We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in middle of Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #43 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay in middle of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Family stayed three nights here in a 1br apt and we had a blast. Won't mention the airlines, but at least three major int'l airlines use this hotel for their crews. Pool/sauna/exercise room was great. Service was great. Couldn't get a late checkout, but they took care of our luggage and allowed us use of other facilities to change/freshen if needed. No complaints at all. Solid.

Location, none better.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdgarAPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello

It sounds like you had a great time exploring Melbourne and our property EdgarAPoe. It’s a shame we were not able to facilitate a late check-out for you, but hopefully, if you choose to stay with us again, we will have the availability.

We look forward to seeing yourself and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    700
    168
    42
    18
See reviews for
304
590
93
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The views of the city were spectacular. Stayed on the 22nd Floor. Furthermore, the staff were very friendly, and the lifts were incredibly fast, although it takes a bit of getting used to. The room is a bit small, but was very clean and elegant. Incredible hotel! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for higher floors! City view at sunset is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello ekky09,

We are loving your exclamation marks. Thank you very much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a superb hotel in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. It's in a fantastic location, only a few minutes walk to the Bourke Street Mall shopping area. Easy to walk around to all areas of the city, or easy enough to catch a tram if you don't feel like walking.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when we arrived at 2am due to our late flight into Melbourne. They were also happy to suggest local cafe's and restaurants.

The room itself was excellent. Clean, comfortable, spacious and very modern. It's a pity we were only staying there for two nights. It would be a great hotel to stay at for a longer period of time. It was well priced compared to many other hotels in the city. Melbourne is not cheap and we got the room for $200/night and it was definitely worth it.

We were on level 20 and the lift only took a few seconds to get there. There were quite a few lifts so you were never waiting more than a few moments to get a lift up or down.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, which looked quite nice, but we didn't use it during our stay. Maybe next time. There are so many great places to eat at in Melbourne city that we wanted to venture out as much as we could.

We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we are in Melbourne and would happily recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne, whether you are travelling solo, for business, as a couple, as a group or with a family. It really does suit all types of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Shan-Oz,

It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Melbourne and at Citadines!

A 2am check- in is never fun, I am glad our staff were able to make the check-in process as pleasurable as possible. We will let them know you appreciated their service.

We hope you got to do and see everything you wanted to whilst in town, if not, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Travelling with another couple who had previously stayed at Citadines, we rented a 2 bedroom apartment for a long weekend. First thoughts were on how perfect was the location, central to everything that Melbourne has to offer, restaurants, shopping, trams, theatres.
Staff were professional , welcoming & helpful. The 2 bedroom apartment had spacious bedrooms, huge bathrooms & very comfortable beds. I especially liked that the 2 bedrooms were separated by the living area. Free WiFi was appreciated by all of us.
Everything was well appointed, clean & modern. Kitchen, lounge, dining were small areas but a clever design makes the area practical & easy to use. We did not make the most of the fully equipped kitchen but it did come in handy for a few Happy Hours of champagne & sushi.
We were on the top floor with a room right at the end of the corridor, our bedrooms & living area each had a different angle of a fabulous city view.
I would be happy to stay here on future trips to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Go high as possible to capture the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Dael P,

It’s always lovely to share a vacation with friends and it is nice to read that Citadines was able to facilitate an enjoyable long weekend for you all, in our two-bedroom apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Somerset on Elizabeth is my preferred hotel in Melbourne when I travel down for work. Not sure what's going on with that property but it wasn't available so I decided to give Citadines (another Ascott property) a go.

Met with a welcome back Mr Brown (from previous Somerset stays) and that's always a good start. Big room, very comfy bed, all good there. Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs. It's a nice space, decent buffet, nice a la carte options. I was able to get a proper coffee (not off the warmer). Oddest thing was that every staff member was French. I could have been in Paris, well, not really.

Good location, good staff, good rooms. When I go back to Melbourne for work I'll probably book Citadines again.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Pandaboys,

Though we will miss you at Somerset on Elizabeth, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and breakfast at Heirloom Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, at either property, when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very central location, with very good access to the city, various tourist attractions as well as multiple transport options. The room was clean and comfortable and it was useful to have some amenities like a large fridge, hob, convection/microwave oven for keeping the costs down with meals. There was also complimentary wired and wireless internet in the room as well as a decent TV and stereo system. On level 1 there was a good length indoor heated swimming pool which I used on several occasions. All of the different staff members were very friendly and welcoming, and it was difficult to fault much with the hotel. Overall, I would certainly recommend this to others and would return here to stay myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willsharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Willsharvey,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Citadines Apart’hotel and were able to explore the city from our central location.

We look forward to yourself, your colleagues or friends and family staying with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay - staff were friendly & helpful and the location is fantastic. The apartment was clean and comfortable and having kitchen facilities was great. My son used the gym each day.

We had a one bedroom apartment with an additional bed for our son. The apartment provided everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello HelenL,

It was wonderful to read that everyone in your travelling party enjoyed their stay from your son in the Fitness Corner to yourself with the kitchen in the apartments.

I will pass your feedback onto our Front Office Team as well, as it is always nice to read of our guests enjoying the property as much as the location.

Thank you HelenL for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#30 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#37 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing