We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
About Melbourne Apartments
Ranked #23 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
SINGAPORE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed a year ago but forgot to put in a review. Amenities great for families. Amelia is pleasant and non intrusive. Very convenient location and eateries are nearby. Tram is just behind too. Hope to go back in September!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
74
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our third stay with About Melbourne apartments. We don't bother looking anywhere else now, as the apartment ticks all the boxes around location, price and comfort. Apartment 402 is our home away from home in Melbourne. We will definitely by returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your third stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband, daughter and I have just returned from a fantastic mini break here. Centrally located just off Bourke Street in Chinatown, it was a 2 minute walk to the tram stop and a myriad of eateries within a stone's throw.
The apartment was immaculate and contained every conceivable gadget to ensure a comfortable stay with a real attention to detail. Beautiful bed linen and plenty of towels were provided and the owner was very friendly and helpful. I found the price to be very reasonable. It was similar to the price of a hotel room but with all the added benefits of an apartment.
I will definitely be staying here again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend in June, i live in the outer suburbs of vic, so was a nice get away. Room was modern, extremely well furnished, spacious and clean, really nice for the price. Literally less than 5 mins walk from parliment station (take bourke st exit) close to china town, and tonnes of other restaurants, the Malaysian place just bellow is pretty good. Myself and girlfriend stayed in the penthouse apartment 1004, and it had everything you could need, full kitchen facilities, nice flatscreen tv, with complimentary dvd's, spacious lounge and bedroom, and my favorite thing, a Bose sound dock for music! out of town visitors can easily explore the city by taking the city circle tram which leaves from right outside parliment station.
I have stayed in a few apartments in melbourne, and this is one of the lowest priced, and
possibly the best!
No complaints here :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

In July 2012, my boyfriend (Jasper) and I stayed at About Melbourne, and we loved it. It was so homey, clean, comfortable and I didn't want to leave. After searching through hundreds of hotels and apartments, I found that the pricing was reasonable and the photos provided were nice. Hence why I booked it and I do not regret it.

The location is great, close to everything, I pretty much walked every where. The rooms were so clean and it had a great at home feel. Cereals, biscuits, kitchen utilities were all provided, and even sauces and such, thus cooking in the apartment was easy.

Amelia was extremely nice, the apartments were very warm during our stay, the beds were comfortable, and the couches too.

Yes, downside was no WiFi, which is stated on their website but it didn't make our stay 'average' or 'poor'. We have 3G and it worked fine where we were. So moving on, we enjoyed the stay so much that we will be choosing to stay at About Melbourne again next month for a short get away and I am so keen for it.

:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1501x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in Penthouse 904 in early June for 8 days, and it proved to be absolutely the perfect choice for our getaway. Wedged smack bang in between Chinatown and Little Italy, the location is unrivalled in the Melbourne CBD. The apartment itself is very clean, modern and chic yet very homely...we were sad to leave by the end, as it very much felt like our own home. Amelia has done a wonderful job decking out the place with all the little things you could ask for and her service in general was incredibly friendly and helpful. The views of Parliament and St Patrick's Cathedral were amazing - we look forward to using the barbecue on our next stay in warmer weather! All in all, we would not hesitate in recommending About Melbourne Apartments and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Melbourne in the future. It is excellent value for money! Thank you Amelia - Carl and Vanessa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your very first stay with us, and we would dearly love to welcome you back to About Melbourne Apartments again in the future!

We really appreciate your feedback and are rapt to be your accommodation destination of choice in Melbourne!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've recently enjoyed my 3rd stay in apartment 402. Since my first stay at About Melbourne, I don't even bother looking around at other hotels/apartments when heading down to Melbourne because I already know I'm guaranteed a fantastic stay, clean, modern apartment, with everything in it to make my weekend easy and enjoyable. Amelia has always been very helpful, and more than accomodating to our needs - even being so kind as to arrange some very early check ins and late check outs. The apartments are perfectly located a street away from Chinatown and all its delicious eating spots, and the fact that it is just off Bourke St means walking distance to lots of shops, cafes, bars and plenty of public transport. There are also some great little restaurants directly opposite the building. Even our local friends were impressed when they came by to visit! The apartment is always topped up with various breakfast cereals, cookies, tea and coffee.. shampoo, soap, plenty of towels and blankets.
Compared to a lot of other places this size and in this location, About Melbourne Apartments are very affordable and definitely good value. Every time I'm there I don't want to leave! Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie_D89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed your third stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon!

We appreciate your very thorough and complimentary feedback on so many aspects of our apartments!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,082 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
614 reviews
Chinatown
Punthill Little Bourke
Punthill Little Bourke
#6 of 142 in Melbourne
704 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Place Melbourne
Fraser Place Melbourne
#13 of 142 in Melbourne
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to About Melbourne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about About Melbourne Apartments

Property: About Melbourne Apartments
Address: 16 Liverpool Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — About Melbourne Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Melbourne Apartments is a boutique accommodation business, supplying AAA Tourism Four **** Star rated modern, spacious, luxurious One and Two Bedroom self-contained apartments to accommodate both the corporate and leisure traveler to Melbourne. About Melbourne Apartments are located in the east "Paris End" of Melbourne CBD, in a residential building designed by renowned architecture firm Daryl Jackson. The building is located in Liverpool Street, a lane way which runs between Bourke and Little Bourke Streets (parallel with and in-between Exhibition and Spring Streets). Our apartments are located in the heart of Melbournes' theatre district in between Her Majesty's Theatre and Princess Theatre, near China Town, major Bourke Street tram stops and Parliament Train Station, and are located a short tram or train ride from Melbourne's best attractions, renowned shopping precincts, bars and restaurants. We are within easy walking distance to Melbournes' sporting precinct Rod Laver Arena, MCG, AAMI Park and Federation Square and only a quick tram ride (free on the City Circle tram) to Etihaad Stadium and Docklands, Southbank and the Crown Promenade or Queen Victoria Market, St Kilda beach, or the Brunswick/Lygon/Chapel Street dining/shopping precincts. You could pamper yourself and relax at one of the salons or day spas within metres from our front door, or indulge at one of the nearby award-winning cafes, restaurants or bars, perhaps Gingerboy or Longrain next door, or the infamous Pelligrinis, George Calombaris' Press Club, or MoVida! Or you can simply walk to nearby Fitzroy gardens for a 'barefoot in the park' experience! Our inner-city location offers a luxurious boutique accommodation alternative for travelers and an exciting array of activities to do or see close by! About Melbourne Apartments is a cosmopolitan contemporary refuge for travelers with discerning tastes. Each of our apartments is individual with a distinct style and aesthetic, the beauty of which is to enhance and differentiate your stay each time... no matter if it is your first or hundredth visit to Melbourne and About Melbourne Apartments! At About Melbourne Apartments we offer a menu of apartments for guests to choose what best suits their needs: from One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments, to One Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, and our Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment. About Melbourne Apartments provides you with a taste of inner city Melbourne apartment living at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your About Melbourne Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing