We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, but!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent 5 nights in city luxe room. The room was spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. The city views from our 12th floor room were nothing of note and mainly looked out over an adjoining roof top carpark. The daily fresh apples delivered to our room was a nice touch and the staff members involved were great. Our check-in was a little impersonal with seemingly no attention being paid to our booking; we needed to remind the staff member of our upgrades which were part of the booking. We are still unsure if we were given the right room or not. Unfortunately our daily room service was always very late in the day, even though we had the make up room light on from about 8.30 am every day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,879)
There are newer reviews for Crown Metropol Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,674 - 2,680 of 3,879 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Crown metropol, great location, friendly staff and stunning views from the pool. We stayed in a twin room as we had the kids - enough space, comfy beds... Only downside was the view as we had requested a high floor city view but by 5pm checkin all the rooms with 'good views' had gone (we got a partial bay view instead on floor 14). It didnt really bother us as we spent most of our time in the pool which is just one of the most stunning we have seen in all hotels. It is the hotel selling point.
Noticed the paneling on the wall in bathroom had chipped marks..but otherwise very clean and modern.
We wouldn't recommend room service our kids ordered ice cream sundaes that cost $16 each and were served in a small drinking glass. We would have rather paid $32 for a gourmet dessert out somewhere instead!

The Mr Hive buffet breakfast was average compared to the Conservatory (crown towers). We felt as though there wasn't much variety at Hive and there were long waits for the hot buffet, and it seemed they weren't keeping up with the flow as lots of things had run out (this was around 9am)

Highly recommend The Merrywell upstairs across the road for dinner and lovely views to watch the crown fire shooters on the hour. Book a table upstairs outside - any weather, it's just beautiful.
All in all a great stay but if it wasn't for the pool we would say this hotel is over priced.
The pool has the wow factor.
We'd stay again with the kids, but we would have breakfast in the conservatory or kitchen workshop instead.
For romance I'd pick crown towers, but if you have the kids pick metropol for the pool!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovemelb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed here for two nights and we opted the luxe king room.I made a special request to give us a room with city view as it was our anniversary.To my surprise they gave us a room with incredible city view on 25th floor!! Staff were really polite and professional. Check in was smooth and quick.We also received a complimentary bottle of wine.

Our room was very clean,spacious and have modern decor.Bed was super comfy. Bathroom was funky and stylish. The heated pool was simply amazing with views of Melbourne which u cant beat.You really don't need to get out of the complex for anything.You have everything you need inside the Crown complex- Restaurants,bars ,casino& shopping.The buffet breakfast from Mr Hive Kitchen and Bar was yummy.

The hotel location is very central and convenient. I would definitely recommend this place.We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The Metropol was excellent. The rooms very clean and nicely decorated. They have a fast check out option if you don't want to wait in line and it was always easy to get a taxi.
The pool is amazing- great views! And the level 28 club area was fantastic (although I don't think it's worth an extra $60 per night). Anyone can pay to use it after 12pm- worth a look!
The only downside with this hotel is if your traveling with a friend. The bathroom is open plan with Japanese type screens so it doesn't make it very private and can be awkward when u need to go to the toilet!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzAdventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Was really pleasantly surprised, lovely room on 23 floor with great sun rise and sun set views over Melbourne clean with all the bits and pieces you expect

Highlight was the gym and pool just amazing pool on 27 floor at sunset is a must do! Very well equipped gym too, if outdoor running is your thing there are nice runs on your doorstep

Location is perfect for crown casino not so much if you want to be in the thick of the city (nice) 10 min walk to town

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very special place to stay. From the service, to the foyer, to the corridors, to the room, to the pool..... everything is modern, upmarket, chic.... and just special.

The rooms are fantastic, very luxurious. The floor to ceiling windows were special. The bathroom is funky.

The pool up the top of the hotel was awesome. When you walk in you get greeted by staff, it feels like your entering a day spa. There was a large spa in the mens change rooms, and a sauna as well. Very impressive facilities.

Its a must do!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Crown Metropol for work, and was really impressed with it. The rooms were lovely, really comfy bed, the 28 Bar upstairs was great for a debrief and quiet drink at the end of each day, and the pool was great for a dip at the end of my stay. I would love to go back and stay there with my partner and enjoy the comforts under more relaxed circumstances, and enjoy everything that the Metropol has to offer.

Room Tip: The King Luxe room was fantastic, plenty of room to spread out, have a couple of guests for drinks...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
2,465 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,369 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,474 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 160 in Melbourne
3,682 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $198 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing