We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great location and new fit out, but no wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #39 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great location and new fit out, but no wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 5 nights here with my elderly parents. Fantastic location in the middle of the cbd and close to Chinatown (where my parents wanted to eat most of the time).
No housekeeping services on Sunday.
No wifi included in the room price, which is a pain, but you can get free wifi spot at the aus post building just 2 mins down the road or at fed square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    733
    174
    44
    18
See reviews for
318
613
96
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Citadines for 3 nights leading up to Melbourne Cup, on our way home from a month's business trip. We have family in Melbourne and celebrated a birthday with them during our 3 day stay. We thought that the room rate was very reasonable, considering the peak demand around the Cup. The room was spacious and very quiet. It was a real bonus to see that we could have self catered, if needed. Lifts were fast & efficient (we were on the 20th floor). Reception Staff were lovely. We also ate at the restaurant which had a perfect menu and reasonable wine list for our mood on the Sunday night when not much else was open close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendyhe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Fabulous hotel in very handy location,rooms were spacious and lovely and modern as well as being very clean. Reception staff were very accommodation with our requests and also allowed us to use a room before ours was ready.
We paid a great rate through Agoda and would definitely stay again at this property.

Highly recommend the Japanese restaurant at the front of the building food was very good as well as the service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemissimoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Citadines is located on Bourke street just 5 minutes walk from award winning retaurants and the Bourke street shopping belt.

It is owned by a Singaporean company and is one of the numerous Citadines and Ascott service apartments.

The rooms have not much of a view and you will hear the tram bell since the tram stop is just downstairs. However, it is a small price to pay for a clean, comfortable and modern room that comes with a kitchenette, something families will find useful.

Forget about the restaurant, Heirloom, downstairs, whose breakfasts are overpriced and just yucky. Just on the right of the hotel/service apartment is an award winning barista serving one of the better coffees around.

On the left across the street is an ice cream parlour that should make the kids or even the adults buzzing with a sugar high.

One thing though, bring your own toiletries. They provide a spartan, nailed to the wall supply of liquid soap. There is a laundrette on every floor that you can use with tokens purchased from the reception. The same reception also sells wifi access or computer use by the hour.

I've stayed here 3 times within 2012 and have found the service to be consistently reliable. The desk staff are happy to assist with any transport queries or any touristy questions.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fucheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in November. Upon check in we requested to be on a high floor but they could only give us a room on the fourth floor. First room was quite dark and looked into a building next door so we paid extra to upgrade to a room on the 21st floor. Second room was much better with a view over the city. The room was spacious and clean but showing signs of wear and tear.

This hotel is located in a great location, easy to walk anywhere and has tram stops outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chchnz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Traveled with my parents, booked 2 Rooms through WOTIF (WOT Deal) so for the price we paid, it is fantastic value.Good location, nice and neat studio style room. Check-in/Check-out very efficient. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had a pleasant stay, wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent location on the edge of the CBD - great for shopping, sightseeing & walking distance to some great restaurants. We really liked the apartment - which had bright modern decor & was all spotlessly clean. Comfy but smallish double bed. Bathroom had a good sized shower with decent water pressure - but could have used an extra towel. We didn't use the kitchenette but it appeared suitably equipped (fridge, microwave, toaster kettle etc) and would be ideal for those wanting to eat a simple bowl of cereal at home rather than dine out or to prepare snacks for a baby or toddler.

Was a nice bonus to have access to the heated indoor pool & adjoining sauna. We spent one afternoon just chilling out while the rain beat down on the glass roof.

The reception staff were friendly - but when we arrived (early morning from another hotel to drop our bags) our reservation wasn't in the hotel computer system. Not their fault - and it wasn't clear if the issue lay with Orbitz - the booking agent through which our online booking was made - or the hotel reservations department. Fortunately they had a room!

We ended up with a room on the sixth floor & being so centrally located, we did notice quite a bit of "white noise" - from the A/C system, passing trams, cars etc. Didn't bother us too much but bring a pair of earplugs if you need total silence to sleep.

Our only other gripe was the swipe card system in the lift. While a worthwhile security measure - if you're on one of the lower floors and get in the lift with other guests, you have to be very quick to swipe your card or you will end up being taken via the 22nd floor. Even after successfully selecting our floor - the lift would suddenly "reset", forget our selection & we'd have to start over. Based on comments from one staff member - it clearly drives the staff mad too (& surely not an expensive thing to fix?)

There is a restaurant right downstairs where you can get breakfast (we didn't try it) but the hotel is only 10min walk from places like Hardware Lane which offers many more inspiring alfresco options.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for better views & less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8_AussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing