We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a great stay, convenient for work and everything else that Melbourne has to offer. Close to Crown but that little distance makes a difference especially for the Casino. Loved the SkyBar - great view and ambience - the log fire was fantastic as it was a little cold one night. Staff provided great, courtesy and helpful service. Highly recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haywardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,504 - 2,510 of 3,984 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed 2 nights mid week. Rooms spacious, and beautifully appointed. Very quiet rooms with block out curtains. Pleasant and helpful staff. Although busy it didn't take long to check in. We were also able to stay until 11 am check out. Definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback and thrilled that you had a relaxing time at our hotel.
The block out curtains are definitely a welcome luxury when needing a sleep-in.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Crown Metropol was the perfect location for our overnight stay to see a show. The room was ideal and all what we needed. Look out for internet deals on their website because we got a great rate. Everything is in walking distance. Crown complex is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Your comments are greatly appreciated.

It sounds like you had a great overnight stay!

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Shocked that this is currently only #20 of the best hotels in Melbourne - I found it to be exquisite!

Check in was a very pleasant experience, and the rooms that we were in on the 15th floor (one a twin and the other a Queen) definitely had the WOW factor - we were speechless in terms of how impressed that we were.

Room amenities were fantastic, and amongst the best that I've seen, though I couldn't help but wish for a more accessible plug socket near to the bed for mobile phone charging.

Breakfast in room was nothing special, and a little disappointing - though I did only order it on the one morning when I was off on an early morning excursion and needed to eat beforehand. Service was very prompt and courteous.

Didn't get chance to try the swimming pool, every time I went up there were always kids mucking about in there, but it has to be the pool with the best view that I've ever seen. Instead, I enjoyed the vitality pools in the changing rooms, which were super relaxing!

Cannot find anything really to fault this hotel on, and I will definitely be staying again next time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Being high up may be a bonus to you, but unless you're facing the river, you're only going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Firstly, in regards to your breakfast experience, I offer my sincere apologies.
I can assure you this feedback has been shared with our chef.

In saying that, it is always pleasing to read that our guests will definitely be back!
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room on 17th floor. Room has a modern and inviting feel with two comfortable queen beds. After reading reviews on here about the sliding partition bathroom, I was a little worried about privacy, however I found the bathroom to be beautifully accessorised and the frosted doors that completely close off toilet and shower to be more than enough. We made sure we went up and used the pool area, which was wonderful!! The change room also have a steam shower which we didn't use as we had children. I could have spent hours relaxing beside the pool on the lounges just taking in the view of the city, but we ran out of time. A great hotel, will visit again!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank JJJakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review.

The pool is by far one of the star attractions of the Hotel.
Located on the 27th floor, the view is amazing!

It was great to read that you and the family enjoyed the time with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here last week for a work conference. Rooms are excellent quality - very clean and well presented.

Didn't get much time to use the facilities, but it all looked very nice especially the pool area - overall, the Hotel is very good and the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pie_boy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback.
It was great to read that you enjoyed the room and location.

Hopefully we get to see you on a leisure trip next time, and you can take advantage of the facilities!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Why spend $380 a night at The Langham when you get the same here & possibly better for $250? Only disappointment was there was no bath. So my baby had to get washed in the basin. Mr Hive restaurant had the MOST tasty food I've eaten for a while.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bird W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us!

In regards to baths, we do have them available in our loft suites.
Otherwise, please let us know next time and we would be more than happy to organise a babies bath for you.

Thank you also for the feedback about our food, our chef will be very happy to hear it!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
2,535 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,426 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,775 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $175 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing