We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #22 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Modern and sleek, this is the perfect place to stay if you have business at the convention centre, or want o be close to casino and south bank action in Melbourne. Love the large bathroom. Last time I stayed I was upgraded to a corner suite, which was very roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Adelaide_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    1,060
    300
    114
    67
See reviews for
608
1,448
122
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

the rooms are really fresh and have good ambience. Book in the twin double beds and share with family members. room service is good too if you need anything for your toiletries.
Eat at the casino foodcourts or bring in your take out food into the room. You can visit surrounding sites, shops, buildings, clubs, bars and restaurants by taking a walk or catching the tram. You have access to everything you may need to have all types of activities you plan to do.

Room Tip: Get the one with a view of the city and go higher floor levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed here for 2 nights with a friend & we both absolutely loved it! The rooms are spacious and completely spotless. Modern, beautiful bathrooms, friendly staff & some great views towards Port Mlebourne. The pool is fantastic. We spent a whole morning shuffling between the lap pool, the heated plunge pool, the spa beds & the sauna.

We had a couple of troubles with our room key cards and were almost charged for parking even though neither of us had brought a vehicle but the staff handled these problems so smoothly, I don't consider them an issue.

I would say that this is easily the best hotel I have been to in Melbourne. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Crown Metropol and as before we thoroughly enjoyed it. The twin room was large and as I am disabled and on a walker, it was great to have room for me to manoeuvre. The beds were huge and very comfortable and the appointments excellent. We are always critical of the amount of light in hotels but here there was no problem with insufficient lighting.
Unfortunately, the prices for in-dining were a little bit out of reach for us but the Cota Restaurant in the Casino was first class.
To have the convenience of the Casino and beautiful shops is always a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryS147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Crown Metropol. Let me know when you are planning your 3rd visit to our Hotel - it would be great to meet with you. I can be contacted on 61 3 9292 8888.

Regards,
Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights on the 22nd floor, and enjoyed it all immensely. The rooms were cleaned every day without problems, except for one day, our glasses were still dirty:( The rooms smelt very clean and citrus smell to them. Comfortable bedding, good stock in mini bar but we didn't use it. Lovely robes and all amenities available in the bathroom. Fresh towels. The view was excellent. Close to the Casino, and to the shops at Southgate and restaurants. The restaurants in the hotel are excellent from fine Dining to Casual to just a food court so all tastes are catered for. I was most impressed with our room and the staff and found them all very helpful and can't wait to get back there again and would recommend to all my friends. I also would love to try the Towers and the Promenade as they all look so impressive. Thanks for a great stay Crown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jana2953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall – although I do apologise for the oversight with the cleaning of the glassware on one of the days. This will be addressed.

Let me know when you get the opportunity to stay with us again. In the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me on 61 3 9292 8888

Regards,
Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel reception was very efficient and provided a room even though I arrived earlier than check in time. The room was spacious, with all mod cons, large TV , desk, sitting area and elegantly furnished.

A few gripes was that the clock radio had not been adjusted to daylight saving time and there was no choice of pillows, and mine were all in the very firm category.

Breakfast was excellent and the pool was definitely one of the best I have found in Australia but did close at 9pm - which I discovered at 9.15pm one evening.

Otherwise, a very nice and elegant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at Metropol as couldn't get room at Crown Towers. It is a great hotel but I couldn't help but compare it to my experiences at Crown Towers and in doing so I found it lacking in service and facilities. When staying in Melbourne I like to treat myself but if you are looking for a great base location this is a great option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing