We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights mid week. Rooms spacious, and beautifully appointed. Very quiet rooms with block out curtains. Pleasant and helpful staff. Although busy it didn't take long to check in. We were also able to stay until 11 am check out. Definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback and thrilled that you had a relaxing time at our hotel.
The block out curtains are definitely a welcome luxury when needing a sleep-in.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,946
    1,016
    291
    106
    66
See reviews for
571
1,369
114
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Crown Metropol was the perfect location for our overnight stay to see a show. The room was ideal and all what we needed. Look out for internet deals on their website because we got a great rate. Everything is in walking distance. Crown complex is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Your comments are greatly appreciated.

It sounds like you had a great overnight stay!

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Shocked that this is currently only #20 of the best hotels in Melbourne - I found it to be exquisite!

Check in was a very pleasant experience, and the rooms that we were in on the 15th floor (one a twin and the other a Queen) definitely had the WOW factor - we were speechless in terms of how impressed that we were.

Room amenities were fantastic, and amongst the best that I've seen, though I couldn't help but wish for a more accessible plug socket near to the bed for mobile phone charging.

Breakfast in room was nothing special, and a little disappointing - though I did only order it on the one morning when I was off on an early morning excursion and needed to eat beforehand. Service was very prompt and courteous.

Didn't get chance to try the swimming pool, every time I went up there were always kids mucking about in there, but it has to be the pool with the best view that I've ever seen. Instead, I enjoyed the vitality pools in the changing rooms, which were super relaxing!

Cannot find anything really to fault this hotel on, and I will definitely be staying again next time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Being high up may be a bonus to you, but unless you're facing the river, you're only going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Firstly, in regards to your breakfast experience, I offer my sincere apologies.
I can assure you this feedback has been shared with our chef.

In saying that, it is always pleasing to read that our guests will definitely be back!
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room on 17th floor. Room has a modern and inviting feel with two comfortable queen beds. After reading reviews on here about the sliding partition bathroom, I was a little worried about privacy, however I found the bathroom to be beautifully accessorised and the frosted doors that completely close off toilet and shower to be more than enough. We made sure we went up and used the pool area, which was wonderful!! The change room also have a steam shower which we didn't use as we had children. I could have spent hours relaxing beside the pool on the lounges just taking in the view of the city, but we ran out of time. A great hotel, will visit again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJJakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

The pool is by far one of the star attractions of the Hotel.
Located on the 27th floor, the view is amazing!

It was great to read that you and the family enjoyed the time with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here last week for a work conference. Rooms are excellent quality - very clean and well presented.

Didn't get much time to use the facilities, but it all looked very nice especially the pool area - overall, the Hotel is very good and the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pie_boy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback.
It was great to read that you enjoyed the room and location.

Hopefully we get to see you on a leisure trip next time, and you can take advantage of the facilities!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Why spend $380 a night at The Langham when you get the same here & possibly better for $250? Only disappointment was there was no bath. So my baby had to get washed in the basin. Mr Hive restaurant had the MOST tasty food I've eaten for a while.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us!

In regards to baths, we do have them available in our loft suites.
Otherwise, please let us know next time and we would be more than happy to organise a babies bath for you.

Thank you also for the feedback about our food, our chef will be very happy to hear it!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived at Crown Metropol to be greeted by really friendly staff members, from the valet, to reception staff. A gentleman greeted my husband with birthday congratulations and proceeded to tell me that we'd been upgraded to a suite!! I couldn't believe it. Our room no. was 1935 and we could not have been happier - gorgeous views across the river, city and bay. A little later on, upon returning to our suite, there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a box of chocolates. We were thrilled. Thank you. Later on again, we returned to our room to find our bed turned down and chocolates again by our pillow. When we checked out, there was a car freshener attached. Now yes, these would not cost a lot, but it's not about money that I'm writing. To be treated like this, when there's nothing for the Hotel to gain, is to make two everyday people feel incredibly special and looked after. So often, we hear of 'noteworthy' people, who expect certain privileges, or make demands on Hotel staff. I believe, that it's the little things in life that go such a long way and we appreciated every single touch Crown Metropol offered us.

I chose Crown Metropol, as we were going on the Tram Restaurant for dinner (right opposite) and also because after much research of the surrounding hotels, this one appealed. The staff were nothing but friendly and helpful. The valet parking attendant was lovely (and I believe every single staff member is important), the reception staff were efficient, friendly, courteous and warm. We ate at Mr. Hive's Café and again, the staff were attentive and friendly. We used the pool and felt comfortable and relaxed. Our suite was spotless, beautifully presented and decorated. We sat on the floor by the window and watched the world go by.
Yes it can be expensive, the Day Spa particularly so, but we loved our stay at Crown Metropol.
People don't take enough time these days to pay a compliment, we had the BEST time. Thank you for all those little touches that may be insignificant to others, but for us, meant the world to our stay.

Room Tip: High floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyse-Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
What an absolutely lovely review.

I am so pleased that you had a great time, and enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
You can be assured that I have personally shared your review with the whole team here at Metropol.

Thank you!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing