We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant. New, Clean, Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Brilliant. New, Clean, Great value.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here while at a conference at Jeffs Shed.
Booked last minute via the Qantas.com website (Was cheaper than the price quoted by the hotel direct)
$250 a night with some great Qantas Freq Flyer points as well.
Is linked via an internal walkway to the Crown complex, much appreciated when you don't want to brave the cold/wet Melbourne weather.
Had booked a standard room, but seemed to get some special Spa room, was down the end of a corridor in the spa complex area. Room was enormous, clean, modern, quite, great views.
Check in was efficient. Is walking distance to Jeffs Shed.
(Had a lovely dumpling dinner at a chinese place in the Crown complex)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therockjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,175
    1,121
    319
    122
    71
See reviews for
649
1,532
126
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided to stay in town instead of driving all the way back to the peninsula, what a nice surprise when we got a room at the Metropol at Crown. Great service, great room and bar28 on the top floor, Wow!, The people were very helpfull, the rooms very stylish. Prices were better than I thought they would be. Do yourselves a favour and take the opertunity to spoil yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our second stay at Crown Metropol, this time over the June long weekend and it was even better than our first stay. Even with the busy bookings, our room was ready when we arrived at 11.15am, check-in and out very efficient with no waiting and very friendly and welcoming staff. Central spot and easy tram ride or walk to most places. Lots of wonderful places to eat around the complex although the breakfast at Mr Hives kept us going most of the day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummaBear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wonderful service, fantastic check in and out, location perfect to all areas we needed to attend, friendly helpful staff, beautiful room with a view, clean and fresh, so many restaurants and cafes blues buy, child friendly, security great, beds comfortable, showers size excellent and I can highly recommend Isika Day Spa, My massage experience was one to remember for a while, thanks Crown Metropo for making our 4 day City stay a memorable one, an overall fantastic experience :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaSteveMegTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice hotel but the service was poor. We stayed here for just the one night, really looking forward to the hotel. Service was not great. It was as if we were interrupting the front desk staff by checking in. Not a great first impression.

The room itself was lovely - but would have given 4 stars if there was a bath. The view was AMAZING.

Overall very average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woohooyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice stay here on the weekend. Nice clean rooms and great service. Also its conneted to the entertainment complex so we had a good time with the family and didnt even have to go outside in the cold.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samsonite_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had always favoured the Docklands Hilton to stay during our weekends in Melbourne. The Crown Metropol is now our favourite by a long way. Things we love: it is a relatively new hotel; its rooms are really generous; the infinity pool with unobstructed views of the city (including plunge pool and daybed area) is amazing; the bathroom amenities are great; the location is very convenient; the restaurants are superb; the staff are genuinely friendly. We had breakfast up on the 28th floor - really good.

The only draw back is the pillows (we just don't like feather/down pillows). That said, we were having too much fun there to consider requesting a latex one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WheresDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,405 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,292 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,450 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing