welcome and comfortable.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us again and we’ll look forward to having you back here soon (Heirloom’s soufflé is certainly delicious!).

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in September in room 0903, a 1 bedroom apartment.

The location was very central and just about a 5 min walk to the main shopping area. The facade was impressive and the lobby nicely appointed.

Check in was without fuss and our reservation (request for a tub and a cot) was met without issue.

Upon checking in, I did notice that the electric kettle had some oxidation at the bottom. Since we were using it primarily for our 3 month old's items, I called housekeeping if they could arrange for a switch. This was done promptly and without fuss by a very earnest staff member.

Similarly, the cot requested had been set up but I found that the padding was slightly hard (without mattress) and asked if they could arrange something for our baby. Again, this was met by the earnest staff member who came back almost immediately with several blankets and bedsheets and fashioned a mattress for our baby. All this took about 15 minutes to resolve without fuss.

The room itself was on the small side (note, compared to other apartments we stayed at elsewhere in Australia, but not Melbourne) but well appointed and had everything we needed. It was also clean and well kept. The housekeeping did a good job and would run the dishwasher daily (there was no powder for the dishwasher, but there was hand dishwashing liquid provided).

I would say I found the carpet a bit on the rough side (think office carpet) and had fluff balls, but I guess this was due to general wear and tear. The bathroom was nice and spacious but the bathtub had a strange glass swinging half door that was quite cumbersome and I would have much preferred a simple shower curtain.

I found the mattress slightly on the soft side, but that is a matter of personal preference.

One thing was that the laundry cost was quite high (our room did not come with a washer and dryer). Each load cost AUD$10 ($4 for washer and dryer each, and $2 for detergent). I hand washed our baby's things in the end.

Overall, I would return to stay at Citadines simply for its excellent location and the amenities. We did not try out the pool but it looked nice and cosy.

Room Tip: You can request for a high floor or a room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntieadriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hello auntieadriene

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read that your requests were promptly attended to by Housekeeping and our Guest Service Team. Our apartments are indeed well-appointed and have many of the modern conveniences one usually expects at home. Before you return next time, you may like to know that we are currently completing scheduled maintenance on the property in order to address any small imperfections.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This year we went more upscale into a one bedroom apartment, worth every cent plus a bonus deal for 3 nights. Looked over the city from the 16th floor, apartment was perfect in all respects.
The location is one of the main reasons we went back, it's in a neat part of the CBD but everything is walking distance. Good eateries abound, one block down and you're in the Bourke St mall (good for the girls) and a nice stroll to the river and south bank.
Staff are superb, greet you every time with a smile and a welcome, thanks again Citadines!

Room Tip: The higher you go the better views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello MF100

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s great to read that you took up the current ‘Stay 3 Pay 2’ bonus deal by staying in one of our well-appointed one bedroom apartments, it’s also nice to read that your experience was even better for you second time around. We thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time this week and found the hotel to be excellent on many fronts. The reception and greeting was warm and efficient and the rooms quite spacious and well appointed. It's the perfect business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello Stormboy59

Thank you for your recent review, it sounds like you had a very pleasant and productive stay. We are glad you got to experience why our property is held in such high regard by guests who are in town on business and we hope to assist you again next time you are here for work. We look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at the Citadines on Bourke. Chosen due to its proximity to an event we were attending in nearby Collins street, this property was very central to great entertainment, shopping and eateries.

Check in staff were very welcoming and professional and we were pleased to be offered a complimentary upgrade to an executive studio on the 22nd floor. The room was well equipped and had everything you could need for a stay, including cooking facilities. The views through the floor to ceiling windows extended across the Melbourne CBD all the way to the bay.

Although I had read a few negative comments on Tripadvisor about the king beds being twin beds which were joined, we didn't find this an issue at all and found the bed to be very comfortable. We awoke after a great nights' sleep to see four hot air balloons making their way across the city - just beautiful.

While we didn't make use of the pool, sauna and gym area this area was well equipped and kept clean. In fact I was impressed with the cleanliness throught the whole hotel.

The only very small issue we (and others) had during our stay was that the room cards in the lifts were difficult to scan. This led to a few people travelling further than they wished to while trying to get the reader to allow them access to the floor they were staying on. This small issue did lead to some funny conversations with other guests though.

In all we were very happy with our choice and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello Blackwater165

Thank you for your recent review. I’m delighted to read that you made the most of our prime location in the CBD and that we were conveniently located close to the event you were in town to attend. The views from the 22nd floor are indeed superb and it’s fantastic that you got to see the hot air balloons floating over the city! With regards to the difficulties you encountered using the room card to access the lifts, you’ll be pleased to know that we will soon be switching to a proximity system which will be much simpler to use. I’m glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Citadines and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.

Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews