We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a long weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by the facilities and the quality of the rooms. Beds were comfortable and all facilities were excellent in particular the infinity pool on the 27th floor. The gym was a good size and for once had decent equipment.

The location was a bit further than I usually like to stay from the city, but with the connecting buildings and walkways, you don't notice at all that you are a few blocks back from the river.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and I think its a great location for a melbourne getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehogg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,778 - 2,784 of 3,962 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel, which is part of the Crown complex of malls, hotels, restaurants and casinos on the river, is super modern and stylish from the lobby sculpture to the spectacular rooftop pool. I was here 6 nights for a conference and it was smooth and comfortable the entire time. Large room with dramatic floor to ceiling windows and fabulous city views. Open plan design around the bathroom area with sliders and blinds. Very quiet and clean. I would have changed only 2 things: there are no tubs in regular rooms, and after a 27 hour journey I would like to have had a tub. And the daily maid service is surprisingly slow. Even if you leave on the modern lighted sign asking for the room to be made up, it often doesn't happen until 4pm or later. Otherwise, no issues, and fully recommend. It's also perfectly located for the riverside.

Room Tip: Go high up for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwriterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My partner and i stayed at the crown for an extra long weekend. We initially loved the kitch style of the rooms and the great location but several factors left us with a sour taste of our Metrolpol stay.
These factors:
1. No breakfast included in a pricey stay
2. No decent lounge area
3. Staff service sucks (apart from front reception staff and cleaners)
4. Internet was an exorbitant extra $25-$30 per day
5. Rooms service menu and food was lousy

If location is all you are concerned about however this place is a winner. Management just needs to get a firm grip on some serious shortcomings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have always stayed at Crown Towers but got a great deal on Metropol via the secret deals on Wotif. I will always stay at Metropol from now on instead of Crown Towers. The rooms are very similar in size and are of the same quality. The staff and service re the same as Towers. Location is just as good it's just the other end of the Casino (right near the cinemas). Considering Metropol is approx 40% cheaper it is amazing value compared to the Towers. I highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed in 2466 on a trip to attend a concert. We paid $250 a night on a web deal.

Check in was smooth and the operator was friendly. The room (a twin, with two queen beds) was lovely and the view spectacular (over convention and the river).

The bathroom lacked privacy (frosted doors for the shower and toilet were pretty well see-through, and the surrounding sliding doors kept little noise in). Lighting was also terrible for makeup application. There was no bath but the bathroom was of good size.

The gym was really well equipped (multiple of most cardio items, and plenty of weight systems) and the pool AMAZING. It was far more relaxing in the morning/midday, by afternoon it started to fill up with kids practising their 'bombs'

The ice machine on our floor was broken and remained that way for the duration of our stay despite us reporting it daily.

We only at from the hotel (room service) once, meals were mixed in quality/taste.

The hotel was well located, with a walkway on the first floor connecting it to the casino complex. A tram stop was just across the road, or the casino stop a slightly longer walk. The 96 tram made it super easy to get in to the city or St kilda.

Overall I enjoyed my stay but a few factors that should be easily rectifiable stopped it from reaching full marks.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Novocastrian_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked the Crown Metropol on a recommendaton of a friend. I was looking for a Hotel for a special birthday. I was not disappointed. The Hotel is modern, clean and spacious with great Restaurants and shopping at your Fingertips.
The iNFINITY POOL was second to none.The Stunning views of the Melbourne Sky Line and the ambience of he Infinity Pool was soothing and relaxing.
We swam in the Pool in the evening and in the morning and we considered ourselves lucky as we were the only ones in the Pool.It was all about timing.
The Corner Room was very spacious, very quiet with great views towards the Bay and across the Freeway.

Room Tip: Experience swimming in The Infinity Pool at night and in the morning to experience the different moo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonoluluKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very impressive hotel with smooth and professional check-in upon arrival. Room well appointed with all necessary amenities on hand. Great coffee and tea selection. Spacious bathroom, no bath, only shower. Comfortable bed however pillows too soft. House keeping excellent!
Check-out only let down as female staff member seemed inattentive.
Ideal conference rooms. Level 28 great place for views and drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
2,521 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,414 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 161 in Melbourne
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,783 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,744 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $181 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing