We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half a star from excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Half a star from excellent”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have just stayed at this fine Hotel and have stayed there at least ten previous times. Each time there is just a little tiny thing holding back a 5 star experience.
Rooms are well designed and modern - exactly what you would expect from a brand new hotel.
Facilities are first rate, from the pool (you must check it out even if you dont use it) to the health spa and drinks bar. Hotel generally is a quiet place - but depending on what is on at the time can get rowdy with some groups, once inside your room though it is very quiet. Regardless of the side of the hotel you end up in your view is generally pretty good - you cant beat the city view though.
Very good hotel though and would definately reconmend.......now for my very picky negatives - I mention these only as they take the gloss of a 5 star experience so keep it in perspective and dont let it take away from you trying it out.
1. Pulled up out the front for check in - was pretty quiet out the front and the 'bell hops' or vallets what ever you want to call them were chatting amongst themselves. I unloaded 3 suitcases and proceeded to the check in counter. Checked and then had to go back out interupt their chit chat and ask them to park the car....not a $40 vallet parking experience worth 5 star.
2. Booked a non smoking room prior to arrival. Then was asked what sort of room would I like and they would try and find me a non smoking room....it was like I had not indicated my preference. With all the carry on going on at the moment can you believe hotels still have smoking rooms??
3. Requested papers in the morning. Open door - none delivered to room. Another great reason for staying with kids - challenged one of them to run down the passage to grab one from another room :)...........sorry room 1569!!
4. Pillows in room of which there were 8 - everyone were the same! No variety as all were massive.
5.4 people in our room but there were only towels for 3 people.....you dont check this as soon as you walk in the door and as per usual you find out at the last minute.
6.Maze bar. $10 for a beer and $16 for a glass of bubbles......all good and well but the service is terrible. What are the high dollars for - service??
Thats it!! Very picky - if these were covered 5star all the way!

Room Tip: If you dont need a twin room ensure you make it clear you want a king room with city views. These ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    1,097
    313
    120
    68
See reviews for
632
1,507
124
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was a very expensive hotel and was very disappointing. The room was OK but the bathroom was a joke. On WOTIF it mentions a 'separate bathroom' which seemed quite odd (since what hotel doesn’t?) But in fact there is no separate bathroom! The washing area is separated from the bed by a screen only and then the toilet and the shower are each in little glass cubicles that magnify every sound. I do not want to listen to my partner using the toilet and I am sure nobody else does. Whoever thought this was a good idea? I would never return for this reason, even if everything else was OK, which it wasn’t. The breakfast in Maze restaurant was really poor. The bread for toast was stale and when we asked for some bread that wasn't stale, had to wait for ages, by which time of course our coffee was cold. Fruit had run out and wasn't replaced. Nobody seemed to be in charge! When we went to collect our valet-parked car we had to wait for ages for it, and also were asked to go into the luggage room to identify our luggage although it had been tagged. What on earth is going on in this hotel?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The location makes it easy to access all the great restaurants that Crown have on offer. The rooms are brand new and very spacious although we found the bed a little too hard for us. We often get good rates and stay here once every couple of months and will keep coming back. Check out on the weekends is a joke, better to do the quick checkout offered.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Fantastic and lovely hotel - overpriced but you have to expect that given the location and given it is linked with the Crown Casino.

The pool is amazing and has fabulous views of Melbourne. The gym is 5 star quality and the rooms are phenomenal! Modern and classy!

We stayed here on the night of our engagement and it was fantastic.

If you need a place to stay in the heart of Melbourne this is the place to be - much better than Crown Towers in my view!

The only negative is I have had much better welcomings at other cheaper hotels, something Crown needs to work on...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Bright, sunny, extremely quiet. Spacious rooms two toilets, 3 TV's, large bath exceeded all expectations. Fantastic pool with the best views. Had access to level 28 how great was that. Location and access to city is great. When in Melbourne I will not be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideKlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Being a part of the Crown group, you can pretty much expect a decent experience staying at the Metropol. The room was spacious, meticulously clean and overall, just a pleasure to stay in.
I can understand why some people would have an issue with the bathroom screen separator but, it really isn't that bad, actually it adds a little bit of spunk to the room, the nice big flat screen, comfortable king bed, chic decor and ceiling to floor windows may have helped.
The only issue I had was that my in room breakfast order never arrived, even after phone calls which advised it was on it's way. I was eventually told that my order was misplaced but the manager was quick to offer a complimentary meal of my choice - which did arrive on time without complications - which I was happy with. Reception and bellhop staff were friendly and always happy to help.
Location was convenient, connected to all the crown buildings including the casino (so you wont have to brave the Melbourne wind), shops which stay open till late for that fix, plus there is a 24/7 convenience store across the road - very handy, and about a 10 minute walk to the city. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milana_mk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AU
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at the Crown Metropol!

We stayed in a Luxe King room on the 20th floor. The room is very modern, clean and so spacious!

Everything was perfect! From a quick and efficient check-in, swim in the most amazing pool, massage at the Isika day spa, buffet breakfast at Gordon Ramsay's Maze and seamless valet service.

By far the most impressive part of our stay was the swim in the 27th floor indoor infinity edge pool and spa. The view is spectacular!! Had a quick look at the gym too - the view is just as amazing and had a lot of great equipment.

See my photos. Words do not do this hotel justice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing