We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“If you want to be near the convention centre this is prime !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want to be near the convention centre this is prime !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fabulous hotel, beautifully appointed, service was excellent, location perfect for the Southgate area as well as the convention centre. Rooms are modern and sleek, a nice change to have a TV that doesn't take forever to get through the channels as well. Rooms are a reasonable size, go down to level 1 and you have shops and the convenience of a walkover to the all crown facilities. 5 min easy walk to the convention centre, lovely breakfast with the best Bircher muesli, scrummy. Only negative was that the hot water wasn't that hot so I just ran it with a touch of cold, if you like a really hot shower this wouldn't cut it for you.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2049 which overlooked Southgate but when you look down you can just see the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cute-Fruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,805
    972
    273
    98
    63
See reviews for
535
1,284
113
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight in one of the ISIKA Luxe room on Level 26 with great views of Melbourne. Check-in was fast and easy. Staff were friendly and very welcoming.

Interiors are very modern and the room spacious, as was the bathroom. Bed and couch was comfy. We had the latest magazines to available to us and I loved the stationary too!

We had breakfast the following day on Level 28 which had amazing views of the city.

Overall, great place to chill out over the weekend and see the world from the top!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy_n_phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited Melbourne for a business leadership seminar in December 2012 for which my company had already made arrangements for the stay and I thank god they chose this gem.

The staff is very supportive and helpful.
Whenever i left my room, either for the seminar or for some sightseeing around the city, I always found my room squeaky clean.
I was surprised when an Indian guy(or at least I think he was) dropped me and my luggage to the room. Way to go for diversity. It really helps if you find someone making you feel at home.

Overall- Kudos to the Hotel management.
P.S. A lot of thought was put into this review as I myself belong to the Hospitality industry and couldn't resist to put my views on the same.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't comment as my room was booked by my company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maverick1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This has got to be one of the best Hotels in Australia. The staff are just so friendly and make for an excellent stay. Will stay here again in the near future.The Concierge is very friendly and will make shore your stay is memorable. Also you are at the Casino if you wish to gamble. There is also public transport at the door or you can walk to most attractions.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagolf4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I thought this hotel was stylistically quite nice particularly if you love that very contemporary look. However there was little substance; although it looked quite nice on the service if you dig a little deeper there was no luxurious element. Things were put in the room to make it look nice rather than for it to be comfortable or to have any real value. Not a great location and you have to walk quite far out of your way to get anywhere. Buffet breakfast room looked nice and had a good selection. Overall I would say that it was nice to look at but not really to stay at. However very good value for money I thought given it is only a few years young and hotels in major cities are not cheap to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here for a second time in January this year after my best friends wedding. The rooms are always clean and modern, check in and check out was easy. The pool area is clean and presentable.The breakfast the next day at Mr. Hive was very good and highly reccommended. Will be staying again in June for a weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephinepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from 5 day stay at crown Metropole.the hotel was great with good facilities and that's where the good ended about being in this complex.Casino security are over bearing/secretive when you request information/smug attitudes especially some clown named Peter the so-called manager.You are expected to gamble without having a drink or any fun for that matter.If you have fun and are consuming alcohol you will be asked to leave unless you are female and not bad looking it seems.For the record the pool is over-chlorinated so if you want a drink don't swim because your eyes end up red and that's a sign you've had too much alcohol.My advice would be go elsewhere for your fun there are much better places as the local's will tell you if you ask.They won't patronise the Crown for all the above reasons

Room Tip: higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raisonhell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is pleasant to read that your stay at the hotel was enjoyable.

In regard to your comments about the pool, the chemical balance is checked 4 times a day. Chemicals are also injected electronically to ensure the correct balance and safety for our guests.

Thank you also for the feedback in relation to security on the casino floor. This has been relayed to our Security Manager for review.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,998 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,870 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,230 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing