We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #26 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything we wanted and more!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

What a brilliant hotel, we LOVED it! The location is great and the rooms/facilities are impossible to fault. The servie and staff are not just nice, they're fantastic and routinely went of their way to interact with our children and help in any way. Great hotel and we will return frequently.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDavies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    1,120
    319
    122
    71
See reviews for
647
1,532
126
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Crown Metropol to get away from our hectic hometown on the Mornington Peninsula. The hotel was everything we were looking for from the minute we stepped out of our car. Valet service went above and beyond, check in staff very welcoming and explained all of the features very clearly and competently. I highly recommend choosing the Sky High Package which includes '28' access. We enjoyed pre dinner drinks, a beautiful breakfast and a view to die for. Our room was stunning and really had the 'wow' factor, the bed and pillows were a real treat. The pool was also a knockout. The biggest pro for us were the staff at Crown Metropol, particularly those who served us at 28 with a friendly smile and an ability to make you feel important and welcome. We thank you and look forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The building is a stunning highrise. The rooms are floor to ceiling glass with great views over the city and river. The rooms are spacious with large comfortable beds. The bathrooms are ultra chic with sliding panels to open it up to the room if desired. Room service was efficient and excellent. There is a problem with the number/frequency of the lifts, especially when your room is on a high floor, and sometimes there were not enough staff on the front desk. The swimming pool and spa was lovely, and the bar on the top floor a good location for a pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times before, this stay was on a Monday night and we got a great price online. It was very busy at check in at 2pm and we were told our room was not ready yet which was a bit annoying as we had our bags with us. The hotel stored our bags for us which was good while we filled in time at the casino. Luckily it didn't take too long and we received a text that our room was ready which was a nice touch. Room was great as always, staff very friendly and valet service very quick to bring out the car in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm_991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A family stay at this Crown hotel for a milestone birthday for our son. We just love this location as it has everything that you could want from the Village cinemas, to the choices for dining from very casual to something a little more special. The hotel has the comfiest beds, amenities in the room are plentiful, fab. views, huge showers with the best water pressure which is a huge plus. Ice is just down the hallway, everything at your fingertips. I struggled with all the technical gadgets but the younger ones knew what to do. Staff couldn't be more helpful and pool and common areas were 'awesome' with views! Definitely have the market cornered & highly recommended.

Room Tip: 'Make sure you put your 'do not disturb button on' and lock on as housekeeping are keen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacckieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've been travelling a lot for business lately so was thriled to finally stay at a hotel that caters for both WORK and PLAY! Lets start with....PROS - Great location, just a quick walk to some of the best shops and restuarants in the city, massive modern rooms with floor to ceiling windows, great views, big bathroom and shower area, quiet, block-out blinds so you can have a sleep-in in a pitch dark room, and great room service food. Also loved the top floor breakfast/bar area. Well worth the additional investment. Unfortunately i didnt have time to use the pool etc but it looked amazing. Oh - and enough power outlets for a business traveller!! Miracle!! CONS - some of the paint on the bedroom wall was a little scratched. But thats it!. That was the only downside I could find. I went in with no expectations and was really really happy. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Funky hotel...lovely room, groovy pool with great views as you float around! roof top bar has also great views especially at night. Nice touch to have a bottle of champers & chockies delivered to our room whilst were out ( for our birthday!) staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipanny2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,403 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,450 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing