We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I travel regulary to Melbourne, stay at many hotels but this is my favourite. Very modern design, rooms are great. Good complimenarty items. Close to the heart of the action Crown casino (although I dont gamble, this is the place of best restaurants in Melbourne) . Great poool & spa. Best breakfast.

Room Tip: Dont waste your time going anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,300 - 3,306 of 3,927 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is only a few years old. Is based on a modern,minimalist fit out that is absolutely brilliant. Spacious rooms and good location. Just be aware of the $50 valet parking which I think is over the top.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade .the loft rooms are to die for. They have the best soaker baths on the earth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kangaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The stay didn't start well with being misdirected as to where to check in (told to go upstairs to Club 28 and then had to come all the way back down), but the two stand out points are (1) the bathroom. If you are travelling with someone else, and they need to use the bathroom, there is no door etc to close it off, so the light will wake you if they are using the bathroom in the middle of the night. Not a problem with the design if you are travelling by yourself. (2) Breakfast: we had breakfast included as part of the package in Mr Hive, which was terrible. The positive was that I mentioned to reception on checking out of our problem and had a call on my mobile within 15 minutes asking to discuss the issues we had (including rattling airconditioning all night). The responsive phone call to our issues was impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thanks for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I do actually recall speaking with you on the day of your departure and appreciated you giving me the time to talk to you at length about your stay in early August..

Rest assured these matters have been addressed and I can only apologise again that you did not enjoy your stay with us on that occasion - especially as you and your husband were here to celebrate a birthday.

As per my e-mail dated 9 August, please feel free to contact me directly when you next have the opportunity to stay with us. Alternatively, I can be contacted on 61 3 9292 888.

Speak soon & regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great experience with my husband and 21 month old on the 21st floor. Great view. Room with two twin beds. Beautifully appointed room, especially bathroom. Spacious and luxurious. Hotel had a very masculine feel with decor and scent, however it certainly was not intimidating to myself as a female traveller. Bar on 28th floor. Definately worth a visit. Resident restaurant Mr Hive is a must. The best dessert I have ever had second to none was enjoyed there on our first night. Definately a great stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meaganl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Crown Metropol is a great hotel in fantastic location close to the exhibition centre. Even if its cold and raining you can access the exhibition via air bridge through the Casino. The staff are super efficient and friendly, the beds are like floating on clouds and the food at Mr Hives is second to none. We will be returning next year

Room Tip: Level 21 is fantastic with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbud9330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have very little good to say about this hotel but I will start with the positives- Its modern and clean. Now to the negatives- The staff are EXTREMELY RUDE and ARROGANT and UNHELPFUL, You pay for a 5 star hotel and I would give it NO STARS for Service. We arrived after a late night flight from Perth, we had just come from a wedding there and also had a wedding the next day in Melbourne, I had requested early check in and when we got to the hotel they were fully booked (The Logies were on across the road), I told the staff I would have been happy to pay a full night in advance even though we arrived in the morning if they had let me know they were not going to provide a room, they told us we would get the next available room once the cleaners arrived at 10:30 and we could go to the pool area meantime, what were we suppose to do in the pool area? We had a wedding to get to and wanted to have a short nap and to freshen up, so we just stayed on the couch waiting until a room became available, meanwhile SECURITY came 3 times to TELL US OFF about being on the couch because it looked bad, we told them get us a room, where are we suppose to go? And what are the couches meant to be for anyway? Display? Had I not paid for our room in advance there is no chance I would have stayed here. We watched as many guests left there rooms and hours passed still for no rooms to be available, eventually we got into a room half an hr before we had to leave for the wedding, they really RUINED OUR TRIP as we got no sleep and had to go out the door, The same ARROGANT Staff who told us off, tryed to be friendly once I was all dressed up in my designer gear for the wedding - Shallow people, don't judge a book by its cover. NO CHANCE WILL I EVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE I KNOW ABOUT HOW BADLY WE WERE TREATED AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tambyistherajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for providing me feedback regarding your stay in April.

I was naturally disappointed to read your review as we do pride ourselves on our levels of service.

I can only apologise for your experience and would like the opportunity to discuss the points you raise at length. Although our normal check-in time is from 14:00, where possible we do try and offer alternatives should a guest come in earlier – hence the suggestion of the pool/gym to freshen up. We also have the option of pre-booking a room to ensure it is ready for an early arrival but I am not sure if this was offered at the time of booking.

When you have a moment, please feel free to contact me on 61 3 9292 8888.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent a night at Crown Metropol which was lovely. Our room was on the 20th floor. Lovely spacious room with a king size bed. Nice and quiet. Our breakfast was included as was valet parking. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Sorry we didnt have time to enjoy the pool up on the 27th floor, it looked very inviting. Maybe next time. Would definately stay here again as everything was very very good.

Room Tip: i would think any room is a good room at Metropol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 162 in Melbourne
2,489 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,398 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 162 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 162 in Melbourne
3,710 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $184 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing