We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Metropol - a sanctuary in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Once again, a return visit to the Crown Metropol lives up to expectations. A warm greeting and a welcome back instantly makes me feel at home. This time I stayed in the Spa Wing - an easy walk upstairs to the pool and spa area means not having to say you're sorry for wearing fluffy bathrobe in the lift. This is bliss. The inifinity pool on Level 27 has to be the best spot in Melbourne, only surpassed by 28 - the rooftop bar in the clouds. You just have to check this place out. I will be back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the spa suites on Level 26 - well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlliInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,171 - 3,177 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed here three times and about to stay a fourth in February. It is the only place I will stay in Melbourne. Design and comfort is second to none and just the pool area is enough to bring you back time and again.

Best to stay in one of the more luxurious rooms, on higher floors because the views are amazing. You can get great deals if you book far enough in advance, so you don't pay the full rate.

The food is marvellous as well and you can walk out of the lift and straight into the shopping complex.

Proximity to Southbank is brilliant.

Room Tip: Higher floors are outstanding, but do cost more. Book well in advance and you can get 25% off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was booked into the Crown Metropol by Melbourne colleagues, bless them! After a long trip a warm welcome and swift check in before arriving at my room on the 22 floor with a view across the Yarra and the city. It was enough to make you turn out the lights and sit back and enjoy. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the use of sliding screens and glass walls in the bathrooms give a sense of even more space. Comfortable bed. For me another big plus was the quiet - a recurring theme in my reviews! Only down side was I had a breakfast meeting so my stay was super short, oh well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirraburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Its not 5 star all the way at this place but then neither was the price we paid. Clearly although some good thought has been put into the property it was done on a little bit of budget as if you look in detail the tiles are cheap and the little bits of furniture are pretty standard as are the bathroom fittings etc. But for a night away in the centre of Melbourne it was a good deal. Our bags did take 35 minutes to reach us and the valet parking at $50 a night a little expensive.It was very clean, comfortable and if the price was right I would stay again.

Room Tip: Plenty of deals available check them out on Kayak before booking I would suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everything here was great! From the exceptional service from the Valet parking staff to the gorgeous room with views over the city and the buffet breakfast.. We only stayed overnight but would love to stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Modern decor with no issues with noise on the 25th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is one of the newer hotels in the Crown chain and it is fantastic for a night out in the city. The rooms while not overly large, are nicely appointed with great beds and a great electronics and entertainment. The room was clean, corridors quiet and the bed super comfy with nice pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamilt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my first visit. I was in Melbourne for business. The hotel is well located to Southbank, the staff were very friendly and I couldn't fault the service. The rooms are first rate and the price reasonable. All other facilities were state of the art.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 162 in Melbourne
2,485 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 162 in Melbourne
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,694 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 162 in Melbourne
3,708 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $186 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing