We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Checking in was a breeze, staff very helpful & friendly, parking next door, rooms clean & modern. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment ... Location fantastic 3min walk to Burke St mall... Would highly recommend a stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,002 - 2,008 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

After staying in a rather wide range of hotels in Melbourne, from the luxury brand names to the small budget ones, this is probably the bes value I have found, however, it's not perfect.
The location is very good on Bourke Street. Close to everything.
Citadines in a very new property, opened in 2010, and it still looks new. The lobby is nicely appointed, and you can see 'new' everywhere: the elevators, the carpets, etc.
I stayed in the second to cheapest room configuration, with ample kitchennette space, adn OK closet, basic kitchen utensils. More than enough to eat a take out meal with decent plates and utensils, I am not sure if enough to cook, but in any case, there is nowhere to eat if you actually cook. You have the desk, and you hace a very small tabke by the sofa.
The bathroom is good, the shower is about 30 or 40% larger than the shower at the Grand Hyatt, so I can't complain.
The Gym is very basic, jus 2 teadmills, 2 elipticals, a simple set of dumbells and a simple universal machine. They also have an indoor pool.
A bummer experience is that they do NOT clean or make the room on Sundays. I don't know if this is standard Melbourne practice, but I did not like this. Also, they make the bed, but do not change the sheets or even check the bed before making it (I left a book under the covers and it was still there when the bed was made...).
In general this is a very good option in Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We chose this place based on location and age of building (finished in July 2010). We were not disappointed. It exceeded all expectations from the moment we walked into the foyer. Very Clean and modern foyer and reception area. Modern computers and lounges with a vending machine as well. It was a lovely place to sit and chat. The staff were friendly, well informed and helpful. The tram is at the door and takes you down to the Bourke St Mall, which is walking distance if you wished to walk.

The room did not disappoint in any way. We booked a Studio Deluxe room and upon arrival found we had been upgraded to a higher floor (floor 16) at no extra charge. We had requested a quiet room and were fabulously surprised that no 'street noise' could be heard from our room, plus we had a lovely view of the city. The beds and pillows were one of the best I have ever slept on.
The room was kept beautifully clean. Housekeeping do not do the room on Sundays, but it's no problem for reception to quickly bring fresh towels or more coffee/milk. The kitchen is not huge but it has all you could need to cook - hotplates, microwave oven, fridge, and even a dishwasher, plus all the utensils and saucepans needed. We didn't cook and realised there is no dining room table and chairs to eat at, but there is a large desk and lounge with coffee table, so its not really a problem.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueangelBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I reviewed all my options before choosing this apartment hotel. Its near new, in central Melbourne and fair value for money. Locations like docklands and southbank are too far away if you are after a CBD experience. Its a narrow thin building of 25 floors and many of the rooms have limited views, although the highest floors may look over the adjacent buildings.

I stayed in a studio, about the size of a good hotel room with a kitchen with microwave, fridge, hotplates and small dishwasher. Its all near new and whilst this is a 4.5 star property there is no assistance with luggage but staff are generally good.

PROS
Location
VERY fast elevators
Near New
Quiet
Good Air-conditioning/Heating
Pool
LCD TV/Stereo

CONS
King bed is 2 single beds pushed together and zipped in centre
Limited Parking
Rates - Use the search engine to search for rates. The hotel's site was up to $30 more expensive than other sites
Internet Charges
Shower Only - NO bath

Room Tip: Can find no difference in different types of studs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Every thing about our stay at Citidines was brilliant. I booked only the day before and got a great rate. Knowing that city hotels in Melbourne can often mean staying in a dirty sho box, I wasnt expecting much at all. How wrong I was! It was brilliant! The room (studio) was enourmous! King Bed, double shower, lounge, work station and kitchinette! The green colour scheme was magical and everything was clean and tidy! The staff were always so inviting too. We had a wedding on the Thursday and came back later that night and the room was made up, wasnt expecting that at all! The bed was comfy, the lighting was great, tv was brand new as well as a swish ipod docking station! The location is perfect. Will definetly be staying here everytime we come to Melbourne, hopefully next time we can get a higher level room with a view :) Thanks Citidines!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusKiwiCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Not the most obvious place from the street frontage, but once inside this is a very impressive establishment.
The hotel appears to be new or newly refurbished and is excellent in all aspects.
The room I stayed is was better than the website showed, which travellers will know is not always the case. It was clean and everything worked.
The location is great. You are pretty much in the middle of the city so it is close to everything and the tram is a couple of minutes walk away if you are that way inclined.
The gym, sauna and pool are excellent.
While not highly expensive, this is not a room for the budget traveller with rooms starting around the $200. I would recommend this hotel to business or leisure travellers.

Room Tip: Citadines own website is pretty competitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Energiser68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This place is centrally located, new & fresh. After reading the reviews on this place i decided to book, although the staff reviews were not that great, but i got there Saturday morning & the staff were so welcoming and helpful throughout our weekend stay. Rooms are refreshing and well thought out. This place will definitely be my new choice of accommodation for Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 162 in Melbourne
2,355 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
1,940 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $126 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing