We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value; strong brother for Crown Towers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great value; strong brother for Crown Towers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary and we our high expectations were met instantly. The hotel exudes a modern charm in the lobby, and the service behind the desk was friendly and non-invasive.

The room was beautiful, much like those at towers, but had a more modern-Japanese twist that gave it an edge on its older brother. The furniture was sleek, and the appliances, including the flat screen TV, were all new and easy to use. The linen was also fresh and crisp, and housekeeping didn't mind coming in to make the bed more than once a day.

The "Maze" restaurant by Gordon Ramsey was pretty disappointing at breakfast. While included breakfast was a huge factor in our stay, the food was mediocre, which was surprising when it was attached to such a renowned name.

Recommended for a stay with the lover!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,082
    1,078
    307
    119
    69
See reviews for
619
1,474
123
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Booked and stayed in a standard King room.

Pros:
- Very modern and sophisticated looking, outside and in
- Good selection of magazines in the room
- Adequate amenities/love the shower gel and shampoo etc
- Great modern TV setup & sophisticated communications setup
- Convenient walkway to Crown casino/shopping

Cons:
- The main letdown for me was the lack of privacy between the bathroom/bedroom. There are these divider/sliders that are drawn for some privacy, but there is little left to the imagination especially with "bathroom sounds". Sliders are partially "see through" / silhouette style.
- The air-conditioning also didn't appear to cool the room very well, I had it on 18 degrees and on full blast, but still my partner and I got hot in the middle of the night.
- Hotel was at 95% capacity, so checkout was shocking: taxi line was huge, and "express checkout" area was a huge mess (thank god we booked a limo to pick us up!)
- Too close to the casino, so not good for those who give in to temptation ; )

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haydensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Staying for 10 days for a combination of work and conference. The room was well laid out (I like the bathroom integrated into the room - seen it in other hotels) and since brand new, very clean. The staff are efficient and friendly. While I can see why people are challenged by the parking issues, please remember when you all check out at the last possible minute, there are a lot of you!
Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

What a excellent hotel. Reading some of the negatives posted makes me feel sorry for the staff having to put up with such drivel. Are people forgetting that this is Australias biggest hotel with 600+ rooms? So what if there is a wait at the hotel? The building is amazing & modern. Rooms comfortable & very luxurious. Great views & the most amazing pool in this country. OMG worthy. World class. Location is ideal & walking distance to everything one would need. I wish people would stop complaining about views, since when do you sit gazing out the window while visiting Melbourne? Can't wait to stay again on September 16th for a work function. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington Peninsular
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

NEW Crown Metropol has Nylon Moisture Liners on top of their NEW Mattresses?? Why do people now pee their BEDS? Be Warned. Feels like sleeping on a Hospital BED@$900 a Night HOT HOT HOT obvious there were cost Cuts' on their New Mattresses, Complaints Are Being Ignored. Our Booking was mixed up. We did not get the room that was offered at the time of booking. Entry is was like a Freezing Blow Hole. Monday morning 1 hour wait for a Taxi. Extra fold up bed never arrived. After a night out on the town. No Smell or Noise barrier between Bathroom and the main room, only a Wicker Screen. No communication between Metropol staff, or Major restaurants' with Metropol In House Special Offers. We booked out after a 4 night stay, and went elsewhere for a Better Nights Rest.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

My 3 daughters and daughter in law took me to Melbourne for a surprise birthday weekend and we spent the last night at your lovely hotel. We would recommend it as luxury plus, we were on the 22nd floor and had beautiful view and extremely quiet. Furnishings were just beautiful and super clean and modern. Service was first class, nothing was ever any trouble. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

The reception area was FREEZING cold with a massively cold wind blowing through the front doors as we queued. There's also a huge pillar right in front of the reception desk...who in their right mind designed that? I felt so sorry for the guys doing the parking & luggage as in their little stylish jackets in the middle of a Melbourne Winter they looked completely frozen! THEY NEED PROPER WARM JACKETS. Apart from my concern for the staff...reception was courteous and efficient. I HATED the room. Again who designs a room with sliding partitions that has the bathroom completely open to the bedroom?...I don't 1. want toilet smells and sounds wafting into the bedroom 2.I don't want my husband showering to disturb me whilst I am still sleeping and 3. I don't want the light from the bathroom shining in my eyes whilst I am in bed. Why is the bathroom and toilet surrounded by curtains?...I felt like I was in the emergency department of a hospital...was this the disabled room? It was just horrible. I also hated the restaurant for breakfast...we were placed up the top on some sort of platform area away from everything else and they forgot us there re serving tea and coffee. The windows look onto a car wash. Food was nice enough. I can't imagine why anyone thinks it's great...it simply isn't. p.s. the bed was comfy, the room large, but the lighting again is atrocious...why does one have to be a Rhodes scholar to figure out which switch does what?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayjay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing