We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #33 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, modern unique decor, location is easy walk to everything, great staff so helpful, the pool on level 27 has an incredible view. Recommend you treat yourself to an upgrade to Club 28 magnificent views for breakfast - sunrise over the city, wow - and sunset drinks a perfect way to start the evening. The bed is exceptionally confortable, and the bathrobes dark grey and luxurious, considering you wear them up to the pool, these and the black thongs (instead of the usually white towelling robes and slippers....very practical. Would definitely recommend......

Room Tip: Choose high floor overlooking the city - magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda_cj2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,151 - 3,157 of 4,028 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a good place to stay, ideal location, nice room but the customer service at check-in and out was ordinary at best. When we checked in after a long flight the guy was very keen to upgrade us to a better room for an additional $175 a night. After I declined, he seemed disinterested and gave us electronic keys that didn't work so I had to line up again to get the keys fixed. It wasn't a warm welcome. The hotel has a connection to the Crown complex from the first floor so a fully air conditioned walk to the bars and restaurants and the casino. If you are thinking a James Bond style casino, this ain't it. Dress code is shorts and thongs, aussie beach style. We loved the Common Room bar with it's fantastic bar staff, the Guilliame Bistro with wonderful food and service and the Merrywell pub with the best burgers ever. Check out was another negative. We wanted to leave bags and the guy gave ius wrong directions to do this and didn't bother to ask how our stay was. If you need to leave bags, just walk outside and the staff there are great. So cleaners and baggage staff great, counter staff very poor.

Room Tip: We didn't get a good room unless a view of the carpark is your thing. I took this as punishment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanodong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice surroundings, Pool is amazing! Great Services
Great View. The room was just lovely, and a different design from the normal.
The only down side was,
while trying to sleep the room temperature fluctuates from moderate to hot. Weird !

Room Tip: Ask for high levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raelene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a level 26 room with an excellent city view. I was a little let down with the curtains, fully open and they were covering a third of the windows and great view. It took 2 trips for the handy man to part fix the issue, still with about a quarter of the window space covered. There seemed to be numerous points on the track that weren't right and hence the issue.

Otherwise it was a perfect stay. Check in and out were very fast. Valet was faster than I could have imagined. Bags arrived and left the room very quick. The pool view is spectacular, the actual pool area though was very hot, stuffy and humid. Level 28 lounge and bar is perfect and breakfast there was equally among the best I've had. Plenty of choice and hot dishes that were hot.

Location is great and it's a seamless walk into Crown and Southbank. We stayed on a Fri night and rates were okay, not great but okay. Lookout for Sat rates though, they are ridiculously inflated.

Room Tip: The higher the better. I suspect lower levels may look at walls and carparks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutley251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First and foremost, some of you might've read my last review about another Crown hotel. Just fior fun, I checked to see whether the management's offer to patch thing up was available... nothing on record. So it was either a fob off or Crown's own systems aren't linked.

Anyway, going forward... and I have to say... Metropol... well done team. A marked improvement to the pathetic performance I got from the other Crown hotel. There were things that still irked me about their relatively minor.

The room, it's modern, then again though it's a new hotel. Having said that though, the maintenance teams can pick up their game a little since I can pick a few basic flaws but it's nothing major (I've seen worst at other high price hotels). The room was a decent size and generally quite comfortable. Of the room itself, the only that really irked me, and I can't really think why, were the pillows. Its weird. I had a nice view of the bay (which i preferred anyway).

Of the hotel itself, the pool area's nice and in many ways, it's better situated then the other two thats right near the river. Why? Cause its away from the booze hounds, gambling crowds and the general public. Most won't stick around that area so there's a nicer feel to the place. The pool, as pointed out, is great and it's got a decent gym.

Staff did good and it was the standard that I demanded from a hotel of this caliber. Even when they're under the pump, staff worked well as a team. It's like there's actually some sort of leadership running the place as opposed to Fawlty Towers across the road. Well done team.

The only thing I'll say is that we stayed with our twin babies and on the second night, they loved the room. There was a dispute about the cot hire but that's hopefully being worked out. I'll let you know if otherwise

Room Tip: High floors, get the most out of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great place to stay. Great service and great, huge rooms!

Check-in was effortless, as was check-out. Less than 2 mins at each end!

Pool is excellent! A must do!!

Recommend the bar on level 28 as well!

Only downside (if that) is that it is a little walk away from Flinders St and the main CBD. As someone who generally stays in the main CBD this was a little bit troublesome. However, as the hotel is connected to the main Crown complex there are always things to look at on the walk!

Breakfast was good and includes speciality coffees! There was a large spread and an egg bar. Plenty of staff on hand to help!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the infinity pool on level 27. Get up early for a morning swim and watch sun rise over Melbourne as you do. The rooms and amenities are lovely although a few over a car park is not so great. Breakfast at Mr Hive's on level one is a particularly nice hotel breakfast but is also particularly expensive at $37.50.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a King bed (also giving you a lovely daybed) and not two doubles u...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank larabe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
2,565 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,477 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#85 of 161 in Melbourne
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,969 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,835 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $200 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing