We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, exceptionally clean & comfortable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, exceptionally clean & comfortable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Just stayed at the Citadines for 1 night on 18 Mar and would definitely stay here again when travelling in a group -- there were 4 of us and we took the Deluxe 2 Bedroom Apartment and it was just lovely! Had a room on the 24th floor with a good view of the city.

There was a small, well-equipped kitchenette -- fridge, electric induction stove, dishwasher, microwave/oven, crockery and utensils, plus the electric kettle and toaster! The main bedroom had a spacious King bed with ensuite bath attached (this had a bathtub) and the other room had twin beds. The common toilet has a standing shower. The shower heads were adjustable -- either spray or single jet... water pressure was mostly even.

The beds were really comfortable and the bed linens and towels were very clean -- in fact, the whole place looked brand new and we were very happy with our stay. The location is within walking distance to Chinatown and all the other shops in the city centre.
There are plenty of places to eat and shop just downstairs.

They have laundry services where you can wash and dry your own laundry -- there was an ironing board and iron in the apartment. It also had a hairdryer and toiletries include conditioning shampoo and shower gel. Sinks had a small cake of hand soap.


The staff at reception were efficient and prompt.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    826
    185
    49
    21
See reviews for
390
707
111
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We were only in Melbourne for the weekend but it was still good to have a decent sized room with a fridge and microwave. It is in a very good location, was clean and comfortable and well priced. There is nothing luxurious about it but nothing to complain about either.

While we were there there was a building going up right outside our window. The noise on a Saturday morning from about 7 am was not loud (and not Citadines' fault) but perhaps you might check where your room is if that worries you. Like others, a surchage on the credit card payment, taking $100 for no reason on credit card and the lobby internet charges grated a little but didnt detract from a good stay. We'd be happy to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Getting there: We were told by staff to get the Skybus to Southern Cross then the hotel transfer bus. Skybus offers free hotel transfers, but you pay for the Skybus. The Skybus was cheap and fast- just 20mins, but the hotel transfer took 1.5 hours! This was probably because we arrived at 5pm- peak hour. As it turns out the hotel is a 5 minute tram trip away. Here's how to do it:
You have to buy a ticket at a seven-eleven or news stand, or if you have coins you can buy it on the tram. If you are going to be around a while, get a pass for the week or weekend. Tram tickets are for a time period, not per journey. Put your ticket in the validation machine when you get on the tram.
Just outside the Skybus terminal at Southern cross, and over the road, you catch Tram #96 to East Brunswick, get on at Stop #2, in Bourke St, get off at stop #7. Citadines is straight across the road. Tram 96 comes every 20 mins and there is a computer indicator at the stop to tell you how long until the next one.

About the hotel- Yes it was clean, staff were helpful, the room had no view, the restaurant downstairs was great. They have a baggage room where you can leave your bags after checkout

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC_From_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights end of February 2011 - Amazing location, but the staff and overall operation are poor. The rooms were modern and clean, but as the building is narrow, had a view of a brick wall. The restaurant service is slow and not sure why as it's never that busy.

There is no housekeeping on Sunday so better not go too wild in your room or you'll be sleeping in the party. Also, my wake-up call didn't happen the first night and was late for meetings.

Don't really understand how a great looking hotel/apartment in the heart of Melb can't seem to go that extra step and make this a great experience. The staff look exhausted from having to deal with complaints and bad management. A fine stay, but there are better options.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagetsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed here with 5 of my friends in 2bd apartment (on 25th floor, amazing views) and additional studio. The value for money is great, staff and service very helpful and rooms/apartments are amazing. Location is very handy and there is an amazing restaurant downstairs. Will definitely stay here again when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cLeo140878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Room was fine, spacious and clean. Took us more than 20 mins to find the hotel after parking underneath due to lack of directions from reception staff.
Internet in foyer $6 an hour seems expensive.
On check in they took $100 deposit for incidentals but as there was no minibar we are not sure what that was for??!!
On check out they charge 1% credit card surcharge, even for MasterCard!! These sorts of fees should already be part of their own costs instead of offending guests upon checkout! Prob not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worongary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We booked directly on the hotel's website and got a great deal.

These apartments are located in a great part of the Melbourne CBD near Chinatown and it's located right opposite the tram stops (easy and cheap to get here from the airport - we got the skybus to Southern Cross train station and caught the tram up Bourke St to the hotel.)

The staff were very friendly and even asked how our flight from the Gold Coast was when we arrived.

When we got to our room it was made up for two single beds instead of a double and when we rung them they sent up room service to make it up as a double while we were out without any hassle.

The room was very clean, modern and it is basically brand new. We stayed in a studio for two nights over the weekend and although it didn't have a view, we were happy as we prefered to pay a lower price and get out and explore Melbourne rather than paying a high rate for a nice view.

We didn't have any issues with noise like some other reviewers have mentioned - we stayed on the 8th floor which faced out to another building.

We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Melbourne next month.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing