We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reliable, clean and good spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #38 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reliable, clean and good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed here many times now when I come to Melbourne - generally for work and its location is very good for that purpose. It's also nice and close to the malls and shopping in town, trams and train station. The rooms are wide in variety in terms of space and all self-contained so you could actually eat in if needed. This time I stayed in the most basic room which is still lovely and roomy. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean. The amenities (pool and gym) are very good for a hotel. All in all, I always enjoy staying here and always come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBrevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hello DrBrevis,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is wonderful to hear you have had such a pleasant experience each and every time you stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Our apartments are designed with space in mind to ensure guests have a comfortable stay; and our location is ideal to experience all the city has to offer. Next time you are staying with us, download our free app for lots of great tips on where to go and what to see- http://bit.ly/11PMu5Q.

Thanks again DrBrevis for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    720
    172
    43
    18
See reviews for
315
604
96
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location - really good, close to trams and shops.

Staff - very straight forward and standard as can be expected from a non-luxury accomodation.

Decor - modern and simple, good if you're into that style.

Bed - They do not have a king size bed. I repeat they DO NOT HAVE A KING SIZE BED. So if you book a "king size" what you will get is two single beds pushed together. You can feel the hard ends of the single beds when you lie in the middle (of course) and if you're unlucky the bed can be so worn out that you sink into it and wake up with a bad back.

Overall, this accomodation is a good value for its competitive price. But if you expect quality and extra customer service, I'm afraid you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicloe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello nicloe09,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, we appreciate your feedback.

Our location is ideal to experience all that Melbourne has to offer and our vibrant and modern décor is representative of our award-winning brand, which has been the subject of many positive reviews.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne is an Apart’Hotel, and although we do offer some hotel services, such as 24 hour reception and a fully equipped gym, we are a serviced residence and not a luxury property. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. Our king-sized beds can be configured into twins (two singles) for greater flexibility, and a plush layer is placed over the joint to enhance the comfort of our guests. Queen-sized beds are available in our 1-bedroom and Studio residences.

Thank you again nicloe09 for your review and we wish you happy travels.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Check in took forever because we got stuck behind a group. No apology no attempt to make the lengthy wait more comfortable. Room was clean and spacious (shower door broken). Hallways had a strange smell. A lot of us had trouble with the elevators stopping on our floors. Check out- person spent the whole time on the phone. Parking discount card didn't work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlpblonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Hipblonde1,

Greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to share your insights concerning your recent stay with us.

Whilst we are grateful for the patronage of our valued guests, we regret that the high occupancy during your stay caused some inconvenience to you. We are grateful for your patience and understanding, particularly with regard to the large groups checking in.

We are delighted that our accommodation was to your liking, and consistent with our aim to maintain our property in the best condition, the hallway carpet is periodically steam-cleaned, which may explain the odour.

You are kindly invited to contact me at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com concerning the parking voucher, which I will be happy to address with the management of the adjacent car-park.

We are grateful for your feedback and for choosing us as your home away from home, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We Recently stayed at Citadines on recommendation of a friend who said the location would be great for us (we're a little old and can't walk too far)

Twice during our 3 day stay strangers were given our room key and came in on us! Once, 3 girls came in just as I got out of the shower (very embarrasing). The other time was in the middle of the night with some staff who ran away when when he noticed us.
We tried to contact the manager, I think his name was Marc. He apologised but at the same time was really just saying he was busy - made us feel that people entering our room was unimportant and not really his issue.

After all this we were given a shock as we went to settle our bill - there was a surprise car parking fee we were not told about when we made our booking on the phone. We tried to talk about it with the Indian morning manager but he wouldn't help and was very firm that we must make this extra payment.

Overall we would think very carefully before staying with Citadines again.

Room Tip: Just be sure to check parking fees and any other fees with the reservations people to ensure no surp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Jacob S,

Warm greetings from Melbourne, and the Citadines on Bourke Apart'Hotel.

We were most concerned to hear of the mishaps concerning the issuance of room keys, and the systerm error which allowed the duplicate key to be issued has been rectified, and our team counselled accordingly.

The impression imparted by the manager is regrettable, as the safety and comfort of our guests is paramount.

With regard to the parking charge, I invite you to contact me directly at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com so that I may investigate the circumstances of your reservation further, and to take the appropriate action.

Thank you once again for your patronage and for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming your return to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location for this hotel is very convenient and I also chose it becasue it had received good reviews on Trip Advisor - I normally stay at the Mantra on Russell (and for the same sort of price the Mantra is much larger). The 1 bedroom deluxe apartment was quite compact with a very small lounge/kitchen and bedroom. It didn't help that there was a bed set up in the lounge which we didn't want - it took 3 goes and over an hour to get this removed so we could actually use the lounge room. If you are requesting a second bed installed definitely book an executive room or a 2 bedroom apartment. The view from both windows was of a brick wall - a bit depressing. The windows weren't able to be opened either. Despite the box-like surroundings the room was very quiet. The pool was good and was one of the cleaner hotel pools.

It wouldn't be my top choice but I may stay there again but I think for my money I will stick to the Mantra even though it is noisier.

Room Tip: Choose an executive apartment or bigger for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lap6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello Lap6,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is great to hear you took the opportunity to utilise our pool. We hope you made good use of the sauna and gym also.

Due to our central location, some of our apartments do face or overlook neighboring buildings. We do however offer guests the option of upgrading to the Executive levels which are located on the higher floors and offer stunning views over the city. I appologise for the confusion with the extra bed; this has been looked into and our records indicate that the extra bed had been delivered as a result of a miscommunication.

Thank you again Lap6 for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

great location .. other than that not much else going for it. The sheets were torn, the towels grey and the lighting in the bathroom so bad that you can't tell if it's clean or not. Maybe that's a good thing. The couch is extremely uncomfortable and the bed is tiny .. good thing because so is the bedroom. Great choice for backpackers and folks on a budget. Not for me. Very little comfort and zero luxury. The noise of the trams going by is constant. Would not EVER stay there again

Room Tip: to make sure you get a good room .. stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTrem991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MTrem991,

Greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel, and we are sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. This does not reflect the high standard of customer care to which we wish to provide for all of our guests.

We regret that the design and layout of our accommodation was not to your liking, as our clean and contemporary design has been the subject of many positive reviews. Our bedding is available in queen-size (Studio and 1-bedroom categories), or king-size (Studio and 2-bedroom categories), which can be configured as two single beds. We endeavour to accommodate special requests, subject to availability.

While the windows throughout our studios and apartments are double-glazed for the comfort of our guests, street sounds are audible occasionally, as is the norm for most properties situated in the heart of the city. On request, rooms can be allocated with a quieter orientation.

We have addressed with our linen supplier and Housekeeping department the issues which you have highlighted concerning the sheets and towels, and rest assured that measures have been put in place to prevent such a re-occurence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. If I may be of any assistance with your future visit/s, please do not hesitate to contact me, so that I may take personal care of your arrangements.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great location. Right in the center, just step out the lobby and you have everything you need. The staff is friendly and attentive. Rooms are incredibly clean, and its Kitchenette has everything you may need: microwave, dishes, cutlery, glasses (wine glasses and flute too)and even a dishwaher! Good sleep quality too, rooms are soundproof so you won't be bothered from outside noises (or the near room). Would definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannab3lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello wannab3lov,

Thank you for your kind review, it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! Our apartments are designed with guest convenience in mind, offering all the amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. We take pride in customer service, so I will certainly pass along your feedback to our team.

Thanks again for your review wannab3lov and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing