We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor Rewiews: 21 Terrible, 32 Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor Rewiews: 21 Terrible, 32 Poor”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I read the "terrible reviews" but thought I would take a chance. When you read some of the terrible reviews you will know what I mean.

The Hotel is brand new and very modern but the design of the rooms is weird. Our room shared the same airspace as the bathroom; all those bad bathroom odours, steam etc can be experienced in the bedroom. Not to mentioned the 90dB hair dryer.

The staff were not particularly friendly and seem to be preoccupied playing with their Motorola radios and not really interested in helping you.

The food was not good. Cheeseburger was not medium rare and my risotto, well I'm not sure what it was.

Crown Metropol is a nice building, modern, great location etc. The view from the rooms are fantastic. It is not as good as the Grand Hyatt which I have already reviewed. I gave it a poor rating because their customer service and food was terrible.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Firstly, thank you for you lovely comments about the property in general however I would like to apologise in relation to the service you encountered and the room service meal you received.

In regard to the bathrooms, they are open plan however we do have frosted glass doors for both the shower and toilet, as well as sliding doors to provide privacy as required. I hope this did not unduly affect your stay, as we would love to have you back with us again.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,154
    1,107
    313
    120
    69
See reviews for
638
1,516
124
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Metropol ..rooms excellent and even didn't mind the view of the roof top car park next door. Housekeeping good and close to all the Crown facilities? We have stayed before and found it just as good then ..staff very friendly

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask for it when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first stay at the Crown Metropol and loved the hotel. Decor was fantastic and rooms were large and comfortable. Loved the comfortable bed and bay views we had from our room. The room and show deal was really good value for money. We stayed on a Saturday night and found the clientele to be quite diverse. I really liked the relaxed approach of the staff. They will still professional but very approachable. Would definitely go back there if we needed to stay in the city again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Might1day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service, staff and facilities were really really good.
Easy check-in.
Great dining options, being connected to the crown complex.
Great modern feel, only needed a bath.
Friendly and helppful staff
Great pool, steam room and gym.
An easy no hassle experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Port_Ind_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The stay at the Crown Metropol was enjoyable from first arriving at reception to a very friendly staff, to checking out with staff who seemed generally concerned I had had a great night. The position of the Metropol is fantastic to all crown facilities as well as a 10min walk into Melbourne CBD. Plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. All in all better value than Crown Towers, and in the same complex.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was my first time staying at a crown complex. The hotel is very modern, clean, good location and swish. It joins with the rest of the crown complex via indoors- you don't have to go outside if you don't want to.
Location- just outside exhibition centre on the south bank.
You can easily walk to Melbourne cbd- will take ~10mins on foot. Pleasant walk if the weather is nice. But I am sure there are plenty of trams near by.
How to get there: from domestic airport- take sky bus from the airport to southern cross station. They have a free shuttle bus to any hotels (that shows on the map). The last bus is 1030pm. Otherwise taxi.
Room: very roomy, chic, and modern. Has an wow factor. Good usage of open space. One thing I was disappointed was the shower heads. I like good showers and this one was so little stream (perhaps they had water saving device on it) therefore was very disappointed- considering all the tap wear were chic.
Great bed/mattress. Plushy feather pillows- if you don't like those, you can ring and get alternative ones. They didn't have memory foam pillows I requested.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
Hotel facility- excellent gym and pool on level 27. The infinity pool was great overlooking the Melbourne city view. Gym, which is located next to the pool, you can workout while overlooking the view. It was fabulous.
Enjoyed the stay at this hotel.
I will be coming back here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacaranda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here because it's close to the convention centre where we were attending a conference. Located in the Melbourne casino complex, it's always busy in the hotel's precinct and the area's nightime energy is certainly high with many of the city's best restaurants next door.
Tripadvisor tips mentioned that we should request an upper floor with a city view so we called the hotel the day before. At checkin we were offered a lower floor and even when we got a room on an upper floor the view was of a carpark! From there on the service standards were approximate and although everyone had a smile for us, attention to detail was certainly missing - the rooms was never made up properly, stationery not replaced, ice buckets not emptied etc.
I'm beginning to resent the 'add ons' from self styled high end accommodation. A late checkout of more than 1 hour carries a service fee and internet access is ++$ per day for an acceptable speed. I expected to be presented with a bill for the air we consumed as we left!
How long has it been that 'smart' hotel fitouts are not user friendly? Too many hotels with lovely large rooms (as they are here) have bathrooms with no bath because they've sacrificed the space for a bath by installing sinks the size of a domestic home's kitchen sink and far too wide benches...and more sliding doors to an open bathroom - give me a break...
This hotel looks good, is value for money, has a wonderful rooftop pool and bar and has large rooms but the 'luxe' appearance of generous space and fittings is hit and miss and not matched by the expeience.
AND if, like us, you are allergic to the casino environment, give it a miss - there's lots of excellent hotel choice in Melbourne.

Room Tip: If you're requesting an upper floor - ask for one that DOES NOT overlook the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,376 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,434 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing