We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropol does it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
“Metropol does it again!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Crown Metropol and it just gets better. Again the staff could not do enough for us from when we arrived to when we left. We were given an upgrade on arrival which was very much appreciated. The pool area is amazing. My tip would be when you book try and get a deal that includes access to '28'. Well worth it. Cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,154
    1,107
    313
    120
    69
See reviews for
638
1,516
124
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at crown Metropol for 1 night over my birthday weekend after scoring a Wotif.com special. As part of the deal we were "upgraded free" to a city Luxe room.
The room was lovely bed soft and snuggely with everything clean and sparkly.

I was unfortunately a bit let down. This was my first every stay in a 5 star hotel and when we were pointed to the lift and expected to carry our own bags upstairs I was surprised. I tried really hard to be impressed and happy with the special rate we got but at the end of the day we had a view over crown car park and a clean comfy room.

Another quirk of the room was the open bathroom. Don't mind that just the toilet door although opaque was still transparent enough to see people while on the loo.

Maybe I'll have to try some more 5 star hotels so i can fairly judge Crown Metrolpol's performance?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent two nights here. Great swimming pool and views of this wonderful,city. I had a luxe room which is their standard room and very nice, especially the bed and pillows. I had breakfast in the hotel one morning and the scrambled egg was very good, which is quite unusual. The service could have been a bit better though, had to ask for a coffee which was a bit average. Would stay here again, especially for the swimming! 25 metre long so you can actually do lengths.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Loved the feel of the place. Reception quick, rooms clean and sleek, near the Crown shopping mall and wonderful restaurants and the pool unbelievable it is a horizon indoor pool at the top of the hotel. Great location!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first time in Melbourne as tourists. We were a family with 2 children, 5 and 17. What a pleasant surprise!This hotel is part of the massive Crown Entertainment complex with endless possibilities. Shops, casino, movie house, food court, as well as versatile fine dining. It is right on the river bank with a beautiful promenade alongside which we walked all the way to Federation Square. It is also on the tram route of Melbourne's city hop on hop off tram. In addition, just outside the complex we took another tram to St Kilda. Just across Kings Bridge we could get to the Aquarium, so all was within a rich and very convenient as we could do a lot in a short period. For the rooms, ours was very large and spacious with amazing view. Tt is new, tastefully decorated with a state of the art equipment and amenities. Modern in style, it had more than expected, with little extras that made it our favorite hotel in OZ.In addition, there is a rooftop pool, spa, gym and business center. Stuff friendly and helpful. We could not wish for more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

End of October, 2nd trip to Melbourne in 2012 for the Cox Plate and stayed once again at the Crown Metropol. Love the decor of the rooms, only disappointment was the rooms view wasn't as good as first time, hopefully 3rd time lucky it might be a view of the river. Arrived at hotel early morning and only had to wait less than an hour before we were given our keys so could unpack and then hit the shops. All the staff are very friendly and approachable. The view from the pool area is superb. Location is great and you can walk through the complex to other parts of the Crown Complex, great having food court close too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The room was nicely appointed and modern.
The pool is fantastic.

The extras were lacking - ie no free internet (expensive, in fact). Bar closes at 10.
Breakfast was the ordinary style of buffet you'd expect to see in a 2-star hotel - nothing special

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuJo-a-GoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,375 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,434 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing