We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location and a great first visit to Melbourne!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Ranked #78 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
2 reviews
“Great location and a great first visit to Melbourne!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Apartments Star Docklands was perfect for our first stay in Melbourne!

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for myself and my boyfriend, also booking a trundle bed for a friend staying with us for one of the nights we were there. Upon arrival we had been told we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment and that we wouldn't be charged for the trundle bed that we now didn't require! The 3-bed apartment had water views of the dock which was fantastic! We could see etihad stadium and the city.

There were many restaurants to choose from within 3 mins of the apartment, just a walk along the dock and you would find something that suited you.

We arrived quite early at 8am to Melbourne (room wasn't ready yet) so they held our bags for us at reception so we could explore the city! When we returned at 5pm, unfortunately our room was still being cleaned when we were taken up to our apartment, however it was a spacious apartment which we were very excited about.

The apartment did need a little bit of work (e.g. Some windows wouldn't open, the door to the balcony didn't lock) but all in all it was very clean.

It also has a great gym and pool and spa which is easy access to.

The free city tram stops directly out the back of the apartment block. It is only 14 mins from the airport by taxi.

Great stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
55
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived at noon and the room was not ready so I was asked to leave my luggage and return later, no worries. 4:20 pm got a voice message that I had forty minutes to get back before the office closes. The after hours office telephone number was call forwarded to a wrong number so it was impossible to get my room keys and luggage. I had to get another room quite far away incurring room costs, taxis and personal items to buy. The next day I returned and checked in. The suite was modern, spacious and quite nice. The iron was corroded, abrasive and bubbled out rusty water. They had no other irons. The internet router provided was broken and they had no other routers. The dishes, pots, cutlery and glasses were quite dirty with food stuck on them. There was left over feces in the toilet. The door hinges to the closets were broken. When things were brought to the front desk staff's attention there was little concern nor any action taken. Check out process resulted in more stress and confusion as the desk clerk's pricing was not honored by management and the billing was incongruous. A bad experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our 9 month old son. We got an upgrade to a 1 bed + study, which was great as our son got his own room. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. As other reviewers have said, being so close to the free city circle tram is a definite advantage.

Pros: close to free tram, clean and reasonably priced

Cons: the blinds don't block out much light, and our apartment was opposite a city office block so the bedroom didn't feel very private

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB33081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We took our teenagers down to Melbourne for a 5 day break. We stayed here because it had a pool and was a 2 bedroom apartment.
The location is fantastic with the free city circle tram right outside your door and also the Bixi City bike rentals.The bike ride around the Yarra is a must.
It had a lovely view of the water and the city looked gorgeous at night.
The apartment was a very comfortable size, absolutely spotless and well equipped.
The only thing I will say is ask for a room away from the construction site. There is a new apartment block going up next door and the noise started at 7 am even Saturday.Our teens slept through it but if you had toddlers it could be a problem.
The girl I spoke to on the phone re accommodation was lovely and the 2 male mangers were so accommodating.
We will defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiepals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

To say I was unimpressed with Accommodation Star Docklands would be an understatement.

Our room was a major disappointment. Every window we looked out was surrounded by construction sites meaning the curtains had to remain closed on two sides to avoid having workmen watch us. The water view room that I requested was a view of the roof of the pool!!! When trying to watch tv, Foxtel and the tv continually turned itself off making it near impossible to watch a show. The couch in the room was filthy and looked like it had been used by dogs to sleep on and when I went to use the iron it squirted dirty water over my new top and ruined it.

I was overcharged on the price that I was quoted with no offer of reimbursement.
For the $850 paid we could we have spent a luxurious time at one of the Crown hotels but I decided to try something different. I will never bring my family to Accommodation Star Docklands again. This accommodation has been one of the most disappointing I have experienced and has ruined what was meant to be a special celebration weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank peta0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Star apartments in Docklands is the perfect place to base yourself whilst in the Melbourne CBD area.It was a short walk to Ethiad stadium, loads of restaurants and great shopping. The free tram and visitors bus were right on the doorstep, we didn't have to pay for any transport within the city area.
We stayed for 2 nights in a three bedroom spacious apartment and could have easily stayed for longer. The apartment is in a very secure building, has a large living area, 2 bathrooms, a laundry and 3 generous sized bedrooms. The living area has floor to ceiling windows and a balcony with lovely views. Parking is available if needed and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lismaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

These apartments have all you need for a Melbourne short stay. The apartments are well situated in the lovely dockland area (quieter than central accommodation) while being just a 2 minute walk from the trams, and about 5 minute ride to the city centre. There are great eateries at street level, or you can pick your goodies up from the market and use the well equiped kitchens to create your own gourmet meals. The apartments are beginning to show signs of wear and tear, but overall offer great value for money. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducksbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#45 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Docklands
Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands

Property: Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Address: 13 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments is located in the heart of New Quay, Docklands, the newest cultural and entertainment precinct of Melbourne and only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments offer a range of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each of apartments successfully blends spacious interiors, fabulous views of the marina, outdoor balconies and spectacular views. For guest convenience each booking includes: swimming pool, gymnasium, WiFi, security entrance and secure undercover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing