We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Ranked #114 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Parking included in the very reasonable tarriff was a big plus - as parking fees can add a lot of dollars to a stay in Melbourne - well, anywhere for that matter. Initial 'phone booking was easy and friendly. Although we only needed a one bedroom apartment for four nights, rather than refuse our booking, we were upgraded at no extra charge. On arrival, we were delighted to be given a large three bed apartment in the Arkley Building, with marvellous views from the balcony, across the marina to the city. Very pleasant indeed. Meticulously clean with nice touches such as 'upgraded' coffee - how thoughtful is that, and a good quality non-stick pan, amongst all the others, for our breakfast omlettes. Happy too that there was gas for the small amount of cooking that we might do. The Flat Screen TV/Foxtel are also things one appreciates when on holiday.
A thicker mattress overlay would have made the bed more comfortable, and, yes, the air-con, or whatever, was rather 'loud' - however, it didn't spoil the experience..
Although Docklands in winter is not very crowded, the ease of transport into Melbourne city makes it a great location. With Harbour Town almost complete, it will be an added attraction for bargain shoppers.
We didn't eat at the local restaurants, although they did look very inviting, with reasonable charges.
For drivers - easy access from either Calder or Eastern Freeway.
We have stayed in the Docklands area before, and would most definitely stay with the Star group again. A fabulous opportunity to experience rather grand apartment living.

Room Tip: If you want a 'walk-in ' shower - be sure to mention this. Ditto for 'Views'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

I was part of a group of 5 who had travelled to Melbourne for a 3 day weekend 21-23 May 2011. We booked this apartment through wotif.com because it looked spacious and had a bedding configuration that suited us.

LOCATION:
Firstly you should know that Docklands Accomodation Star is a business that manages apartments in various buildings around docklands, these include the Conder building, Arkley Tower, Boyd Tower, Nolan Tower, and Palladio tower.
The Docklands Accomodation Staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, including being able to recommend shopping areas and restaurants. You will be asked to check in at their offices on Caravel Lane and all the towers are within walking distance.
This review is for apartment 201 Conder Tower which is a 3 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms. The Conder building has a sauna and heated pool (I don't know if the other apartment buildings offer the same).
The apartment was a 2min walk to the nearest Tram stop on Harbour Esplanade (cnr La Trobe). This tram stop includes access to the Free Circle Tram - we used this tram 90% of the time as it takes you near most of the major shopping areas. The apartment is a 2min walk from Etihad Stadium also.
There are plenty of restaurants along docklands serving dinner, but we found the breakfast options to be quite limited.

APARTMENT FEATURES:
The 3 bedroom apartment was very spacious and modern with a large open plan kitchen/dining/lounge area that overlooked the docklands marina. The apartment was clean and comfortable and well equipped, including utensils in the kitchen. The lounge had a large flat screen TV and Foxtel. The lounge/dining area had floor-to-ceiling windows which offered great views (see photos). There was a small balcony off the lounge with 2 chairs and a small table. There was a laundry room which included a washer, dryer, airing rack and iron/ironing board.
The 3 bedrooms consisted of a Master w/ ensuite, a medium sized room with 2 single beds and a third bedroom with a double bed. All bedrooms had double wardrobes to allow for plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable, but on the firmer side. One of our group slept on a roll-away bed which had a regular sized matress but she said it wasn't overly comfortable as you could feel the springs.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite for maximum views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4 and it was all we could have wanted. Clean, friendly and helpful service and a lovely location. Very convenient with an extended hours minimart downstairs and a free tram service to the city, and also great local restaurants and shopping. I'd like to extend genuine thanks to Vince and everyone we dealt with in the front office who were very accommodating and generous with time and facilities. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinyMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Very happy with the stay, unit was clean and better stll, felt and smelt clean. Service was great, staff are contactable 24/7 and polite when contacted. Unit is close to mini super market for those things you need and only minutes walk to heaps of restaurants. Only fault is hard beds but every where has hard beds now days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjrnarrandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

First the good points. Excellent communication and check in. We were met kerb side and guided into the carpark, then straight up to our apartment. The apartment was better value than most in this price range. It had a nice ambience and the city skyline views, whilst somewhat obstructed; were still good. For two couples doing touristy things it was ideal. There is a free, city circle tram virtually at the door. Parking was free too, which is not the case with other serviced apartments in the city. This alone makes the price even better value.

My only real gripe is the "white noise" of the building. The background hum of fans, air conditioners and the like is quite astonishing. You could not live with it. I noticed a large vent blowing air onto the balcony and was quite surprised to learn that the duct running through the apartment was not even for the apartments' air conditioning. It was related to common property. This duct (inside a bulkhead) ran directly across the top of the bed in the main bedroom. Although I am not particularly sensitive to noise, it was a real impediment to sleep. To be fair though, many other establishments suffer a similar problem. Other noise, for example street noise; is barely noticeable.

We had a minor problem, which I won't outline here and the staff were absolutely terrific in the way they handled the situation. Overall, very good and excellent value. The debate over the location is mitigated by the free tram.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fiquei no 15º andar, de frente para a roda gigante (igual a de Londres) e conseguia ver uma boa part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Conkurenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#57 of 161 in Melbourne
754 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#72 of 161 in Melbourne
5,522 reviews
Central Business District
Apartments Melbourne Domain Lt Collins Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands

Address: 13 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $100 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments is located in the heart of New Quay, Docklands, the newest cultural and entertainment precinct of Melbourne and only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments offer a range of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each of apartments successfully blends spacious interiors, fabulous views of the marina, outdoor balconies and spectacular views. For guest convenience each booking includes: swimming pool, gymnasium, WiFi, security entrance and secure undercover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing