We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a couple of nights. Much promised but really this hotel is a standard deluxe style hotel, nothing more. Far from the luxury promised. We had a Deluxe King room with a city view which was well appointed but nothing special. Location is great as is the downstairs restaurant - the food was exceptional and relatively well priced.

Service is AAA class with very friendly and responsive staff, but other than that was a bit of a disappointment to be honest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markylush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,696 - 2,702 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A great 5 star experience. Huge spacious rooms with great views. I have stayed here a few times now and it's always great. One of hr few hotels also with a great breakfast bar. Great hotel for business stay or romantic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spot1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had the very great pleasure to stay at the Crown Metropol for two nights while on a business trip. Who lucky was I?? Very! The check in staff were exceptional, even the staff I encountered in the lift made sure I was taken care of and also asked how much more the could do. While it is a good 10 minute walk to all the best of Melbourne CBD if you walk the "right way" you get to see and feel the best of Melbourne SouthBank, the Crown Casino and the fabulous Yarra River. The room was large enough to feel like home and the bed was so big I couldn't decide which way I should sleep. The only problem was the room felt a little 'stuffy'. It was difficult to get the aircon temp right, but a minor complaint. I did use the gym and it was outstanding, enough equipement and a great view. The 28 bar was good, though service on a Monday night was very very very slow. Overall, would go back again and next time swim in the awesome pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, everything is immaculate. The room was large and had everything you could need. The location was fantastic, the casino, Southbank and South Wharf all on your doorstep, no need for taxis or a car, even the city centre is only a short stroll away. The pool and spa area is amazing, the infinity edge pool overlooking the city is great and the lounge area is the perfect spot to relax and unwind. Plenty of restaurants and bars, which again are a short walk away. The only negative for us was the breakfast, I like the all you can eat buffet but the cost was far too high, especially for a family of three. We weren't advised of the cost prior to the breakfast either, so felt tricked into paying it. Other than that it was a great night in the city and we have already rebooked to go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ausietravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love this hotel and no matter how many times we say we should try somewhere else, we always return. Perfect location, great decor, comfy beds. Only downside is that there is no discount to have breakfast within the hotel. Wold be ideal to eat at Mr Hives however it is very expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harral1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel room was great, beds are comfy and the it was very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and go out of their way to help you.
Although a little pricey, it's worth it. You don't need to go anywhere else in Melbourne if you don't want to. It really is a little city within the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least once a month and I love the hotel it's kept up to 5 star standards. The pool has amazing views and is very relaxing to sit in the spa when it's not full of kids. The only downfall is the Mr. Hive breakfast which is not good at all and we always walk over to crown to have the amazing buffet breakfast there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beezloveslux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 162 in Melbourne
2,485 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 162 in Melbourne
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 162 in Melbourne
3,707 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing