We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Circleville, Ohio
1 review
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Metropol had everything you would need for you vacation stay or your business needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ww9677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    1,062
    300
    114
    68
See reviews for
609
1,450
122
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

A very good hotel located near the river and the Crown casino About 15 minutes walk to the main part of the city. Shops and takeaway food are available close to the hotel by following the walkway on level 1 to the end and going down the escalators. There is a store and liquor outlet open until 11PM on th eopposite corner to the hotel. For a relaxed experience, walk to the river, and walk north to the city on the same side as the casino. You can cross to the city at several points where there are pedestrian bridges. Walk the city laneways where there are lots of restaurants and funky little shops. La Camera in the Southbank shopping centre does a great inexpensive breakfast (and lunch special right now). This is on the same side as the casino (walk East, same side as river) just before the main traffic bridge that has the railway station opposite (Flinders St). There are quite a few bars/restaurants E of the Casino, where you can sit and watch the world go past. Also, the bar on the river, on the "pontoon" under the last pedestrian walkway before Flinders St Train station is a bit of fun!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went to a convention held in the Crown complex, and having never been to the Crown complex we decided to stay in the Metropol for the 3 days of the conference. I'm glad we did.
Having eventually found the right entrance, we were welcomed and from then on, everything just flowed with absolute professionalism. My car was parked and the bags were dealt with, they appeared in our room when we registered 8 hours later. That night we went out to dinner, and were amazed by the Maze ( yes it's said to be in trouble, but we found it great, if a little pricey).
The room was well sized, although the view from our 15th floor room included a large carpark in the fore ground, looking across to Melbourne was quite interesting.
Still the bed was good with 4 huge pillows. The room has a lot of nice touches - like a selection of magazines and a box with additional little bits we might need ( like a shaver and toothbrush). There was lots of storage space, nice robes and slippers were also provided. Our contacts with the hotel staff were both pleasant and quite helpful.
So, we had a great weekend, and incidentally had a good conference as well. Thank you Crown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Went to a show at Palms in the Casino so spent the night in the disabled suite. The view from window was over the carpark so nothing to see there but the room was very good. Showere and toilet all nice and accessable. A trip down to level 1 saw us able to wander over the overpass into the casino and shops for an enjoyable evening returning to our room which was quiet from inside or outside traffic noises. Car parking was a tad expensive being $40 but it was valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ironsideMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had booked to visit the Tutankhamun exhibition at Melbourne Museum on Saturday morning, and needing a place to spend the preceding night, we decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Crown Metropol. After coming in on a late flight, navigating the darkened streets of Melbourne was tricky, but we were guided by the large illuminated 'crown' sign atop the hotel buildings. However, this sign didn't take us to the hotel, but to the Crown Towers - to avoid delays, check and see that you have the correct Crown destination as there are three 'Crowns' within a block of one another. Once we found our way to the Metropol, though, we were treated like royalty and everything was taken care of very professionally and courteously, despite the lateness of the hour. I loved the little touches that define a stay such as this: the selection of magazines in the room, the boxes of mints at reception, the cuddly dressing gowns, the Vidal Sassoon hairdryer with retractable cord ... it's the attention to detail that makes it special. The room itself is a large rectangle with ample wardrobe space and thoughtfully designed layout. The bathroom is designed to maximise ambient light and lend an air of spaciousness by not having walls between it and the room - privacy is obtained by the use of frosted glass and/or pulling sliding panels across the open space between the bedroom and the bathroom. We had breakfast at Gordon Ramsey's Maze restaurant which was pleasant, but a little inflexible in the options available. There's the Full English breakfast or the Continental, and that's it - take it or leave it. All I wanted was coffee and a croissant but that could not be catered for (perhaps this failure to cater to customer needs is why, according to a whisper I heard, Maze restaurant is not doing well and may be closing soon!) We asked to leave our car and baggage at the hotel while we went to see King Tut and even though we had already checked our, we continued to be treated like royalty by the concierge and car park valet staff. I highly recommend this hotel - it's spacious, luxurious and treats the customer as king!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenawarriorteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Metropol for one night last week and found it fantastic. The room was modern and clean and being a fussy person that i am on where I stay, I definitely recommend staying here. We ordered room service for breakfast, though expensive (as you would expect at a 5 star hotel) it was delicious and was sent up very quickly after the order was made.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitlubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed at the Metropol with a friend for three nights. The beds and interior of the rooms are lovely. The swimming pool area was beautiful, large, clean and fantastic views.
The reception staff really let the place down. For a five star hotel we expect better service. Several times we rang reception for things, and they forgot on two occassions. The valet and car park service was excellent.

Room Tip: great for parents with kids as many rooms have two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing