We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey hotel, quiet room, great facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #33 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for four days and was very impressed with the service and facilities. The rooms are large and well equipped and the king size bed was extremely comfortable with good sized pillows. The room has a coffee table, desk and lounge with a flat screen tv. The bathroom was spacious, including the shower cubicle, but the shower head was so high and small that long haired guests might find hair washing a bit of a task! More than one shower towel each would have been helpful. Bizarrely there was no toilet brush so you would imagine that the toilet would be bleached each day. It wasn't!

All staff were friendly and helpful, especially the doormen at the outside of the hotel but there didn't seem to be an actual concierge on duty at all times, just whoever happened to call you through from the, at times, queue of people waiting to checkin/out at reception, on the 28 line, therefore their knowledge was limited, however they did endeavour to check information.

Booked one day at level 28, the Skybar, for breakfast with complimentary tea/coffee throughout the day and pre-dinner drinks from 5.30pm. Canapés would have been nice and while the Turkish bread and small bowls of dip were tasty, only one portion seemed a bit miserly, however the waitress went off to check and appeared with another portion of bread after consultation with the kitchen!

The level 27 pool and gym area was spotless and well run, a clock in reception would negate the need for every guest to ask the time when signing in to the pool. The 38 degree plunge pool was lovely and very relaxing. There were more than enough pool loungers and day beds to accommodate pool users while change rooms, steam room and spa were likewise spotless with plenty of towels provided and staff were pleasant and helpful. This area can also be utilised after check out, which is great for those with late day/evening flights or connections.

The hotel's reception area was spacious but lounges and chairs were not particularly comfortable, I suppose to dissuade people from hanging around too long. One lounge, in particular was extremely well worn and looked very grubby indeed and definitely needs upholstery attention.

One drawback: this hotel does not offer FREE Wifi which doesn't match its provision of five star service to customers, in this age of technology. Very disappointing.

Overall our experience of the hotel was excellent and well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,970 - 2,976 of 3,959 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We travelled as a family of 4 adults and 1 child (2 years old) for a night away to the cbd.

I requested 2 interconnecting rooms when the booking was made and then closer to the date rang to confirm this request had been organised on two different occasions and both times, it wasn't! Luckily we arrived early at the hotel and it was all sorted at the front desk.

The pool area is gorgeous and has an amazing view even though the night we stayed it was packed full of people.

Close walking distance to trams, trains, food and everything else you may require on a trip to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Up high with a view of the cbd - we were in rooms 1466/1467 and they had some views to the Yarra riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for one night with 2 kids in a luxe twin room. We had a great stay. From check in to check out staff were helpful and courteous. We had valet parking in our room rate so that also added to the ease of our stay. Rooms were large and comfortable and spotless. Really quiet although fully booked. Towels, robes and toiletries all of good standard. Only negative was big shower space but small shower head so not as much water as i would have liked, but getting picky now ! We were given a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates which I assume was due to my mention of my husbands birthday on booking. Pool fantastic( and staff happy for us to use even after check out ) with the most amazing views.Gym great. Spa and steam rooms a bit hidden away in respective genders dressing rooms.
Overall a great hotel, with many resturants just a short stroll away.

Room Tip: We had room on 21 st floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelO784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time staying at the Metropol. We found that the service we received was still to through same excellent standard that we received in earlier stays
This is the first time we had stayed at the Metropol after working all day.We checked in and thought it would be lovely to have a swim as we were staying on a day before a public holiday there were quite a few families staying here and the pool area (which is great) was quite full.My wife had previously used the spas at the Metropol and said she was going to have a spa.
i said I would to I went and found the spa. The spa area had a huge steam room opposite a spa which had massage beds in the spa area. Within 5 minutes the hard day at work was forgotten. Another great stay at Crown Metropol had begun.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel and very new and modern. We did not get to experience much since we were only there for a night as it was a gift from a friend. They allowed us to checkout late - we checked in at 2am - which was nice. Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms modern and clean. On the downside, you have to pay for parking (which isn't cheap, especially when you've forked out so much for the room - luckily in this case, it was my poor friend). Other than that, we cannot say much since we did not stay long enough.

Room Tip: Sorry - did not stay long enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Within steps of the river, city, business, bars and restaurants, the Crown Metropol stands with views over Melbourne, which can be enjoyed from bedrooms, the top floor bar, but most impressively by the 27th floor infinity swimming pool and hot pool. The pool and spa area also house steam rooms and massage pools and a well equipped gym.
Functional, somewhat quirky and interesting rooms all with views. Beds very comfortable. Everything functioned as it should.
Food was very good, though breakfast pricey. Coffee wonderfully typical of Melbourne, not of a typical international hotel.
Easy access to South Melbourne, and further southern suburbs that are funky and worth a visit for a weekend stroll.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday night after getting a great deal online.
The hotel itself is very modern and appealling to the eye, the curve of the building is a great feature. Check in was pleaseant enough, be warned that they will charge a pre authorisation on your credit card which is released on checkout. (Alot of places do this now, however i am still not a fan). We were upgraded to a City Lux Room on the 25th floor, beautiful views of the city and the bay (just don't look straight down unless you like looking at a huge car park).
Room was great, modern and stylish with a king size bed and flat screen tv. Curtains are remote controlled, so they are either open or closed (no in between). Bathroom is nice, shower and toilet are enclosed in semi see through glass (if you like privacy, maybe not your cup of tea). One thing that is a must for me is a shower head that delivers a strong powerful flow of water, unfortunatley this was not happening. We did not try the pool or the restaurant attached to the hotel (Mr Hive and Kitchen) but they looked nice. The hotel is within the Crown Casino, so if you like gambling this is a good alternative to the Crown Towers or Crown Promenade hotels. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and was pleased with the online deal.

Room Tip: A higher floor is always better, and try to get a City Luxe room as they are a little bigger with ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
2,517 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 161 in Melbourne
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,780 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,737 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $182 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing