We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Check in was smooth, friendly staff . Had the city luxe king room on level 22. Large modern room with nice view of the city. Swimming pool was nice although it was packed with children and we were unable to swim. Express check out forms had to be filled downstairs in the lobby. Other hotels slip express checkout under the door or enable one to check out on the Tv.. I found check out to be behind the times.. Bed was comfortable however the pillows were terrible. Room was very quiet. Great location and lots of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff-Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved my stay at the crown metropol!! I went with my mum and in our room we had 2 extremely large beds (im assuming super kings) with lots of fluffy pillows!, the rooms were great I couldn't find a fault in the so spacious although our room's view was down onto a construction site I honestly couldn't care because everything else was so great! Crown Metropol also had great gym facilities on the top floor so you got an excellent view whilst working out! and the pool looked wonderful (although I didn't have time to go in). The staff were also wonderful, and eager to help you with any queries!

For me the highlight of this hotel was the breakfast buffet, I am most definitely a foodie it was a breakfast buffet like no other everything imaginable was there from fresh fruit to pastries to pancakes to eggs how you wanted them to a variety of fresh squeezed juices! Even the pancake section was impressive with a variety of gourmet toppings including freshly whipped vanilla bean cream, freshly toasted nuts and much more. Also once you gather your food and sit down at your table waiters come to your table and you can order any and however many coffees of your choice, My latte was great,

Overall I highly recommend the crown metropol! it was one of the best hotel I have ever stayed at,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amiee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a work conference, and was very impressed. I was worried about the bathroom from pictures I had seen as I was sharing a twin room with a colleague, but there are sliding partitions that can be used for more privacy.

The beds were extremely comfortable and I would like to buy their pillows. The room was also very dark with good block out curtains. The only issue we had with the room was that the air con unit was quite noisy.

The pool was the real highlight. I hadn't packed a swimsuit given I was there for work, but once I saw the pool, I went out and bought one, and then got up very early so that I could swim before the conference.

I would love to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a conference and was very impressed with this hotel.
Foyer was stylish and bright and reception staff were friendly.
King Room was beautifully decorated with black and cream modern furniture. Bathroom was fresh and clean with frosted glass cubicles for shower and toilet. Screens slid away to open up bathroom to bedroom.
Room was on the 14th floor, however did overlook the car park.
Please take the time to visit the gym and pool on 27th floor - great facilities and great views. Plenty of cardio machines, weights area and stretch area.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank IanKAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is a great place to see bustling Melbourne for the first time!

The hotel has a very modern feel and is located a fantastic area close to all the restaurants in Southbank.

The pool has fantastic views of Melbourne, although get in early if you would like one of the sun loungers as it does get busy!

I slept well when I stayed here and wasn't disturbed at all - a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel has a modern trendy feel to it with minimalist decor. The reception staff were most welcoming and the room was extremely well appointed. It was Gold Cup week and so the social areas were very busy with race goers - but this all lent to the atmosphere of the place. It was hard to find a spot to swim but the infinity pool has to be experienced - high up and with a helicoptor flying past the window made it all a bit surreal!
Drinks on 28th floor gave you the choic eof sitting round the 'open fire' or by the window with a terrific city panorama. Great to sit for casual late supper - very attentive waiting staff.
Easy stroll along to other amenities in the city south bank area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Crown Metropol is my favourite Melbourne hotel alongside the Park Hyatt across town. The service, décor and location are excellent. The only imperfections are the lack of a bath in standard rooms and low(ish) water pressure through the shower. Also, the bed coverings are a weird combination of loose sheets and duvet, which is not to my liking but only a minor irritation.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBurrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 162 in Melbourne
2,485 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 162 in Melbourne
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,694 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 162 in Melbourne
3,708 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $186 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing