We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Belgian Beer Cafe

Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #308 of 4,043 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We are Europeans visiting Melbourne and came across this cafe. Comfortable chairs and tables to sit outside, not on the river, but nice and quiet. We met here for a drink and food. Beer good but expensive. Wine list - limited. We ordered moules and frites. Now, mussels if they are fresh, should be open in your plate. 25% of our mussels were well and truly closed. Proper frites are skinny chips; these were fat Australian chips. Please don't insult Belgium by calling yourselves a Belgian Beer Cafe; the beer is ok but get the food right, please! After pointing out the mussel problem, we were refunded $24 - not sure how they calculated that, but guilty as charged! Have a beer here; but be very cautious about the food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertiebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Manager at Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very proud of our beer selection and make frequent alterations to ensure the best variety and value for our guests. As I'm sure you can appreciate, importing beer from Belgium is not cheap and we are working with our suppliers to ensure consistent supply of reasonably priced beer. As a beer focussed venue, we do not strive for an extensive wine list; if there is something you feel was missing, please let me know.

With regards to your food, I apologize for the disappointing experience you had. We buy our mussels in daily from a local supplier who harvests them directly so I can assure you that they were fresh- they may not, however have been steamed fully and for that, I apologize. We are also very particular about our Frites & Mayo, going so far as to import the Frites from one of the leading wholesalers in Belgium. This is the first negative feedback we have had associated with our frites, if you could suggest a better option, I would be very pleased to investigate the options available to us.

I can be contacted directly via alex@belgianbeercafemelbourne.com.au - please let me know if you have any further feedback or ideas regarding the frites.

Best Regards,

Alex Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    30
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
The moon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A trip to Brussels without the jetlag”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beer Lover? Read on.... more than one hundred specialist quality beers to choose from. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

The beer range is so massive, staff will happily bring you a free round of four sample beers of your choice to try before you buy!

The big bowls of mussels in white wine, leeks and celery made us feel we were back in Brussels again - in fact they tasted even better than the ones we had in Brussels. This dining experience was supported by large icy cold beers.

My scotch fillet steak was a little over-cooked but this place is more about having a big feed on frites (Belgian for hot chips), with mayonnaise, a large steak, and a big cold beer. It is not mean to be fine dining.

Depending on the beer, the price can go above $12 a glass very easily so choose carefully if you are shouting a group of people for a round!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Manager at Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Jason,

Thanks for the great feedback! We're pretty proud of our beer selection and it's great to hear that you found something to choose from the range. Since our change in ownership we're working hard to fine tune our food service to make it even better for you. We're conscious of the high cost of some of our imported beers in particular and always try to ensure a good range of prices available (especially if it's your shout!). We hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Alex Henderson
Venue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awesome balls !!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There's no bad news here and the fried cheese balls are a must have !! The staff are friendly, prices reasonable, very nice spot for a break from the world.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Manager at Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for the feedback! Our Belgian Cheese Croquettes have been a classic for years now and it's great to hear they are still winning new fans. Hope to see you here again for a beer soon.

Best Regards,

Alex Henderson
Venue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lacks atmosphere - wrong venue for brand”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The place is pretty soulless and looks like any newly built, trendy pub. Eureka Tower is a good hospitality trade location but the it's the wrong venue for a Belgian Beer Cafe. They have an impressive list of beers on offer yet most people drank Stella, like it was any other pub.

Really, the only good thing about it was access to the unusual beers, but you're better off visiting Acland Cellars and enjoying the same range of interesting beers on your verandah.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraInTheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Manager at Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Laura,

Thanks for the feedback. We've just undergone a change in ownership and are looking to build on the great beers, food and service we offer to build a real sense of community around the venue. Whilst we love Stella Artois, believe me we are just as passionate about getting our customers out of their comfort zone and trying some new great beers from Belgium and around the world. Hopefully you will drop in again soon and see what we've been up to; we think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Best Regards,

Alex Henderson
Venue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Take lots of money”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed sitting outside on a sunny day to have a few drinks. There were six of us and our first round of beers was $70. We nearly fell off our chairs and they are a standard size not overly large.
Needless to say we didn't stay long and moved on to a more reasonably priced location

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbc_eureka, Manager at Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Maxine,

Thanks for your review- glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. It sounds like you ordered some of our delicious Belgian ales; whilst very enjoyable, the high alcohol and distance between Australia and Belgium do put them on the expensive side. We have recently brought in a range of Australian and International craft beers to complement the Belgian range and being from much closer to Melbourne tend to be a little cheaper.

Hopefully the price of the beers you ordered hasn't put you off and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Alex Henderson
Venue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing