We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel @ Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellent quality. Great rooms, spacious and modern. We stayed on 9th floor in a twin share and beds were comfortable, bathrooms modern and of great quality. Nice Decor. Location wise it's directly opposite crown casino complex which can be accessed via a indoor bridge which is great for safety and weather conditions. Close to restaurants at southbank and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniRMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,922 - 2,928 of 4,072 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Despite being part of the Crown gambling complex the Crown Metropol is a very stylish property. It's modern, understated in design and has feature quality amenities and excellent food in the L28 lounge. As we stayed in mid winter the open fire in the lounge was a delightful surprise as was the popular swimming pool on L27 with views over the city. The only downside is the location and the narrow streets around the hotel which makes it difficult to get to when casino patrons are trying to get in or out of the casino car park.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor if possible or you may be looking out on a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

friendly greeting on arrival. no dramas. nice size room and lucky enough to have a view over bay. beds were comfortable. bathroom great size for 3 females. we were within walking distance of national gallery and aquarium. easy access to M1. will stay again next trip to melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruising137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Crown Metropol is a luxurious, sophisticated hotel at the casino end of Melbourne where you can access Crown Casino and the many shops and restaurants there without going outside. A convenient walkway connects both properties. My wife and I spent a special anniversary night there before attending a concert at Hamer Hall and eating out at one of the many restaurants along Southbank. The view over the city from our room on the 23rd flloor at night was spectacular. And there was plenty of room, even a day bed near the window. The king-size bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were first rate. Having cable TV access is another bonus. We took advantage of a late checkout to have breakfast at Cervo, one of the restaurants at Crown. Highly recommended. Just the one complaint. Upon check-in the lovely young man at the desk (was it Peter or David? Not sure) asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and we said it was our anniversary. He immediately hopped on the phone and ordered a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room. We were thrilled and then we waited and waited and waited for the knock on the door . . . and it never came. We didn't expect it but we thought it was a lovely touch. Or it would have been if it arrived. Having said that. For a night of luxury I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with views of the city is spectacular at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massagebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An amazing room, with absolutely everything you would want. Everything is covered. This is a little bit of luxury, at an OK price. The parking was convenient and cheap. The hotel is ideally located, near to everything. The only thing I was unsure about was the fact it was in a massive complex, it felt slightly impersonal with so may things going on n the complex- casino, cinema, shops, entertainment etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend whilst visiting her in Melbourne from New Zealand. She treated us both to a one night stay in an amazing room, in an amazing hotel. We loved the pool facilities hight up in the hotel, we cannot comment on the restaurant or bar in the Hotel as we dined out for both breakfast and dinner. (Note: Cervo, does a great all day breakfast in the Crown Complex). We had an amazing stay however it seemed to both myself and my girlfriend that the staff were not very interactive and talkative. The room itself was amazing and cannot fault anything as it was perfect! Everything else in our stay was great until returning back to collect our bags. We had asked the hotel to look after our bags and left to go out for breakfast as well as a final walk around the area. We returned to find our bags had been moved about two metres. We had been gone for over three hours. Offered no apology except an "ummm, ahhhhh, mmmm, it wasn't there when I came back from my break...." We were offered no apology for this error, all the porters did was look at each other. We then stormed off in anger because we both had a lot of valuables, especially myself as I was heading home to New Zealand. This soured the rest of our day, which would be our last day together for over three months. Really disappointing from a 5* Hotel with a simple error which was made worse with no apology. We expected better.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room which has two sides with large windows and high floor for excellent views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

On a previous visit to the Metropol, we were left dissapointed by a range of factors that didn't go according to plan. Upon voicing the concerns to the General Manager, we decided to return at a later date to see if our initial experience was just a "once off".

Indeed it was, and it is a credit to GM Harley Moriatis and his team at Crown Metropol that our experience was completely turned around upon our second visit. We were able to look past the unfortunate events that marred our first stay and enjoy the hotel for what it is; a stylish, well appointed, well positioned and sophisticated offerring within easy reach of all that the city has to offer. We stayed on the club level and enjoyed the magnificent views of a corner room that stretched across the city and to the bay, in a modern and stylish room that rivalled the space of some inner city apartments I've visited!

I'd highly recommend staying on the club level, which gives guests access to the club lounge and breakfast on Level 28. Although the club is different in arrangement to some we've experienced such as the Hyatt and Intercontinental, it is still a nice added bonus. As opposed to having a separated club room, it entitles guests to drinks and refreshments within the bar area that other guests and visitors can also access. The breakfast on level 28, which I presume is only available to club level patrons, was a delightful experience. This left some of the 5 star buffet breakfasts that we've experienced for dead. Instead of watery and stodgy food sat out for hours on end, the produce and offerrings seemed fresh and were delicious. The view made the experience all the more enjoyable, whilst the serenity and quiet of the environment (welcomed after a large night prior) made it an excellent place to start the day.

Many thanks to Harley and all the staff who made our visit an excellent one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
2,596 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,506 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,056 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,893 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing