We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic stay at the Citadines, Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #30 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the Citadines, Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in Melbourne thanks to the Citadines. Prior to the trip - we had searched for good value accommodation but it wasn't easy to find something under $200 per night that would appeal to the eye. When we arrived to our studio executive room, it was perfect. Neat, clean, spacious, modern.

It was easy to get to the Citadines thanks to the SkyBus service from Tullamarine airport. For $26 per person return it's excellent value for up to 2 travellers. The bus takes you from the airport to Southern Cross station, from where there is a shuttle bus that will drop you right in front of the Citadines.

The main reason for our trip to Melbourne was to go to watch the Australian Open. Citadines was excellent for that, just a few blocks walk down was the tram stop on Flinders St., which enabled us to catch a 5/10 minute tram ride to the tennis park. We were informed by a helpful staff member that our ticket to the tennis entitled us a trip on the tram. The location was fantastic for exploring the CBD as well.

Positives:
+ Neat, spacious room. Nice bathroom, kitchen facilities - as per the photos on their website. Air conditioning was easy and worked well - important for the hot weather in January.
+ High floor offered good views of the city. We stayed on level 21.
+ Such comfortable bed and pillows.
+ Great location to explore the city. Walking distance to Bourke St Mall, Collins St, Flinders St. Equally good place to stay to go to the tennis park or MCG. Also, there are tram stops nearby which make it easy to explore wider Melbourne.
+ We didn't try the restaurant downstairs - however, nearby are a whole host of restaurants, cafes. We walked down to the lane ways on Degraves St to enjoy our breakfasts there.

Negatives:
- As another reviewer said, the staff are happy to answer questions but won't go out of their way to assist - as opposed to other places we've stayed at in the world. Very minor though, on the whole the staff were good.

Overall, for the price we paid - we were thrilled to have found the Citadines for Melbourne and we will definitely be staying here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: High floors have great views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    816
    181
    49
    20
See reviews for
382
696
108
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great location in the heart of the city. Has all the hotel options but are a little slow with housekeeping had none on Australia day n none on the Sunday. Close to city n all public transport.reception helpful but don't go out of their way

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRBAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My 2 sons and I stayed in a 1Bedroom Apartment for the first week of the Aust Open Tennis earlier this month. In general, this is a fantastic hotel in a great location. We paid up to $300 per night for some of the nights: I would consider this a premium for a 1BR Apartment, but most likely this is standard for the tennis-period in the CBD.

Location: perfect in every sense: heaps of great restaurants within a 5 minute walk (Greek, Spanish, Vietnamese, Japanese, Chinese...). Tram stop at the corner takes you to straight to Southern Cross Station (for both Airport Express bus and trains). 7-11 at the corner (and an extra teeny-weeny one, across the road.) Supermarket 2 blocks away. Less than 10minutes walk to Flinders street station.

Rooms: based on earlier TA reviews, I requested a high floor and thats what we got (22nd Floor). Fabulous view, very quiet. The rooms seemed very new & were well fitted-out, altho a little minimalist in the kitchen in terms of cutlery, crockery, cooking utensils. Full size Fridge, very clean. Fabulous comfy bed, lots of wardrobe space in bedroom and lounge. The lounge-room Sofa converted into a bed (even tho management said it didn't!?!). Bathroom was lovely (altho the shower screen was very dodgy: water leaked all over the floor). Laundry was across the hall, and at $4 a wash (2 x massive front loader machines) I thought this was great value (extra for powder & for dryer).

Elevators: very fast but the room-key system has to be the worst i have ever come across (super sensitive, will only accept if you insert the key for exactly the right amount of seconds!!!)

Service: Reception were helpful, but generally speaking, had an attitude problem (note to management: SMILING at customers and showing a little warmth would go a long way). We were given wrong information on several occasions: (e.g.: told that the St Kilda Esplanade markets were only open in the morning, when in fact they ran all day; asked to sign for a $4 Laundry token in ADDITION to paying cash for it; ...).

Housekeeping was the only real negative: altho we stayed 1 week, our room was never vacuumed, and we had to phone up on 3 consecutive days (weekdays) to request a toilet roll as housekeeping did not replenish the current roll, nor did they leave a refill. Each time I phoned to politely mention this, reception were aloof, offering no apology, but just "anything else missing??".

All in all: this is a beautiful establishment in a great spot. Definitely recommended for a return visit. Smarten up the Housekeeping & Reception servicing and I would give this 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozkazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Point, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. The location is great, with lots of shops, restaurants and public transport close by. We had come for the Australian Open Tennis, and it was only a 15 minute walk to the event.
The room was clean and comfortable. We were down on the 6th floor, with no view, but it was delightfully quiet. The small kitchenette was well equipped, and with convenience stores located close by, it was easy to get supplies for breakfast. The only negative about the room was that there was only one chair for the table, so we had to eat sitting on the couch.

I had some incoming and outgoing faxes to get sorted and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We will stay here again when we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverboatmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days. Room size excellent esp size of bathroom. Sink lowered for w/chair user. Shower bench of decent width and length, attached to wall and pull down. Felt secure and comfortable though would have been better with some holes to allow water to drain quicker. Detachable shower head. Easy to use. Bed comfy.

I used the laundry room once, very handy. ( although room is compact and door pretty heavy) Washer and dryer- you need to buy tokens & powder from reception. Happy with the housekeeping service. Staff generally friendly. Didn't eat at attached restaurant as plenty other places in the vicinity. Location very good, at the quieter end of Bourke Street but near to main shopping area and tram stop just outside. Remember to check which stops are accessible friendly. Can easily spot the newer trams which are accessible.

Would definitely recommend the accessible room, mine was on 5th floor, no view but i didn't mind.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Had a spacious apartment like room with a small kitchen counter. Lovely view of the high rise CBD. Study table, wifi access, small but well appointed bathroom and another washbasin outside, was more than happy here! Breakfast concept at the restaurant downstairs was a little weird where you have to order set menus. But otherwise highly recommended with a great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and found the room very clean and well thought out. There was a couch coffee table area separated from the bed by a screen and small kitchenette where we could prepare breakfast.

Nice big shower. Sink was in the main area and not in the bathroom but this didn't pose a problem for us.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Only negative was the cost of wifi at $15 a day, this I can accept but it was for only one machine so if you wanted a phone and laptop on wifi you had to pay 2x $15.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#38 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing