We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Took my daughters for their birthday.
Had a nice view of river and bay. Big windows. Beds and pillows comfortable.
Clean and tidy. Lots to explore in and around hotel. Easy walk to aquarium.
No free wifi and was expensive.

Room Tip: Luxe twin has 2 queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisin07cruising137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,810 - 2,816 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the motel a few times, always on business, it seems to have evolved from being a nice place to stay for an overnigter for the business traveller, to having truck loads of overseas tourists, will find a less chaotic place next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthling1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from 30/6/13, as we have done on a number of previous occasions.
We were impressed (as usual) with the hotel's presentation, and efficiency & friendliness of staff. We dined at Mr Hive's, as well as dining in-room (twice). The quality of food was superb. We are delighted to be able to stay here for 5 more nights next week. We love the location because of its proximity to the shops, and the number of shops and excellent restaurants inside the complex itself.

Room Tip: It would be difficult to not like any room in our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pioneer123Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My daughter and I LOVED this hotel. Location, service, beds, view, room all outstanding. The pool is amazing, such a stunning set up and views to city, Yarra and the bay, just incredible! Love the floor to ceiling windows throughout. We were pleasantly surprised at the cost of parking, forget valet parking just use the multi story, very close and cheap. Only down side is the ridiculous hold they require, $100 per day. I get the need for this but it should be reasonable, $100 that carries over when unused and further required if it is used .... They have your card details etc. this makes it unaffordable and eats into your spending money. Other 5 star ask for $50 to $100 per stay, eg The Grand Hyatt is $50. Only other comment is the use of a standard shower head in a new beautifully appointed bathroom area, just out of place. We enjoyed our 3 nights of luxury and would love to return but the high "bond" charged will be a consideration as we come to Melbourne to shop etc and this eats into our spending money!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jil_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our room was very comfortable. Loved it! Great views of Yarra River and even a peek of the bay. The twin room with two queen beds suited 3 people well. No bath in bathroom, and room is divided by a screen between beds and bathroom. This could be an issue if you are not staying with family. The pool at the top of the building also had amazing views, and was a lovely warm haven on a cold Melbourne day. Lots of families taking advantage of the school holidays to stay at the Metropol with their children. The buffet breakfast at Mr Hive was delicious, but the table service was very poor. On our first morning tables were not cleared at all until patrons had left, on our second morning we had to chase a server after a long wait without being approached to ask for tea/ coffee. Perhaps they are understaffed? Valet parking was brilliant, the guys there were fast and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a great over night escape staying in Loft room. The room has separate lounge area, huge bathroom and superb views to the bay and city. Buffet breakfast at level 28 after a swim in the 25m pool was a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyAusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Crown Metropol. I dont have 1 negative comment. Stayed in Luxe twin room which was spotless and extremely comfortable. My daughter and husband took full advantage of the gorgeous infinity pool on the 27th floor. Staff could not have been more helful. We will certainly stay again. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Parking next door in the public car park costs maximum of $11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 162 in Melbourne
2,485 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 162 in Melbourne
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 162 in Melbourne
3,707 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing